We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect For Our Recent Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Eden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Eden Cottages
Middle Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect For Our Recent Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A friend recommended Rose Eden Cottages for our recent vacation to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Dave and Yvonne are wonderful hosts. Always a pleasure to see their smiling faces each day. Both were quite commodating in providing directions, fresh linens and even a new coffee maker! We stayed in the Blueberry Cottage which had a complete kitchenette with utensils. The running water in the shower was perfect even though the stall was a bit small.
The living room/bedroom was simple but colorfully decorative. The bed was less than comfortable as it moved when you sat anywhere on it but the center. The bed frame would lift causing some scary moments.Yvonne adds a beautiful touch to the property with her colorful flowers! There is a fresh lobster store behind the Rose Eden Cottage. The owner, Hank, is a real gentleman. You can purchase the lobsters and take them with you or Hank can cook them.
The lobsters were fresh and just so sweet. Rose Eden Cottages is perfectly centered between downtown Bar Harbor and Mt. Desert Island where our friends had stayed. Acadia National Park is just minutes away. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Cottages, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the great comments about us and Rose Eden Cottages. We also appreciate your comments concerning issues with the bed. We were not aware there was a problem with it. Customer comments have enabled us to make a number of positive changes since we have purchased Rose Eden and your comment will add to the list of changes. We have ordered a new bed frame which will take care of the problem you experienced. Thank you for choosing to stay at Rose Eden and helping correct a problem in one of our cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oglesby, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had the chance to stay at Rose Eden in early May in the Tides cottage. It was absolutely perfect to say the least! Well maintained, with a new feel, this cottage was perfect for my 5 family members to return "home" to each day. The kitchen is equipped with essential, basic cooking items and dishware; we were able to enjoy home-cooked meals each day. The cottage was kept warm with a small gas stove heater that really kept the place nice and toasty once it started to get going. Outside, the grounds were nice and had a private, secluded feel. The Tides is the cottage furthest back, so we couldn't hear anything from the road, only the sounds of the forest. The owners are very friendly and accommodating and you can tell they really care. I'm looking forward to returning here one day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The cottages are adorable. They are perfect for a great stay and Dave & Yvonne are super people that own the cottages. They are along the main road but we did not really notice the car traffic. Great place for families and they have picnic tables, grills and a fire pit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandomom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed at Rose Eden Cottages and it was exactly what I was looking for when traveling to Bar Harbor and Acadia. It is a few minutes from the entrance to Acadia National Park and the center of Bar Harbor is not much further. The treat though is you have your own cabin not connected to another room which gives you your own outdoor space but there is also Traveling Lobster onsite for dinner, which after hiking in the park was great. We were looking for a place to relax and really enjoy the area and when I return would make sure to stay here. Dave and Yvonne we're great hosts and more then willing to help with anything you need. If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the area this is the best place.

Room Tip: Most cottages seem similar but we had room six witch fit all our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We loved this cottage. We felt right at home, mainly because the owners made us feel that way. Very very clean! We stayed in Cottage #12 which was perfect for us, it was private and very quiet. We did a campfire every night. The price was great and just a few minutes from Acadia National Park. This cottage has everything you need.

I would highly recommend this cottage.

Room Tip: Cottage#12 can sleep from 5-7 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

These cabins are under new management and a very nice couple keeps the property in good shape. The cabins are small but trim, newly painted.

I was a little concerned after reading negative reviews about the noise, I'm a light sleeper, and our cabin was facing the high-traffic road. It turns out the owners have bought some white noise machines which worked wonderfully for me. I used one with the fan the first night, but after that, I realized the fan was not needed.

It was nice to have a place to bring our 100-pound German Shepherd and sleep comfortably. Although the cabins are indeed basic, that's what I'm looking for when going to MDI, I want something affordable, simple and clean and this fit the bill nicely. Nice location also. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlakeKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

These cabins are basic, but sufficient if you are going to spend most of the time out of doors. They need updating! The small kitchen is workable for making breakfast on the electric hob and for simple lunches. The cabin we had - number 6 - was at the end of the row and was a bit more private because of that, but as another reviewer noted, they are close to the road and traffic noise could be an issue for light sleepers as this is a busy road. The larger cabins are around the bend and back farther from the road, so that would be a better choice if traffic is going to bother you. We had two days of rain during our time in Bar Harbor and the one day was just bucketing down to the point where just getting to the car was soaking, so we did get a little bit of cabin fever by day two as there is no room to spread out or move around very much and no place really other than the bed to stretch out. It also got damp after two days of rain - things felt a bit wet. Cabin was clean even though it is a little run down (bathroom especially). Don't think we would stay here agin - would find other cabins

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank lookingforhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Cottages, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We appreciate the comments. Receiving comments concerning our cottages helps us to focus on things that might need a bit of tweaking. I wish we could have had the opportunity to have a candid, face to face discussion. That always helps to fully understand our guest’s concerns.
The cottages are designed to be rustic, basic lodging which reflects the region where the emphasis is on outdoor activities and the basic design allows them to be “affordable”. We certainly aren’t trying to provide a generic, cookie cutter motel room.
Unfortunately the weather is sometimes less than cooperative. We are working with the local weather people to make improvements but probably won’t have much success.
Thank you for the input. Candid comments are always appreciated.
PS: We are doing some changes to several of the cottages in 2014 to include this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Eden Cottages

Property: Rose Eden Cottages
Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Eden is a special place that is nestled in the woods away from the downtown hustle but near Acadia Park and within 5 minutes of an ocean front beach. We maintain a family atmosphere with a small playground and picnic, barbeque and fire pit areas (barbeque grilles are available for your use). There is a Lobster take out business on site where you can buy lobsters to cook yourself or a lobster dinner to eat at your cottage or in one of the picnic areas. Locally processed wines and beer can be purchased next door to compliment the lobster dinners. Rose Eden is a perfect place for a group to gather for a family reunion or a family to relax after enjoying the many things to do and see in this special place on the coast of Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Eden Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Rose Eden Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing