We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - Go for the breakfasts!”
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holbrook House
Ranked #9 of 29 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I recently spend three nights here while in Bar Harbor, and really enjoyed our stay. Innkeepers Eric and Michelle are super sweet, and Michelle's phenomenal breakfasts are reason enough to stay here!

LOCATION: Located just on the edge of the touristy "village" of Bar Harbor, this B&B is located within walking distance to everything in town. It's located on the main road heading into town, so you can definitely hear some road noise in your room, especially if you happen to be located in the front (street side) of the inn. Even in the shoulder season of mid-September, don't plan on sleeping past 7 am, as the sound of the traffic going by will wake you. I'm a pretty sound sleeper, but wasn't able to sleep in due to the noise.

ROOM: We opted for the Blueberry Patch, which was an ample sized room along the front porch. It has it's own entrance off the porch, and a small, private deck in the back to enjoy. The room was extremely clean, and many amenities were provided, including very luxurious fluffy towels. The Blueberry Patch room was constructed as an addition to the main house, and has three exterior sides, so there is plenty of light. The construction, however, is a little spotty, as we could never figure out which switches controlled what (some didn't appear to control anything), some of the outlets didn't work, and there weren't enough outlets to plug in all of our gadgetry. Also strange that there was no TV in the room, as there certainly was plenty of room for one. But these items were relatively minor, in our opinion. All in all, the room was very good. And, kudos for the free gifts that were provided -- chocolate covered blueberries and an oil and vinegar set from a local shop.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is where the experience excels! Every morning, we were treated to delicious and delectable meals thanks to Michelle, who clearly enjoys to cook for her guests! The bright and airy breakfast room is set up with a buffet spread of some baked goodies, coffee and tea to get you going. Once you sit down at a table, a fruit course is brought out. And, I'm not talking your usual, run-of-the mill fruit cup here, no sir-ee! Grilled peach with sorbet - yum! Grapefruit with campari sauce - yes, please! And, then you're presented with a breakfast plate that looks like it came out of the kitchen of a fine restaurant. Blueberry french toast (portion enough to feed 2 hungry people, at least) - OMG! Even scrambled eggs were yummy and creamy -- served in a cute little pastry cup, and some of the best I'v e ever had. If Michelle ever gets tired of cooking for guests, there's definitely a job for her in our kitchen at home! In fact, upon our return from vacation, upon seeing what I served him for breakfast, my husband commented, "Where's Michelle?" Thank goodness I have a good sense of humor.

VALUE: Since we stayed in one of the more economical rooms at the Inn, we found the cost reasonable for pretty expensive and touristy Bar Harbor. And, given the breakfasts that were so filling you could probably skip lunch, it's a pretty decent value.

Would definitely give this place another shot if we ever make it up to Bar Harbor again. I'll be the first in line if Michelle ever decides to open her own restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The B&B is spotless and the host accommodating. Eric and his wife obviously put a lot of effort in and it shows.

Everything that you could need is supplied (toiletries, hairdrier), there are cakes in the afternoon, delicious breakfast, ample parking and a five/ten min walk to town. It's got it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubbs_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Bar Harbor is filled with B and B's, and I cannot imagine a better one than this. The house is beautiful, Eric and Michele are knowledgable, friendly, and helpful, each room is individual and tasteful, the location is ideal...a short walk to the center of Bar Harbor and a short ride to Acadia.
Michele is a superb cook and baker. Each breakfast was delicious and the afternoon 'snacks' amazing. My husband, who has a dairy allergy, was in 7th heaven: he is accustomed to being very limited anyplace that serves gourmet food. Michele, who has a problem very similar to his, created scrumptious breakfasts, muffins, cakes, and pastries that he could eat without any concern. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife, 2 teenage boys, and friends of ours (family of 4) stayed at Holbrook House in mid-July 2013. It was a very pleasant and relaxing "home away from home" feel. The innkeepers are great, the breakfasts are fantastic. I have no recommendations to make this experience better. Keep up the great work!!!

Room Tip: quiet, relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Holbrook House has all the characteristics of a great B&B. The innkeepers are gracious, staff is helpful, location is great, rooms and common areas are beautiful. What makes the Holbrook House a standout are the truly gourmet breakfasts served each day. Innkeeper MIchelle's flavor combinations and food presentations are exquisite. One could not have a better start to a day in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHIslander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our 1st trip to Bar Harbour & Acadia National Park. We really enjoyed our stay at the Holbrook House. It was a perfect location, Eric and Michelle were great hosts and so helpful. Their breakfast were awesome, and great afternoon snacks!! I would recommend it to anyone going to Bar Harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimster575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Perfect place for a relaxing getaway in a picture perfect location. The owners were great hosts that made us feel welcomed and right at home. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Bar Harbor.

This was our first visit to Maine and couldn't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and this lovely B&B. We stayed in the Chantilly room and absolutely loved it! Must stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghamer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#4 of 29 in Bar Harbor
302 reviews
0 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 29 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 29 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 29 in Bar Harbor
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hearthside B&B
Hearthside B&B
#2 of 29 in Bar Harbor
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1323
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £64 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance of Main St. Bar Harbor and minutes away from Acadia National Park. The Holbrook House B&B, built in 1876, has 9 guest room, 2 newly renovated luxury suites and 2 two bed suites. Each guest room and suite is unique and different. You are sure to find one that you will fall in love with. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning enjoy Michelle's home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing