We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Perk is Access to the Bar Harbor Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only Perk is Access to the Bar Harbor Club”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked our reservation at the Bar Harbor Club months in advance, planning on spending a long weekend there for a wedding. When booking, I made sure to request ocean view. We checked in at night during a heavy rainstorm, but even at night, I could tell that my ocean would be viewed through the parking lot. Our room, a very expensive nightly rate, was on the ground level, right onto the parking lot. There were cars parked right outside my window. The ocean was viewable through the cars, but it wasn't a view I was looking to enjoy.
After multiple calls to the manager, we were moved to a new room, exactly one floor up, the next day at 5PM. No apologies.
Apart from the ridiculously advertised room category, the hotel was just average. The rooms were large and clean, but the hotel is set up around said parking lot, and many rooms must have the same issue.
The greatest perk is the access to the Bar Harbor Club next door. The pool there is overlooking the sand bridge and the bay of Acadia. It's absolutely gorgeous. There are also beautiful tennis courts available to use.
On my next trip to Bar Harbor, I will stay at a hotel a little more out of the way. This just felt too touristy and crowded.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure to request a non-parking view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    293
    113
    92
    60
See reviews for
310
510
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

When booking a room, you would think that a large hotel would tell you that all of the facilities are closed as it is the end of season. This establishment did not. Cannot fault the location and views, but I did want to be able to get a drink or some food here. It was so bad that an older lady had to send out for a Chinese take-away and eat it in the main foyer at reception - not good! Cleaning leaves a lot to be desired - the hall ways have not seen a cleaner for days. The noise in the rooms is awful. Air con, fridge, jacuzzi next door and heating all on at once - it resembled the noise one experiences on a plane - all night.

Room Tip: Would love to comment on breakfast but"...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 85JonathanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear “85JonathanP”

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We have done our best to make sure our guests were aware when booking that this was taking place. Restaurant closed Sunday, the 27th, the last week resort is open. We have offered a continental breakfast for our guests, with coffee, tea, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh baked muffins, fresh cut fruit, and yogurt. We also extremely lowered our rates during this timeframe due such facilities being closed.
Of utmost importance is my sincerest apology for the cleanliness of our corridors not being up to our typical standards. We pride ourselves on high standards and thorough cleaning of property; I have shared your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper and reviewed our daily vacuuming standards.
Unfortunately we were unaware of the issues you discovered in your room. We would have been happy to address them immediately or even move you to a more suitable room if we had known about your concerns.
If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

With hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our first time in Maine - and my dream come true vacation as I've always wanted to see the East Coast in the Fall! I was not disappointed, and choosing to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn was part of the reason!
The location was perfect-- right on the Ocean, with a beautiful view of the ships docked, the cruise ships coming in and the sun coming up!
The location was also perfect as we were able to walk everywhere we went in town. The restaurants, bars and shopping were all right there within easy distance and it was nice to leave the rental car parked!
The hotel rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The balcony was wonderful to relax and take in the sites.
We were pleased with all staff we came into contact with-- all were helpful, friendly and knowledgable.
The only critique we have is the room could use more places for charging cameras, phones etc. but even that we were able to deal with.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip East!

Room Tip: We splurged on Oceanview and we were not disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryTom2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Never stayed at this hotel before. This hotel is a wonderful place to go. Hotel, staff and rooms were excellent. Walking distance to harbor, shops and many eating places. Also, short drive to
Arcadia Park. The room had a wonderful view of the bay. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: when you book a room and want a view of the bay make sure you request it at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a comfortable room with a balcony, and a great view. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The town of Bar Harbour is full of interesting sights, heritage buildings and easy walking. Although the rooms are quite costly, the hotel seemed to attrack many people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great hotel, staff and beautiful grounds in a gorgeous setting. We have absolutely nothing negative to say about this facility. Our only recommendation would be to go and enjoy the hotel and the beauty that surrounds it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We didn't use $25 spa etc. so why charge us for it. Wouldn't eat their either, saw two different people making food and touching other stuff while doing it. I asked for two rooms side by side one was at one end of hall the other at other end wasn't happy. Could of offered two room rentals they now have but didn't. At first gentleman suggested hotel across the street with pool on top Right kids can't swim in it just adults so what do we do with kids?? Never really explained how to get into hotel to begin with had to ask someone else. Should have a map of grounds so you know where pools, hot tubs are and hours. Just wasn't happy for the price.Could of stayed at cheaper place and got same service if not better. Never mentions buffet breakfast to us either. I suggest Jordan's on Cottage St always great and good service

Room Tip: Try other motels or motels like Villager still in town or B&B on cottage st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenPepperellMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing