We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Atlantean Cottage is a beautifully restored historic home. We stayed in Wingwood which is the only first floor room. We found the room to be quiet and private. The room was large and tastefully decorated with quality antiques and tasteful modern pieces. We enjoyed the gas fireplace and the private entrance and porch. The bathroom was very large and modern. Breakfast and the afternoon snacks were delicious. Gary and Heidi were perfect hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable. Atlantean has a great location being within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CmarieM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Atlantean. So often motel/hotel/bed and breakfast rooms are not maintained. Furniture is slightly broken, windows are ajar, etc. But our room in the Atlantean was perfectly maintained - as was the entire building. It's easy to see that the owners take special pride in their property. Heidi and Gary told us they stay open only in the Summer and Fall. It was easy to see that they spend a lot of time on the Atlantean when it is now open keeping it up and constantly improving it.

It is also easy to see that Heidi takes special pride in the breakfast she prepares. They are not only delicious, but unique as well.

The location couldn't be much better - on a quiet street just a few blocks from the busy center of Bar Harbor. We walked to the two restaurants where we had dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElDiente2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I rarely rate any inn or hotel with all excellents, and am generally a little skeptical of ones that get many 'rave reviews', but the Atlantean is simply outstanding! I can only echo the comments that others have made. Everything about the Inn and the innkeepers is nearly perfect. They seem to have thought of everything, even toothbrush holders in the bathrooms.

We stayed here two nights. We had booked the Elsinore room that is the smallest and least expensive of the rooms, but it worked great for us. Breakfasts were delicious and dinner recommendations were exactly what we wanted. It's so close to town that we never took our car out of the parking lot except when we drove to Acadia Park.

Thank you Gary and Heidi, we had a wonderful time here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at the Atlantean Cottage for 2 nights during our vacation to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Gary and Heidi were wonderful hosts and their hospitality really highlighted the wonderful perks to staying at a B&B; From great recommendations for restaurants and activities to having maps and audio guides to loan, they really go the extra step to make their guests feel welcome. The Atlantean also has a wonderful location, walking distance to downtown without being in a loud or crowded area. We would definitely recommend this B&B and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just finished our third stay at the Atlantean Cottage. This is our favorite B&B anywhere. Great hosts, impeccably clean, spacious rooms, and wonderful breakfasts. We would not stay anywhere else. Off street parking is also a big plus. Cottage is within easy walking distance to main areas of Bar Harbor.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Soglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at Atlantean Cottage (Wingwood) for 6 nights - late August '13. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating, without being overbearing. Their B&B is extremely clean and comfortable with a great location on quiet side street near all in Bar Harbor. Price is within the range of other high-end B&B's in area. Would definitely consider a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This bed and breakfast was so charming! The innkeepers, Gary and Heidi own the house and they know the area well. The room on the main level was perfect. It had its own porch and a gorgeous modern bathroom was my favorite. The room have flat screen TVs and the most comfy bed ever! They are very environmentally aware and nature lovers. The inn was right in the center of things and Bar Harbor was perfectly quaint-yet updated. I am 43 years old. We went on vacation with another couple in mid August. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieZamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
1 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#21 of 30 in Bar Harbor
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Address: 11 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £97 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing