We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for family traditions”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place for family traditions”
Reviewed 20 September 2006

I cannot speak for the motel but the cottages are nicely done. The view is fantastic and at low tide you can go out to the rock and pull in sun starts 8 to 10 inches in diameter. The children (5 and 10) loved that as much as hiking.

Being 10 minutes from the visitor's center to Acadia and 15 from Bar Harbor, it puts you right in the action of the best summer park on the east coast (I have not been to the west so I cannot speak to that), but not the crowds. As an island surrounded by 50 degree water, the mainland was at 98 and humid while I have pictures of the kids wearing fleece jackets in the early morning on the back deck. PERFECT.

With a full kitchen, you can make your own meals and we were in the larger cottage which sleeps six, with a dining room/living room/bedroom combo. It used to be where they unloaded boats for Bar Harbor (the water wheel is still over your head). It is however, a cottage.

Service is top notch. As an example, A "native" critter managed to make it the door. In minutes, the _owners_ were at the cottage, and pulled all the furniture out and did a hard target search. They even pulled all the dishes out and cleaned them again, including the cupboards just in case it _might_ have been there. The owner then stopped by daily just to be sure everything was perfect.

I am a seasoned road warrior and upscale hotels could learn a lesson here - Customer satisfaction is action based, not PR. This is a great family spot for us and we plan to make it an annual destination.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — We stayed in one of the old cottage - our choice - because we liked the location - it is being remodeled this year.
  • Tips/Secrets — Weather changes quick and it is always colder on the island - 20 degrees or more.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurtruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    50
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
168
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

This is the place to stay when you want to be away from the crowds but not totally secluded. The cottages are clean and well managed. Some coittages are a mere few feet from the water, offering such tranquil views of the cove that it was tempting to stay put and enjoy the peaceful setting! While the cottages are situated close to one another, it was still exceptionally quiet during our five-nght visit. We stayed in cottage #2 which had two bedrooms, a cozy living room area, full kitchen, and a surprisingly large full bathroom. It was spacious for two people but a nice splurge.

While a car is needed if you intend to explore at your own pace, the Island Explorer--which operates through Columbus Day-- is a good transportation alternative. Edgewater is conveniently situated off Route 3--just walk back up to the road, stand on the corner and flag the bus as it approaches; then it's a mere 10-15 minute ride right into Bar Harbor.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Edgewater and intend a return visit--the owners are friendly and helpful, but not overbearing. If you are looking for a quiet location and clean and cozy accommodations then Edgewater is a good alternative. Oh, they have motel rooms and apartments too!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — storage space
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GirlInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

Bar Harbor is really busy. If you like this hub-bub, you will probably like to pay a bit more and stay in one of the hotels in town. But if you are looking for a bit more peace and quiet, the Edgewater is a nice, affordable choice. The Edgewater cabins (we stayed in #7 last year and #5 this year) are clean and are right on the water with a lovely view of a little cove. We have seen loons, watched lobstermen pick up traps, etc right from our front deck. It is also possible to bring your own kayaks and launch right at the cottages. The tidepools at the private beach are also fun. The cabins are small (#7 is REALLY small), but are comfortable and the price is pretty good (we paid $116 in August).

There aren't any restaurants within walking distance from the Edgewater, so you need to drive if you want to go to restaurants.

One thing that is a bit strange, but ok is that they want the reservation deposit sent as a check, but then you can pay for the rest of your bill with a credit card. Not a problem, but surprising and good to know ahead of time. (When they didn't take a credit card for the deposit, I originally assumed they wouldn't take one for the rest of the bill too.)

I wouldn't stay at the Edgewater for a week (there are other more private cottages on the island that are better for that, but they only reserve by the week and the Edgewater allows nightly stays). But it is very nice for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank D-Phud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2005

This is a great find just minutes from Bar Harbor. Stayed in the Seaview apartment. This is a good size apartment with two bedrooms, a beautiful deck, and a nice kitchen, dining room and liiving area. It was very clean, perfect for our little boy to crawl around in...particularly given the rain outside. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed a stunning sunset looking out at the bay. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Fl.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2004

Just returned home from nine days in cottage #10. It was wonderful, and I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for peace and quiet. The property is just off Rt.3 yet we heard no traffic noise at all. Edgewater is only minutes from busy Bar Harbor and Acadia Nat'l Park. The cottages and grounds are very well kept, and the staff is very accomodating.
After a busy day of hiking in the park, or just playing tourist, if the thought of sitting on your deck listening to loons, while watching it get dark sounds boring. Or if waking up to the sounds of gulls and lobster boats getting underway bothers you, then Edgewater might not be the perfect place for you. We however had a tough time leaving, and we WILL be back!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HawkeyeII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 July 2004

We stayed in one of the motel rooms, which was clean enough but not entirely bug free (although that is hard to do in Maine this time of year so close to the water). However the biggest problem was the phone service - you cannot make or get any incoming calls to your room! For us this was a big problem, as we were meeting more of our party later and could not easily communicate. If you're looking for a cottage food may not be as much of a problem, but since we were in a motel room, there's no easy places to eat nearby and we had to go back to Bar Harbor for meals (past the park) if we wanted breakfast before hiking, or to buy a picnic lunch. Personally, I would pay a bit extra and stay in town next time.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2004

this place was great ! Can not wait to get back, you are right on the water, and everything is really close. Its a very down to earth cottage and lots of privacy.

Helpful?
5 Thank ana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
5.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
4.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel & Cottages

Property: Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Address: 137 Old Bar Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bar Harbor, Edgewater Motel and Cottages is an all waterfront property with many treasures. Only 2.5 miles from the entrance to Acadia National Park and just enough outside downtown Bar Harbor, allows easy accessibility to all points on Mount Desert Island. Our waterfront cottages, motel, and suites are all beautifully positioned on our private pebble beach nestled on a cove, offering much quiet and serenity after a long day of activity. Each of the selected accommodations are upscale-casual, warm, and inviting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing