We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice for a large family gathering”
Review of Rose Eden Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Eden Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent choice for a large family gathering”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My Family and I (group of 23) rented the entire place out for a long weekend.
We had a blast. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes to camp and be outdoors. The cottages are just like the web site pics, cute, cozy, clean and private. There are picnic tables and gas grills outside to enjoy. They have fire pits for a relaxing evening fire. The kitchens are equipped with everything you could think of.
I saw every one of the cabins and each one is neat and clean. Pick anyone that is suitable to your needs and you will be comfortable.
Those of us that were in the front had no complaints about traffic noise. It was quite and we all slept well each and every night.
We enjoyed the town and the park both are just a short drive away.
The place was perfect for us, everyone in my family was pleased no complaints from anyone. thanks to charlene and her husband for the hospitality, they were there when we needed them but we were left alone to enjoy the entire place for the weekend.
If anyone is planning a large family gathering and would like to reserve a place all your own check this place out it is affordable and a perfect place to be while exploring bar harbor. If you are traveling solo or with your immediate family and like to camp, go and enjoy the comforts of home while you camp at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    22
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We were happy with the cottage. It was what was described on their website. The main reason we picked this cottage was that it was pet friendly and it was. Jessie, the resident dog was very friendly too!! The cottage was the right size for the three of us and our pet dog. The cottage was clean, but could use a fresh coat of paint. About 6 miles from Acadia park entrance. No complaints. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

After coming from a cottage which we were sorely disappointed I was so worried that the Tripadvisor folks would let us down. With brining a dog on vacation you become well aware of the limitations you have with booking lodging. Well I have to say we were so excited and thrilled this place was CLEAN and had nice décor and smelled CLEAN. I know that décor is not always a deciding factor but it was nice in our cottage. Plus the beds were comfortable. The owners were nice and helpful. The only drawback is that the cottages are close to the road (State Hwy 3) and you can hear road noise at night. They do offer a fan but if you are a light sleeper, you might want to keep this in mind.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neatoconchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My firends and I enjoyed our stay at the tiny cabin. It was a perfect place to return to after being out all day. Road noise is the only complaint. But by the second night, we didn't notice it. Service is superb and everything was very clean. Great find financially as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jseniar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at Rose Eden Cottages for 3 nights and could not have been happier. The cottage was very clean, roomy enough for our needs and well equipped. The owners were attentive and friendly. Also dog friendly with a convenient dog-walking area.

Only (small) complaint: it is right on a busy road and the cottages are quite close to the road. With a fan going, though, the road noise was barely noticeable.

This place is super-clean and convenient to Acadia as well Bar Harbor. Easy to find.
We'll go back over and over.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogtraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at Rose Eden for 4 nights on our honeymoon. Accomodations were great for what we wanted. Cottages were roomy, comfortable, clean, affordable and the location is convenient for getting to town & the park. The area is definitely a nice place to visit and I would certainly stay at Rose Eden again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — A little closer to town would have been better, but not that big of a deal.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doughboysigep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

My husband and I booked a cottage at Rose Eden Cottages so we could bring our dog hiking in Acadia with us. The cottage we got was very small but very cozy and clean. The owners were very nice and helpful. We ordered the lobster meal for two one night and had a great dinner. The cottages were on a nice patch of land and in a great location. Across the street down a small road was a rocky beach which was pet friendly. A couple miles down the road was a great ice cream place called Udder Heaven which had great coffee and bagels for breakfast and delicious homemade ice cream. The cottages were also very close to downtown Bar Harbor and the entrance to Acadia Natl Park. We would definatly stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaPunk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
325 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
5.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Eden Cottages

Property: Rose Eden Cottages
Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Eden is a special place that is nestled in the woods away from the downtown hustle but near Acadia Park and within 5 minutes of an ocean front beach. We maintain a family atmosphere with a small playground and picnic, barbeque and fire pit areas (barbeque grilles are available for your use). There is a Lobster take out business on site where you can buy lobsters to cook yourself or a lobster dinner to eat at your cottage or in one of the picnic areas. Locally processed wines and beer can be purchased next door to compliment the lobster dinners. Rose Eden is a perfect place for a group to gather for a family reunion or a family to relax after enjoying the many things to do and see in this special place on the coast of Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Eden Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Rose Eden Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing