We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Peaceful Setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, Peaceful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We hadn't been to Bar harbor in many years and we always stayed in-town. We decided to remove ourselves from the hustle and bustle and stay outside of town this time. The cost was a lot cheaper too. They really get you on the nightly rates in Bar Harbor. We decided to stay at Edgewater due to the reviews online. We stayed in the motel which was very nice. The rooms have been updated and they were very clean. The view overlooking Salisbury Bay was great. Enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck daily. Although we spent our days exploring the town and Acadia, we didn't feel like we were too far from anything. It's about a 10-15 minute drive to town and Acadia was about 5 minutes. It's definitely worth checking out. Something that would be nice to have by the beach would be a fireplace. The only con, and it's not their fault, would be the sand fleas. We sat briefly in the lawn chairs provided and they were jumping all over in swarms. We retreated to the room's balcony which was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stebs3646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    50
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
165
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Chosen for a 2 night stay on our first trip to the area and couldn't have been more pleased. We booked a 2-queen bed motel room with gorgeous waterfront views. We were close to everything without being in Bar Harbor itself - perfect for us. Close to Acadia National Park - our primary reason for the visit. This is an ideal spot for a longer visit. The room was wonderfully appointed and very comfortable for our group of 3 adults. We were given some good recommendations for restaurants. It was tempting to spend longer just relaxing and enjoying the views from our deck, but not enough time! Definitely a place to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've stayed a week in early august 2014 and i have to say that it is quite noisy around here. The unit are pretty close to eachother so you hear everyone around when they get up.

I have to say however that the view is great but that is the only thing i liked about this place.

I unfortunalety don't recommend people to stay at this place. There are much more nicer place for the same price elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our first time in Bar Harbor and we wanted to stay somewhere quiet and on the water and this fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in cabin #5. The cabins sit on a small cove with beautiful views and easy access to the water for tidepooling or kayaking. The property was quiet and peaceful. The cabin was well appointed with a queen bed, full bath, couch, easy chair, and a kitchenette with a table and 2 chairs. The kitchenette is big enough to heat up food and cook simple meals but if you were doing serious cooking 3 meals a day I think it would be a challenge. We also had a patio with seating that looked out onto the water.

The one negative is that even Maine can get hot and humid, and with neither air conditioning or a ceiling fan, the cabin could get hot during the day. During the hottest days of our trip, it was not possible to cool the room down to a comfortable temperature even with all the windows open and running the small tabletop fan that was provided. If you are very sensitive to sleeping in warm temperatures, you should keep this in mind.

The cabin is located well off the main road, approx. 6 minutes from the entrance to Acadia park and 15 minutes from Bar Harbor. It is a good compromise if you want to enjoy the restaurants and activities of Bar Harbor but want a refuge from the crowds and the noise. The owner is very helpful if you need tourist advice or anything else.

If we ever go back to Maine we would stay here again without hesitation.

Bonus tip: Mind the tide charts and try to go out at low tide after dark. If you touch the seaweed, it glows! Bring a flashlight as the beach in the dark is treacherous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_dragon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lille
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are just back home - in France - after our third stay at Edgewater. Once again, we had a real great time. Everything is just perfect there: the amazing view, the quietness, the quality and cleanliness of the cottage, the convenience of the access to Acadia National Park and last but not least the kindness and advises of the owners, Jayne and David! We already miss our breakfast on the terrace, after a morning kayak tour in the bay.
We'll definitely be back! Sylvie and Fred

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tortueLille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Edgewater Motel & Cottages and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the motel rooms, which we both agreed were extremely clean and spacious. If we were to make the (long) trek back to Maine someday, we would definitely return here, but might try to stay in a cottage for even more privacy. The views from the deck off of the motel rooms (and all cottages) are absolutely stunning. The beds were very comfortable with quality linens. Bathrooms are newly updated, some of the furniture in the room is not, but you're not really looking for anything fancy. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful in making restaurant recommendations (among our local favorites was the Travelin Lobster--lobster delivered to your door! and 2 Cats for breakfast). The location is off of the main, busy road but close enough to downtown Bar Harbor and other destinations on the island. We definitely would recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I guess the most telling thing I can say about the Edgewater is that we have been coming here for two amazing weeks every summer, for twenty years. Another reviewer said it best - it's a "home away from home." We tried other motels near Acadia National Park after we stopped camping, but once we found the Edgewater we were completely hooked.

It's on a beautiful, quiet cove minutes away from the Park and downtown Bar Harbor. You can't believe you're that close to town, it's so peaceful on the cove. We often find it hard to tear ourselves away from the cabin porch to do anything but watch the tides, the lobster boats, and the wildlife. From that porch we've seen harbor seals and porpoises, herons, cormorants, loons, eagles and hummingbirds. Low tide lets you wade out to discover sea stars. The water is Maine cold and the bottom rocky (bring water shoes) but I'll swim there on a hot day.

Now regarding the basics: This is a great value. We've stayed in both the motel suites and the cabins and found all have their charms. David mentioned that he had just renovated the motel suites last winter. Everything, everywhere, is clean and neat as a pin. David and Jayne are always friendly and helpful; they clearly take a lot of pride in this place and it shows. The grounds and flower beds are well-kept and lovely. The whole staff is great. We have never had a problem or request that wasn't addressed immediately. WiFi worked well for us. We rarely eat out any more, preferring to fix meals in the cabin and enjoy the incomparable view of the cove. The Bowdens get a lot of return visitors and everyone seems to know that you keep the noise down to savor the quiet, the sounds of water and gulls and loons.

This is a special place. Our thanks to the Bowdens for sharing it with us all these years.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Address: 137 Old Bar Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bar Harbor, Edgewater Motel and Cottages is an all waterfront property with many treasures. Only 2.5 miles from the entrance to Acadia National Park and just enough outside downtown Bar Harbor, allows easy accessibility to all points on Mount Desert Island. Our waterfront cottages, motel, and suites are all beautifully positioned on our private pebble beach nestled on a cove, offering much quiet and serenity after a long day of activity. Each of the selected accommodations are upscale-casual, warm, and inviting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing