We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acadia National Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia National Park Island Explorer Bus

Acadia National Park Island Explorer Bus
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acadia National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great tour by bus that allows you view the great scenery. The bus driver was very knowledgeable and comical. Would recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    161
    22
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Sightseeing Activity in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent way to view the Island, for all ages. Several routes available that go all over the Island, very scenic landscape and seascapes. Makes several stops for photography opportunities. Historical commentary, passes by Acadia National Park. Shuttle style bus meets at the "Village Green". A must do on Mount Desert Island. Sponsored by Eddie Bauer Clothing Co. and the local Tourist Bureau-FREE!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TradingPlaces4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So much fun! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This park is beautiful and a great place to bring kids! We went to Jordan pond which has a great restaurant on it, a little pricey but well worth it for the view. Then we saw thunderhole- amazing. I really like that this park has free shuttle services and wish that we were around when the full schedule runs. It can really take you all around the park. I hope to come back without the kids and check out some of the hikes!

Helpful?
1 Thank JustinCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The guide was very informed but the weather was bad and he could not take us to Cadillac Mountain. Thankfully we went back ourselves when the weather was clear. I would not have wanted to miss such a beautiful view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
1,083 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“Sponsored by LL Bean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I understand these buses are sponsored by a grant from LL Bean. They take bicycles and drop you off and pick you up at strategic places all through Arcadia. This cuts down on traffic throughout the park. The drivers are knowledgeable and helpful. Hint: If you plan to take the Bus from Southwest Harbor to Bar Harbor it will take an hour as they will stop at several places along the way. So, if you are not in a hurry use the bus for sure. Free service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acadia National Park Island Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia National Park Island Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing