We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Match”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #11 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Perfect Match”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We just returned from six nights at the Holbrook House and what a perfect fit for my wife and I. Michelle and Eric are great hosts, the breakfasts look and taste like they came out of a gourmet restaurant and the care taken of guests was wonderful.

If you are a fan of bed and breakfasts, this is one to visit!

I forgot to say that Bar Harbor was awesome too.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudgesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Lovely, intimate B&B with excellent food and friendly hosts. Blue room with back porch perfectly sized and quiet. Short walk into fabulous town!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kndunleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We had a perfect stay at the Holbrook House. The breakfasts were awesome and the owners were quite accomodating and gracious (we were with a large family group). Location is great, Bar Harbor and Acadia are a great vacation spot. We stayed in the Cadillac suite, very comfy beds. The only thing about the room is 2 flight if stairs (my 78 yr old mother had no problem) and some of the low angled ceilings - if you are tall you must be careful not to bumb your head in some areas. Loved it and hope to come back again.

Room Tip: Cadillac has a small refrigerator and TV above one of the beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinemax1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed in the Lupine Suite for 3 nights and it was fabulous! We loved having that much space (2 rooms/1 living room/1 bath). The inn and property are beautiful and one of the prettiest in Bar Harbor. I wanted to steal the vintage wallpaper and tufted velvet couch in the living room of the inn! It was very luxurious but still comfortable. Breakfast was always fresh, different and delicious. A foodie would be pleased. There was dessert throughout the day, too, which my sweet tooth appreciated. Michelle is quite the baker. Michelle and Eric, the owners, were very helpful with local activity info and directions. The location of the B&B is great (close to everything but still quiet) and easy to find. I would definitely stay here again and had a fabulous time with my family!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This couple knows how to run a bed and breakfast! We were there for two days, both mornings the breakfast was a three course meal. Afternoon tea is available all afternoon until around 10:00, so we were able to have freshly made dessert and a cup of coffee after eating out.

Their location is just a short walk to all of the downtown hangouts and over to the bar that you can walk over at low tide. Plenty of parking for our van.

Each room is freshly decorated this year -- and beautiful new items to put the Holbrook House back to it's Victorian roots.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, ME
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We enjoy staying at B&Bs. The Holbrook House sits at the top or our list of those we have visited in Bar Harbor. It is important to us that the beds are comfortable and towels are thick. But the most important factor is the atmosphere. The innkeepers set the tone for this atmosphere. Michelle and Eric rise above the best of our previous experiences. From the moment we arrived to our departure we felt right at home. Their friendly and helpful attitude created a feeling among the guests that they were part of an extended family.

Check-in was a breeze. Our room, Blue Ribbon, was well appointed and very clean. As I said before, the bed was very comfortable and the thick towels were a pleasure to use. What sets this B&B apart from others we have stayed at in Bar Harbor was the inviting public spaces. The breakfast room was bright and airy. There were two additional public rooms inside. The seating arrangement in each room lent itself socialization among the guests. The full length front porch had several seating areas where we also were able to sit and swap stories with the other people staying there. The breakfasts were delicious with fruit appetizers and tasty entrees. Coffee and tea were available all day with homemade baked goods in the afternoon.

Michelle and Eric have taken an existing B&B and put their own touches on it to create an inviting and comfortable vacation respite. We plan on returning to the Holbrook House next year on our annual trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Check the photos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This was my first trip to Bar Harbor, and only my second stay in a B&B, and I had such a great experience that I will be returning in September for a specific event, and again staying at the Holbrook House. In fact, staying at the Holbrook House gratly contributed to my decision to attend the event in the area. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation at HH if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauser9362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 30 in Bar Harbor
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
0.1 mi away
The Elmhurst Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Property: Holbrook House
Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holbrook House is a ten room, three suite B&B built in 1876, located in the historic district within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning we include a home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing