We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; very nice hotel!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Harborside for a few days in June for a conference. The setting is very lovely. The hotel is right on the water and there are many nearby restaurants and shops, etc. My room had a deck and a view of the Island---very nice, however it also overlooked a parking lot which was not as great. I was on the first floor and probably the upper floors have more of the "Island" view and less "parking lot" view. The furniture was more comfortable and the room was much more spacious than a typical hotel room. The pool and hot tub were really nice. My room was really nicely cleaned after each night The concierge was helpful for ideas about hikes in the area.

One drawback was a mandatory spa charge tacked onto each day's bill.

Room Tip: Island view is great, but ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelliz1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Travelliz1999,

Your review is wonderful and gets right to the point. Thank you very much for writing it and sharing your experience with other travelers. We hope you are able to visit with us again in the future.


With Warm Hospitality,


Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    309
    122
    104
    63
See reviews for
344
528
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Harborside Hotel. Our room with an ocean view had a private Jacuzzi on our balcony and it made for a wonderful place to relax after a day of exploring Acadia National Park. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff was exceptional and worked very hard to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We had an issue with the guests above us and the staff worked diligently to rectify the problem and ensure it didn't ruin our great stay. I would highly recommend staying here while in the Bar Harbor area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EskyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Esky Travelers,

Thank you very much for your visit with us, and for your compliments regarding our facility and staff. We are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with a private hot tub & outstanding ocean view. Your choice to stay at the Harborside means a lot to us.


We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Thank you again for your business and kind words.


Best regards,


Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our stay at the Harborside could have been wonderful - unfortunately, registration, housekeeping, wifi and phone glitches kept us from enjoying ourselves as we should have. To take them in order: upon arrival, all seemed in order. We checked in to our rooms (we had 2 for our party) and were pleased with the rooms, their condition & cleanliness, bathroom & amenities, etc. We had an enjoyable breakfast in La Bella Vita the next morning. After breakfast, we went back to our rooms, and the key card would not work for one of the rooms. I went to the front desk, and was told that we were not registered in the hotel system for two rooms, but only for one. The desk clerk was surprised to find that we had stayed the previous night in both rooms, as one of the rooms was registered to someone else. She accompanied us back to the room, and, when we identified our belongings, she said that she would find out what had happened. I gave her the original registration confirmations. We then left for the day, and, upon return, entered the room to find out that housekeeping had not serviced the room. Again, the staff took care of the problem courteously and quickly. On the third day, the same problem happened again - the room keys would not work, and the room was not serviced until we called late in the evening after our return. The free wifi worked sporadically on all but the last day of our stay (when it finally worked properly), and the phone system instructions on how to dial a toll-free number as listed on the phone itself are incorrect. On the next to last day, we returned to the hotel in the evening to find that all the parking spaces were taken, even though the desk clerk told us that the hotel was not full - they provided free valet parking, but I prefer to park my own car. One thing - I cannot say enough nice things about the hotel staff, especially the front desk supervisor (Isabel) who tried valiantly to set things straight. All in all, the Harborside is a beautiful hotel in a very nice location. Had things gone as they should have, I would have recommended it highly. With things as they were, I have serious doubts about such a recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MusicManfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear MusicManfromPA,


Thank you for taking the time to relay your feedback regarding your visit. I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations while you were here with us. I appreciate your kind words of our property. I hope I am provided the opportunity to speak with you regarding your overall experience and future stays here at the Harborside. We would love a chance to show you the Maine Hospitality we pride ourselves on.


With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This beautiful property sits right on the ocean and also right in the middle of Bar Harbor. The grounds are nicely done and the pools overlooking the ocean and islands are both spectacular. Shops, eating options and everything in Bar Harbor are all within easy walking distance, in some cases, right across the street. We were here in late May, a quieter time, and were upgraded to an ocean front room. It was very nice with wonderful views from our little sitting balcony, and included both a Keurig coffee maker, a small refrigerator and a microwave. However, in our room with two double beds,we did not have a table with chairs for eating or writing for example. The bathroom was also very lovely, but the countertop had very little room or other space to spread your things out. We were there for only 1 night so it worked out but this room was really more beautiful than practical. It wouldn't work for us for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Double room did not have useful table for snacking or writing for example. Ocean front rooms have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dar MartyW60,

Thank you for taking the time to review your wonderful experience at the Harborside. I am pleased to hear that you were able to really enjoy the location of our property, we have a great location for access of downtown, and short drive to Acadia. You had mentioned that for extended stays that your room would not be practical, we do offer studio rooms and suites, something to keep in mind if you choose to return. We thank you for your feedback and positive comments.

Should you return to the Bar Harbor area we hope that The Harborside Hotel, Spa and Marina will be the hotel of choice!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband had a four-day meeting at the Harborside and I went along. This was my first excursion since having a broken foot and was in a walking boot. I called the hotel and told them I needed to be in a room which did not require the use of stairs or long distances to the lobby, meeting rooms, etc. The room we were given was an attractive (though dark) oceanfront room, but getting around was very difficult. Breakfast and lunch for our group was served in the Pool House, downstairs, outside and a walk across a parking lot -- a ramp to, but not into, the building. Not good.
I will say the staff was very friendly, the hotel is in a good location, and the one dinner I had there was quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very nice hotel in great location. Staff was very friendly. Room was very clean and modern with nice view. Amenities were excellent and convenient to use. All pools were well designed and cared for. Plenty of places to relax and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear RDJ77,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your “great stay” at the Harborside. I am happy to see you mention our friendly staff- we take pride in offering great service and great accommodations for all of our guests- I will be passing along your kind words to all.

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area the Harborside will be your hotel of choice to relax and enjoy the wonderful views!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our transatlantic ocean cruise from New York City, on Memorial Day weekend, didn't go well. We had several plane and weather delays and missed getting on the ship! The cruise company/airline was able to get all 40 "passengers" to Bar Harbor Maine before the ship arrived 2 days later, but we were up all night and had to make hotel reservations as best we could. When I called Harborside Hotel, Kaleigh at the front desk was able to assist us and many of our stranded fellow passengers in getting rooms with as little delay, no hassles and at a very reasonable price as well. As we had a lot of baggage, we all asked for and got a ground floor room!
The Hotel, staff, and restaurant were all outstanding and made our stay in Bar Harbor a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: Over half of the rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Jim P,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your great experience at the Harborside. We were more than happy to help accommodate you and the other travels who were “stranded” in the Bar Harbor area. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your unexpected stay with us- and that Kaleigh, our front desk supervisor was able to put you at ease during a stressful event.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Bar Harbor that the Harborside will be your hotel of choice (even if it is unexpected)!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing