We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and will definitely be back!”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #11 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved it and will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This couple knows how to run a bed and breakfast! We were there for two days, both mornings the breakfast was a three course meal. Afternoon tea is available all afternoon until around 10:00, so we were able to have freshly made dessert and a cup of coffee after eating out.

Their location is just a short walk to all of the downtown hangouts and over to the bar that you can walk over at low tide. Plenty of parking for our van.

Each room is freshly decorated this year -- and beautiful new items to put the Holbrook House back to it's Victorian roots.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, ME
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We enjoy staying at B&Bs. The Holbrook House sits at the top or our list of those we have visited in Bar Harbor. It is important to us that the beds are comfortable and towels are thick. But the most important factor is the atmosphere. The innkeepers set the tone for this atmosphere. Michelle and Eric rise above the best of our previous experiences. From the moment we arrived to our departure we felt right at home. Their friendly and helpful attitude created a feeling among the guests that they were part of an extended family.

Check-in was a breeze. Our room, Blue Ribbon, was well appointed and very clean. As I said before, the bed was very comfortable and the thick towels were a pleasure to use. What sets this B&B apart from others we have stayed at in Bar Harbor was the inviting public spaces. The breakfast room was bright and airy. There were two additional public rooms inside. The seating arrangement in each room lent itself socialization among the guests. The full length front porch had several seating areas where we also were able to sit and swap stories with the other people staying there. The breakfasts were delicious with fruit appetizers and tasty entrees. Coffee and tea were available all day with homemade baked goods in the afternoon.

Michelle and Eric have taken an existing B&B and put their own touches on it to create an inviting and comfortable vacation respite. We plan on returning to the Holbrook House next year on our annual trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Check the photos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This was my first trip to Bar Harbor, and only my second stay in a B&B, and I had such a great experience that I will be returning in September for a specific event, and again staying at the Holbrook House. In fact, staying at the Holbrook House gratly contributed to my decision to attend the event in the area. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation at HH if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauser9362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Holbrook House was a truly enjoyable place to stay. Very homey, the rooms were clean and decorated in true victorian style, the owners Michelle and Eric have really paid attention to detail, from the softest sheets to a comfy throw blanket at the bottom of the bed! The breakfasts in the am were excellent as were all the homemade baked goods available in the evening for snacks. Ample parking and a short walk to the shops it is located in a perfect spot. It also is a short drive to Acadia Park. I would highly recommend this B&B to my friends and family. Bravo to Michelle and Eric.

Room Tip: Blue Ribbon is a wonderful room with a private de.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorrisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

If you are looking for delicious homemade breakfasts and generous amounts of yummy homemade snack foods, then Holbrook House is the place for you. Hosts Eric and Michelle are great cooks, carpenters, designers, and proprietors. They have turned a great B & B into an exceptional all-around experience. We plan to return often.

Room Tip: I can recommend all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the Holbrook House for our one year wedding anniversary. Most B & B's do not allow young children but Michelle and Eric welcomed us and our 6 month old. They were kind and helpful, offering directions to activities, restaurants options and even calling in reservations for us. The rooms were clean and the entire house and grounds permeate Victorian elegance. We were treated to gourmet breakfasts, served with a smile and morning greetings every morning. It was our first time visiting Bar Harbor and we plan to return. When we do, we would love to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mittzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Staying at the recently renovated Holbrook House made our first trip to Bar Harbor wonderful! The location is just a short walk to main street and there is ample parking at the B&B. My husband and I have already booked another stay at Holbrook House for later this summer.
The B&B is charming throughout with an eclectic mix of decor and furniture. The rooms are clean, charming and comfortable. The owners, Michele and Eric, are a pleasure. They are knowledgeable about tourist favorites and are just as excited to share local hot spots with their guests. They serve a gourmet breakfast each morning and have a passion for cooking vegan dishes for those who prefer this option.
We strongly recommend visiting this B&B under the new ownership - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grendel470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Property: Holbrook House
Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holbrook House is a ten room, three suite B&B built in 1876, located in the historic district within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning we include a home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing