We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Another Wonderful Stay..”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from our 4th year at Harborside. Due to our "favorite" room being occupied, your courteous Front Desk Staff upgraded us and made sure that we were happy with our new room (we were).
While we were waiting at the desk, one of the waiters, Rudy, started a friendly conversation with us and made us feel welcome.
Every detail was perfect. All staff members, whether familiar or new, were courteous and professional. Our entire dining staff (Jaimie,Rudy,William,Justin) made our delicious meals even more memorable. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit to Harborside, Bar Harbor, and beautiful Acadia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear PSH59,


I am pleased you enjoyed “another wonderful stay” at the Harborside. I appreciate the time taken to complement our views, cuisine, and accommodations. Many thanks for the kind words of La Bella Vita Restaurant, we have passed along your wonderful comments to the entire staff! We are looking forward to your next visit and I am sure Rudy will be excited to see you!


With Warm Hospitality,


Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    293
    113
    92
    60
See reviews for
310
510
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

the location is perfect close to shopping as well as oceanfront. The staff is very friendly and service is outstanding. Every detail is attended to. Very clean and tastefully decorated . It's very hard to leave

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rest09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear rest09,


Thank you for your continued patronage at The Harborside throughout the years. We are pleased that you have continued to be impressed with the accommodations and improvements we have been making. I certainly appreciated your kind words of the service our teams work diligently to provide our guests. We look forward to hosting you for many years to come.


With Warm Hospitality,


Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We picked this hotel because of the waterfront location and waterview. We were not disappointed.

We chose to stay at the room overseeing the bay and the sand bar.

Our room was located on the 2nd floor with a nice view of the bay. I would definitively avoid the ground floor which would be open to the parking lots.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable.

We had problem with the Wifi in the room. The hotel tried to fix it but in vain. The hotel manager offered us breakfast vouchers for the inconvenience.

I took 1/2 star from my rating because of the fitness center. It was under repair.

I would stay there again next time I visit Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear DavidNYC11

Thank you for the kind words you wrote in your review of the Harborside. Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your letting us know you had a great time. We love that you continue to choose the Harborside, and so happy that you will be returning! Please make sure to tell me when you arriving next, would love a chance to visit.

With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just visited Bar Harbor, Maine for the first time ever. Stayed at the Harborside Hotel, and loved it! Excellent on every level, from look to service. We loved our room, it was spacious and decorated beautifully without being over the top. Most importantly, everything was spotless! We loved that the bathroom had a tub and a stand up shower! Excellent staff, super friendly, and always eager to help. As far as we could tell, it's got the best location, beautiful view, and close to everything. We loved our stay so much that we added an extra night! By the way, we traveled with 2 of our 3 children, 18 and 16, and they loved it as much as we did! We plan to go back later in the Summer and try out their Spa!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Marty M,

I am so pleased you were able to enjoy a relaxing Memorial Day weekend with us here at The Harborside. Thank you for your complements of your accommodations and appreciation of our diligent efforts to provide comfort and luxury across every inch of our property. We hope you return to enjoy our setting in each of the seasons to come, and can promise that you will thoroughly enjoy the SPA at the Bar Harbor Club.


With warm hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel on the water. Walking distance to all restaurants and shops. The bed and pillows were very comfy. The staff was very friendly but there was a mixup with our reservation and a promotion that we were offered was never entered correctly. The staff at the desk were new and it took a long time to correct everything upon check in and then when we checked out the price was still incorrect. In addition to that the hotel put an additional 1000 dollar hold on our credit card without permission! ! We are hoping it gets resolved when the transaction clears. Besides that we enjoyed our stay, and we enjoyed the hot tub outside. We hope the staff get trained a little bit better because it is very disappointing to be promised a special rate and then drive 10 hours only to have to fight to get what we were promised. And really upset that our credit card was tied up because people rely on that to travel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear NBAS,


Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your stay with us, which has been shared with our entire staff. I sincerely apologized that the service you received simply is not representative of our typical standards. Have shared this with our staff and we will use this as a benchmark for the coming season! We hope you will provide our staff another opportunity, I am confident we will meet your expectations for service and value.



With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent a lovely weekend away in Bar Harbor. Even though the weather was dreary and cool the atmosphere at the Harborside was warm and welcoming! We sat and played cards in front of the roaring fire in the old world lobby. The front desk was ready and willing to suggest great eateries for meals and brightened a rainy evening with their friendliness.Thank you for a relaxing get away! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 1958SUE,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Harborside. I was glad to read of your appreciation for the local scenery, your luxurious room, and roaring fire! Weather was dreary, hope you have a chance return when we have weather that cooperates!


With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I planned our honeymoon trip to Bar Harbor, ME. We looked for a hotel with a good rating and modern updates to the interior. Harborside Hotel & Marina exceeded our expectations with its old charm, newly furnished rooms, and delicious restaurant. We were always greeted with a warm smile which left us feeling quite at home. The staff was quick to help us with any accommodations we needed, and Andrea was very helpful for suggesting places to explore and anything with the hotel. We were close enough to venture to the Bar Island sandbar and still close to walk to everything throughout the town. It was a great relaxing trip, and we so enjoyed the adventures as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Harbor View is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Katie M,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your letting us know you had a great time. Sounds like you were busy seeing Bar Harbor's beautiful sights. So happy that you had your Honeymoon Adventure with us, wonderful memories without a doubt!


Congratulations,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing