We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great pools! Beautiful views. Awesome lobby that really welcomes you (nice fireplace). Location is right in Bar Harbor. Free Valet parking (but can be slow during busy times). The Price is right! Upon entry, feels like a five star hotel at a three star price. The only downside is that the rooms are on the small side. The ceilings are low – I almost broke the sprinkler on the ceiling trying to take my sweater off (I'm 6ft 1). The staff is also seasonal, so they are not very educated in the hotel's offerings and they don't have any insider information about the town (as they are not from the area). However, price to features, this is the hotel to stay at in Bar Harbor. I really can't say enough about the pools with the views. For you reference: our trip was in late June and we stayed in a King room with a pull-out couch. Family of four with young kids.

Room Tip: You have to have a late swim at the "resort/spa" pool. Don't worry, it's kid frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Vincent R,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your June experience at the Harborside, we thank you for both your constructive comments as well as your positive comments. I am always happy to hear about all of our guest’s feedback regarding both accommodations and service, as it always gives comments for improvement!

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina has the opportunity to welcome you back!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    285
    112
    91
    59
See reviews for
302
502
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel went above and beyond my expectations . 5 star customer service. Spa and health club were exceptional. Restaurant was very good as well. We had a king room with a standard view and it was nice. Rooms are not huge, but are well done and top notch.
Location and customer service could not be beat. Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Suzanne D,

Your review is wonderful and gets right to the point. Thank you very much for writing it and sharing your experience with other travelers. We hope you are able to visit with us again in the future.

With Warm Hospitality,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you want people to know you have money, and see other stuck up people with money, this is the place for you. Just like many other reviews we were told our room would have ocean views. Ever single person walks by out tiny patio and our view is of a lobster boat. We complained and they did not care. Pool is nice, location is great, but this hotel is really nothing to write home about and is NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Hd14,

Your feedback regarding your visit with us is appreciated. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, or the standards that our hotel holds itself to.


Further, I am very sorry that you did not like your room accommodations. I am unsure which room you were actually in, however, we are located on a working harbor, and we do see lobster boats often. We are glad you did enjoy the location and the pool.

I will be sure to share your comments with our management team, with the goal of improving upon the weaknesses you have identified.


Thank you again for taking the time to provide your input, and for your recent stay with us.


Warm Regards,



Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is the best of all you could want. The setting is stunning, the rooms clean and comfortable. Beautiful views right out your window, The hotel is gorgeous inside and out. Service is top notch. Valet parking is included in your costs nice feature. Hotel is right next to a sand bar at low tide you can walk out to the island, The location is right next to town, never moved car for two days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank witkowskiHebronIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear withowskiHebronin

I am so pleased to read about your enjoyment of our beautiful property and superior service. Your list of the amenities you enjoyed and the local exploring you were able to discover will be helpful to other guests considering staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


With Warm Hospitality,


Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Kent, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I chose to stay at the Harborside Hotel on our recent visit to Bar Harbor. I have always wanted to stay at this resort. We had a terrific stay at this beautiful resort. Our room was a Deluxe King with Island view which was really nice. The weather was a cool so we did not get to use the pools or sit poolside. The grounds are very well manicured. We were surpised to see some many young families with young children. The location is perfect. We had breakfast at the La Belle Vita in morning. The breakfast was soooo good. Overall we wish we could of stayed longer. I would recommend this resort. The staff was very friendly. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tom L,



Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend it with us at the Harborside. I will be sure to share your comments with our Food & Beverage Director so he can let his staff know how much you enjoyed your breakfast.

Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife again for a return visit in the future.



With Warm Hospitality,



Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here about one year ago. This hotel is well appointed and beautifully maintained. We stayed in an ocean view room with a hot tub on the balcony. Absolutely worth the money. It was great to watch the boats come and go from the hot tub. The location is ideal, right in the middle of downtown bar harbor. Very close to all the shops and restaurants. While staying at the hotel you also have access to the marina club next door that is also owned by the hotel. my husband and I spent a whole day lounging by the pool with a great view of bar island. We watched the tide go out and the land bridge appear.
When we checked in to the hotel for some reason the hotel did not get our reservation. They hotel was sold out. but they took our confirmation number and were able to find us the room that we booked. They were very calm and professional about fixing this error.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkss13333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear mkss13333333,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us for others! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Harborside soon.

With Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

lucked out they upgraded us to a ground level room right on the water. Everything you could need including iron, a outstanding coffee maker and outstanding mattresses. everything well maintained. free laundry and internet access provided. resort fee included access to the beautiful club next door.

Room Tip: unfortunately our sheet had a red brown stain though we felt the sheets had been washed some might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Christine a,

I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate an upgraded room for you during your stay. I am also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all the in room and property amenities. We take pride in providing many services and amenities for our guests to ensure our guests receive a valuable experience and are happy to see guests enjoy access to the Bar Harbor Club.

Thank you again for reviewing your experience and we hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area we have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing