We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The Spa is fabulous. The rooms are big and clean. The one complaint I would have (and not the Hotels fault) is that it is VERY kid friendly. Everywhere we went (including the bar late at night) we had children running around and screaming and playing and fighting and crying. They were up and down the halls all day, 6am til midnight. I wish they made the one pool over by the spa (they have 2 very nice pools) adults only. This would have at least given us someplace to relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeppermintyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear PeppermintyPatty,
Thank you for sharing your August experience at the Harborside with other travelers, we appreciate the kind words, and welcome all of our guests feedback for the property improvement for our future success. Our property is very family friendly, having 2 pool areas, with kids club, and tennis courts. Our sister property across the street has an adults only rooftop pool. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the accommodations, Spa and the facility despite our family friendly areas.

I hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, and you are looking for more relaxation (for guests eighteen and older), you will consider staying at the West Street Hotel, which is also another one of our OPAL properties.

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    283
    112
    91
    59
See reviews for
302
498
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Everything was amazing about the hotel except for the room. The outside of the hotel and amenities at the hotel were outstanding. However, the rooms could really use an upgrade. The rooms felt outdated as compared to the rest of the hotel. Other than the rooms, you get what you pay for, A+ service, A+ experience and A+ bed, but the room décor and feel is stuck in the 70s.

Room Tip: The king balcony harbor view was okay. Room was outdated, view was obstructed but the bed was extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Chad D,
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay in August, we appreciate constructive thoughts from all our valued guests, as this helps for future improvement for our further success. This guest information is much appreciated as we go into the winter months, where we begin our room refreshments. I am happy that the staff, amenities, and experience were able to outshine the room décor, we have a traditional style however we have our sister property across the street offers a modern décor for the guests looking for a boutique style experience.

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina or the West Street Hotel will be your lodging facility of choice.

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at the Harborside for 4 nights for our 15th anniversary. Our first night we were in a king room with a pullout sofa. Our room was an ocean view room with a balcony. (1065) The sunrise from this view was absolutely gorgeous. If you don't want to be woken up, make sure to keep the drapes closed. Be sure to watch the sunrise for at least one morning; it is an absolute must-do. For our remaining 3 nights, we were moved to a double as there were no kings available for the rest of our stay. Our new location(1017) was just as good. We had a room overlooking the pool with a large balcony--large enough to accommodate 2 chairs, a table, 2 chaise lounges and pretty of room to spare. We checked out of one room at 10am and were able to get into our new room at 11am. It was seamless and our luggage was moved for us. When we got into our new room, a complimentary bottle of champagne along with a lovely note was there from Isabelle at the front desk. (Thanks Isabelle!!) As others have stated, the location can't be beat. You can walk to stores, restaurants, boats, and the Shore path. Acadia Nat'l. park is a short drive. We enjoyed both pools and had several tasty drinks poolside as well. This was not our first time in Bar Harbor, but was our first at the Harborside. We will definitely be back and would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenTurieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear JenTurieo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Harborside Hotel and Marina with other travelers. I am always pleased to hear guests experience who stay in our different room types and still enjoy the rooms just the same, no matter the bedding or view type. We have a very hard working Housekeeping, Front Desk, and Bell staff who are all happy to assist making room moves seamless for our guests. I am honored that you chose to spend your 15th Anniversary at the Harborside, and Isabelle, one of our managers, was able to personally make it a memorable experience.

We appreciate all the positive and constructive feedback provided by all of our valued guest, such as yourself, thank you again for the great review!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at the Harborside Hotel at the end of July with my husband for our 35th anniversary. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready. What a nice surprise to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the room! It was our third time there and, once again, our stay was fantastic. The room was beautiful and clean, with a good size balcony. We had an island view room. We did not mind the view of the parking lot, as we were able to see sandbar and the ocean in the back.

The hotel was very busy, but all the staff was friendly and polite. Everybody, from housekeeping to front desk and bellmen was saying hi, whenever we were walking in the lobby or in the hallways. The front desk team was always smiling, and prompt to take care of our requests, even if it was late and busy.

Bar Harbor is a great town and we felt like everyone wanted us to have an enjoyable stay, especially Isabel, the manager, who went out of her way multiple times to ensure our stay was memorable. She is definitely an asset to your company.

We love it there and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Francine C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review you repeat experience at the Harborside, it is our pleasure to welcome back our returning guests! I am pleased that you were able to spend a very exciting 35th Anniversary with us at the Harborside and that our staff were able to make it a memorable experience! We have a wonderful staff, I am pleased to read your acknowledgement to one of our managers, Isabelle, all of our staff works very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to property!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Harborside for 3 nights. The location is great; it's close to restaurants, the whale boat tours and shopping, and is only a five to ten minute drive to Acadia. The rooms are clean. We originally had a suite near the pool (which was spacious but noisy and offered no view) and were then moved to the 3rd floor where we had our own little balcony which was lovely. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We had a charge on our bill that was quickly rectified.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great if kids are traveling with you. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjrrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Mjrrnc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your summer stay! I am always happy to read wonderful comments regarding our hard working staff, and how they were able to assist our valued guests, such as yourself! We appreciate the great review, as we are pleased to hear and read about our guests enjoying the location, accommodations and our amenities of our property while visiting Acadia National Park and our beautiful town.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Harborside Hotel and Marina!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location! Beautiful hotel in Bar Harbor, close to everything! Loved being able to walk to the shopping area and restaurants. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Rooms were a nice size for family of 4. Only disappointment was wi-fi was a little spotty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Connie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear 13Connie13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your August stay at the Harborside, we value all of our guests feedback and appreciate all the positive comments you have provided regarding your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, walking distance to the heart of downtown Bar Harbor, and a very short drive from Acadia National Park. We have a wonderful hard working staff, on behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to mention them.

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina will be your lodging facility of choice.

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This past July marked our 9th visit to the Harborside. This year we brought friends and family for a total of 12 guests. As per usual, the Harbourside did not disappoint and has 8 new members to its fan list. Its location on the water is beautiful. Sitting on our balcony sipping my coffee, smelling the sea air, and being seranaded by sea birds was a wonderful to start my day. Our room was spacious, the beds comfy and as in the past breakfast in the Bella Vita (the hotel restaurant) was delicious. Add to that, the Harborside is within walking distance of several great restaurants. Finally no day of our visit was complete without a dip in our of the hotel's great pools.

Room Tip: We always enjoy our island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 06Suze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Dear 06Suze,

I would like to thank you for being one of our valued OPAL guests and for your return trips to the Harborside. I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate yet another great stay, for our new and returning guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers, such experiences are best told by our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing