We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
603
345
146
122
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
345
146
122
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feeisland viewbar harbor club next doorla bellapremium kingbar islandin townhot tublow tidetennis courtshotel restaurantbeautiful hotelsand barocean frontbedroom suitewhale watchingfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed 3 nights in early October, we were able to take advantage of some good pricing at the end of the season. The website only featured the same picture for every type of room which made it difficult to choose what you really were buying the picture for our room showed a large room with a couch but we were in a much smaller room then pictures.

We were on the ground floor and had a nice view, but our patio was really just some chairs on the ground outside of a sliding door. We wanted to keep the curtains pulled for all the time we were in the room because a walking path went right past our room. I'd recommend a 2nd or 3rd floor if you can get it.

Can't beat the location, we walked everywhere to various restaurants and shops. We did a lot of cool touristy things in the area like the trolley ride and the scenic boat tour. We also went up to the top of Cadillac mountain to see the sunrise. It was great, cold though so dress warm.

The doors are very loud, anytime someone on our floor closed a door it was like a cannon being fired off. The air pressure of the other guests doors would slam our door also as the seal was not tight. It was very noisy.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd or 3rd floor to avoid people walking by your windows.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMAN14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel, Spa and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear SMAN14,

I would like to thank you for providing a fair review of your recent time in Bar Harbor.

In your review you have provided excellent constructive feedback for our property and we will certainly be addressing the issue mentioned, as we continuously try to improve the guest experience!

Our staff looks forward to another opportunity to welcome you back and show you a true Maine Hospitality experience!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We liked the looks of this hotel and the town of Bar Harbor so much that we promptly canceled our reservations in Portland, and stayed here instead. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, given the affordable price. A quick drive to Acadia and a quick walk to many restaurants and bars. Will definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel, Spa and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Natalie D,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest! I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Bar Harbor with other travelers- we take pride in providing great accommodations and amenities for our guests, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your time on property and were able to enjoy all the property has to offer!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Harborside, we are in hopes that if your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area, we are your property of choice!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We enjoyed a Harbor view room with a comfortable bed and lounge area. The hotel sits right in downtown and are a convenient walk to anywhere in Bar Harbor. If you're needing to maintain fitness the outdoor pool is the largest around, excellent for lap swimming, while the fitness center has enough options for most exercise needs. In all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade a Harbor view but not one that includes the parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel, Spa and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Carscott,

All of us at the Harborside value each and every kind review we are lucky to receive. Yours provided me with an even heightened sense that we are all on the right path in delivering a wonderful experience for our guests.

Our premier location offers many advantages and amenities including the town of Bar Harbor being only steps from our doors; offering shops, galleries, eateries, historical walks and awe inspiring hikes and views.

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we hope we are able to welcome you again sometime.


Warm regards,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

My wife I have been revisiting BarHarbor in the fall for years. The Harborside is our favorite hotel. The island is beautiful. Must dos and sees are Geddys, cadilac mountain, Thurstans lobster pound, The Jordan lake and lake house and their popovers.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel, Spa and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear william c,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Harborside Hotel & Marina I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with other travelers.

It is always a pleasure to hear guests enjoying the property as well as our location, we take pride in providing great amenities and accommodations in the heart of Downtown Bar Harbor.

Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Harborside is a really very impressive hotel. We had a large room with an attached children’s room with double bunks. The bathroom had a walk in shower, which scored highly with me.

The hotel also has a guests laundry.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Val_Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel, Spa and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Val_Mansfield,

I would like to thank you for providing a fair review of your recent time in Bar Harbor.

In your review you have provided excellent constructive feedback for our staff and we will certainly be addressing each of the issues mentioned, as we continuously try to improve the guest experience!

Our staff looks forward to another opportunity to welcome you back and show you a true Maine Hospitality experience!

With Hospitality,

Chris Torrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews