We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base for trip to Acadia”
Review of Rose Eden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Eden Cottages
Holbrook, New York
2 reviews
“Great home base for trip to Acadia”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We are in the midst of a week long stay in mid August. We are staying in cottage 12, which is perfect for as many as 7 people. The cottage is clean and comfortable, with a nice sitting area with a wood burning (gas) stove, which was great on the cool mornings. There's a TV with basic cable. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is clean and functional and the kitchen was great for making a meal before starting out for the day.
It's located about 15 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor, 10 minutes to the Hull's Cove entrance of Acadia National Park. We haven't tried the Traveling Lobster next door yet but plan to. I'll update when we do.
Yvonne and Dave are very welcoming and accommodating. The cottages are all very cute and worth the money. My one very minor gripe is that the internet wifi has been spotty at best. Dave explained he'd been having issues with the provider and was working on getting it sorted out. Not a huge deal but it would be nice to have. I definitely plan on returning on my next trip to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprtsfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln University, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights July 30 -Aug 2. Nice that we didn't have to book a week, but would have loved to stay longer! Great place for family of 6 in cottage #11. Good location to explore Acadia and get around on the island. VERY clean, comfortable. Yvonne and David were friendly and welcoming; they are newer owners and working very hard to make improvements. Others guests were friendly also, kids played together and we shared a fire one night. Place to do laundry, which was a plus. Walked to Travelling Lobster one night and winery the next. Would recommend staying there, and if you bring a pet, they are welcome too.

Room Tip: Family cottage#11 no noise issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kltrayner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great cabins! Clean, new stuff, comfortable! Nice grounds! Good rates! Too bad about the septic system!
Great cabins! Clean, new stuff, comfortable! Nice grounds! Good rates! Too bad about the septic system!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ststephen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family (including parents, siblings, in-laws) etc, all rented from Rose Eden in 8 different cottages. We all had a wonderful stay and our cottages were clean and comfortable and the property was lovely and a great location (caught the bus across the street daily). I had seen pics on Google Maps and thought the front cabins were really close to the street. They are not..they are fine (My siblings rented them). I had The Tides and it was lovely and spacious and had an iron (not sure they all do, probably not) but was so happy to see that as well as all the utensils we needed and access to essentials was super easy (ice, firewood and lobster!). Owners are so very pleasant and there is even a laundry room (likely a spare iron in there) with gigantic GE washers. Paid $5 for wash/dry so went home with ALL of my kids clothes clean. Would have been at least 3 loads at my house. Loved this place. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The website shows all cottages. I'd say mine was bigger then I expected. Also, didn't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our first trip to Maine and four days in Bar Harbor brought us to the Rose Eden Cottages as recommended by friend who had stayed there before. We had cottages #9 and #10 which is set back from the main road and was quiet and very pleasant. Loved all the little decorating details throughout the cottage. Owners Dave and Yvonne were the best and they always had a smile for you. Just the perfect location to take in all the beauty of Bar Harbor and the Arcadia National Park. We were there in mid-June, just before the season started and once it did it was great to return at the end of each day and sit around a campfire with some great cabin neighbors. Plenty of great restaurants within a couple of miles or try the Farm Café next door. The morning we were packing to leave there was a turtle digging in the sand and gravel at the end of the driveway burying her eggs. Very fascinating to watch her and she wasn't not the least interested in the crowd that had gathered around her. Rose Eden is a great choice when traveling to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Can't imagine that each cabin isn't just perfect. Pictures on their website are great and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our second stay at Rose Eden cottages and we loved it! The owners are very accommodating and friendly and truly care about the experience of their guests. We have two medium sized dogs and appreciate the outdoor space as well as the dog friendly beach that is within walking distance. For the price- you really can't beat it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Rose Eden Cottage for the second time. We visited with our two 7 month old puppies. My sister and her husband along with their two dogs stayed in the cottage on the other side of the duplex. We worried that our early risers would wake them, however they assured us they couldn't hear us. The location is perfect- a short half mile walk to the dog friendly beach. The pups got their first swim in the ocean and loved every second of it! The free shuttle bus into downtown or the park was very convenient. It picks you up right across the street from the cottages. If you plan on using it, be sure to be a few minutes early or you might miss it. The new owners of Rose Eden are so pleasant and accommodating. They always seem to be working in updating the place, yet they are never to busy to stop and say hello and make sure you are enjoying your stay. We will definitely return for future visits.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Eden Cottages

Property: Rose Eden Cottages
Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Eden is a special place that is nestled in the woods away from the downtown hustle but near Acadia Park and within 5 minutes of an ocean front beach. We maintain a family atmosphere with a small playground and picnic, barbeque and fire pit areas (barbeque grilles are available for your use). There is a Lobster take out business on site where you can buy lobsters to cook yourself or a lobster dinner to eat at your cottage or in one of the picnic areas. Locally processed wines and beer can be purchased next door to compliment the lobster dinners. Rose Eden is a perfect place for a group to gather for a family reunion or a family to relax after enjoying the many things to do and see in this special place on the coast of Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Eden Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Rose Eden Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing