We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Barton's Motel and Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barton's Motel and Cottages
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booked two nights at this quaint motel/cottage location. 4 adults and one dog in one of their pet friendly motel rooms. Good location - close to downtown Bar Harbor and the Hull's Cove entrance to Acadia National Park. Very clean room; full bath and well kept grounds, it is an older motel, but holds its own for a good place to crash after sightseeing. $78 each night, for the four of us and $10 a night for the dog, not including tax which you can't hold against them...great value. Friendly owners. Thrilled the A/C worked as it turned extremely muggy! Chose this because of being pet friendly.

Room Tip: The owner suggested the end unit (#1) because it would be easier to walk the dog right out to a gras...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Lots of cyclists stay here, looking for a good value, with wi-fi. The rooms were clean, and the heater worked, which is pretty important even in early October. During both nights, the hotel had very quiet nice customers -- mostly ages 30-60 tired from hiking all day! The carpets were clean, though the wallpaper in the bathroom and floor congoleum, like most value hotels, was not glued on super tight everywhere. And, yes, there's some loose caulk, but no mold. Towels and soap were provided. Parking is in front of your door. It served the purpose very well. We would definitely stay here again. If you don't intend to hang around your room, it's just fine as a place to lay your head. We're happy with this budget selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urbanrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at Barton's, in the hotel due to the fact that all the cabins were booked. Our room was basic, but clean and roomy. This is an older hotel, but it seems to be well maintained. I liked the fact that it is one story, and you can back right up to your door to unload luggage. There is a large grassy area out front with chairs and picnic tables. It was a nice place to sit and have coffee in the morning. The bathroom was a little challenging to use as there are no shelves or vanity top to put hygiene items. More importantly though, the bathroom was very clean. The location was good for us, a short drive to the downtown area of Bar Harbor, and Acadia Park. The price was also extremely reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umfoofoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mertztown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

the cabin was clean and maid up nice the 3 days we were there it was great to go out side
to sit, read & relax after the riding we did. the bathroom was a little tight but very clean
alway a good point in my book. the owner was nice, he even gave us wood chucks for the
motorcycle wheeels

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lori h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in the 1-bedroom "suite," which is on the 2nd floor of a newer addition in the rear of the motel. For two people, it worked really well. It had a complete kitchen, living room, and separate bedroom, all for about $100 a night, in August!. One of the nicest things about it was that it had lots of windows on all sides that we opened and were then able to take advantage of the breezes. The property is about 2 miles from Bar Harbor, but there's not much within easy walking distance (and the highway isn't the best to walk along either). We used the free Island Express bus system, and could flag the bus down right outside the motel. There was also a coin-operated laundry on site. A good choice for those looking for an affordable place to stay near Bar Harbor and Acadia.

Room Tip: The motel is located on a very busy highway, so the farther from the highway you can get, the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The room was clean and well furnished, reasonably priced, and the proprietors friendly. The location is close to the entrance to Acadia on route 3. They have a standard motel on one side of the street, and cottages of varying sizes on the other wide. We stayed in a small cottage, and it was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akh345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Loved the privacy! Close to Bar Harbor and Terry, the host, was friendly, informative, and very welcoming. He told us about a couple of restaurants where we'd get a discount if we showed our room key - which we did - and it worked!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nettielou04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
3.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins
Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins
#9 of 21 in Bar Harbor
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
252 reviews
5.8 mi away
Narrows Too Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton's Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton's Motel and Cottages

Property: Barton's Motel and Cottages
Address: 122 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Barton's Motel And Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing