We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Attention to Detail”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #9 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our two night stay at Holbrook house was delightful. Our hosts, Michelle and Eric, made sure everything was picture perfect and the yummy breakfasts could not have been nicer. It is indeed a short walk to town and the Acadia National Park, just a mile away, was a wonder to behold for this Florida girl!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmgaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is our favorite B&B in Bar Harbor, and it is a true value in any location. Great accommodations, great food, and great hosts -- all at a great price! You will not be disappointed. Eric, Michelle, Susan, and all of the staff work very, very hard to please. If you have ever stayed at Holbrook House, then you know all there is to know. If you have never stayed at Holbrook House, then give it a try. You will be very happy on your first visit and happier still to stay in the future without any need (or desire) to shop around. You will have found the best -- at a truly great price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Usually when we come to Bar Harbor, we stay in our RV. However, since we recently sold said RV, we opted for a Bed and Breakfast right downtown for our most recent stay. Upon arrival, we had only 15 minutes to wait for our room to be ready and we were at least two hours ahead of check-in time. We were impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room. We stayed in the Blueberry Patch room, which has its own entrance from the over-sized front farmer's porch. We originally thought this would afford a quieter room, since it was a corner room and had a separate entrance. And, we certainly couldn't hear others in rooms next door. But, it was a bit noisier since it was closer to the road. The traffic noise didn't keep us up; but, a lighter sleeper may have been disturbed by this. The upside to the traffic is it means you can walk right downtown in minutes. This was a definite perk after having to drive everywhere we wanted to go from the campground.

Eric and Michelle were wonderful hosts, friendly, attentive and very helpful with local dining options. From talking to Eric at mealtimes and periodically throughout the day, we learned that they have only owned the B&B for several years. They have done some really nice remodeling in the common rooms and are gradually going over the individual rooms as well.

What separates The Holbrook House from other B&B's in the area. One word - BREAKFAST!
Michelle is quite the cook. The breakfasts she whipped were nothing short of amazing! In fact, there are always treats available for guests to enjoy. In the early morning, there are fruit, yogurt, muffins and other baked goods, fresh baked bread for toast and coffee, tea and juice. In the afternoon, there are scones, cookies and coffee and tea. There are even wine glasses for guests to enjoy their own wine in the dining room. It was very easy to feel comfortable here, in fact...right at home.

We would definitely come back and stay with Eric and Michelle again! The Holbrook House was exactly what you would expect from a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the rear of the building. It would be quieter. There is a back entrance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I love this B&B, lovely house, nice rooms, very sweet hosts. Everything they recommended turned out to be great! The restaurants, the running trail...
Good location too, mintues away to walk to the main street.
The only thing I personal not fancy is the breakfast, it is a little bit towards the sweet side, my my type, but well prepared.
Will definitely recommend this to my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuqingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was my first time at a B&B and it was everything I expected it to be. Being male, I chose the Green Heather room as it was the most masculine of their offerings. It was more than large enough for my needs. The room was in very good condition, with everything operational. The location is excellent with much of Bar Harbor reachable on foot. They have limited off street packing in the front on the inn, but ample off street packing just around the back with a convenient entrance. I was surprised at how quiet the inn was at night. There where two families with two boys each and your would not have known they were even there. You will find the breakfasts to be wonderful. Michelle's offerings are both creative and varied. Every morning was a delicious surprise. Eric even asked if I had any dietary requirements when I checked in. The expansive front porch is a wonderful place to relax, read a book, enjoy a bottle of wine and get to know your fellow guests.

Room Tip: The Green Heather has a private bath directly across the hall, two steps away. You have the option t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry60304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for a full week. Micheal and Eric are good hosts and will do anything to help.

The only negitive was that our suite (downstairs with a seperate entry) was designed for Hobits. The bed .is seriously small for two full sized people..(Ideal for two hobits). The show is also seriously small. My sholders toughed both sides at the same time. If you drop the soap, you need to get out, recover the soap and jump back in. We have traveled through England, so we know about strange showers, but this was seriously small.

But part from the bed and shower, everything else was very good.

Perhaps ask for a full size bed and shower if you make a booking.

Room Tip: If you are expecting a full size bed and shower...suggest you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Holbrook House for 4 days in August. The breakfasts were the highlight. Each day something different and delicious with attention to flavor and presentation. Two members of our party had dietary needs which were accommodated beautifully. In addition to the breakfast, the midday treats were amazing. Again, special care for my gluten-free and dairy-free friends. After a day of biking (bike storage provided), hiking or touring, the front porch was delightful. So relaxing! The location is ideal - everything is a walk away. Michelle and Eric suggested several great dinner spots as well. They are delightful hosts.
We stayed in the Cadillac Suite which is in the attic. It was very clean however it has very low headroom - something to consider. There is a detached cottage and many rooms in the main building with higher ceilings.

Room Tip: If you are tall avoid the Cadillac Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#11 of 30 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 30 in Bar Harbor
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#6 of 30 in Bar Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £68 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance of Main St. Bar Harbor and minutes away from Acadia National Park. The Holbrook House B&B, built in 1876, has 9 guest room, 2 newly renovated luxury suites and 2 two bed suites. Each guest room and suite is unique and different. You are sure to find one that you will fall in love with. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning enjoy Michelle's home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing