We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable elegance coupled with warm hospitality punctuated w/perfect location.”
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Ranked #16 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We were visiting Bar Harbor in celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary & i cannot think of a better romantic place to have stayed. The Atlantean is a treasure. The lush, meticulous landscaping greets you first and reminds you to breathe deeply. Next you are greeted by the gracious innkeepers whose demeanor continue to encourage relaxation and remind you that this is your vacation and they are here to meet your needs. I think I heard them say, "whatever pleases you", more than one time. The breakfasts are lovely. They are comprised of local everything; blueberries, cheese, coffee etc. This is a neat & unique aspect of this Inn. It is all local, truly Maine flavor. One heads up, this is a vegetarian chef who serves vegetarian delicacies. You will need to satisfy that meat craving at lunch or dinner. Enjoy your stay rain or shine. My husband and I enjoyed a rainy night ready fireside in the fine living room. Enjoying Heidi's cookies and tea. Final FYI, these Innkeepers are "in the know". They can answer almost any question regarding Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Atlantean Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

The Atlantean is a beautifully appointed home, antique-filled, bright and very well-maintained. Public spaces and the dining room are inviting and comfortable. The grounds are filled with flowers...there are benches to sit in the yard. Our room was spacious and light-filled - and conducive to romance...a look into the other rooms showed similar attention to detail and quality. The inn is on a shady, quiet street, a half block from the main thoroughfare, an easy ten-minute stroll to the harbor - a perfect location for staying in-town or heading for Acadia Park or The Cat ferry. Owners Heidi and Gary provided excellent dining recommendations and offered the right personal touch. Breakfasts were tasty: fruit-filled french toast, home-made maple yogurt...all vegetarian...but don't let that put you off...this carnivore found the breakfasts to be hearty and satisfying.
My wife and I travel extensively, staying almost exclusively in B & Bs around the country...the Atlantean certainly ranks in the top 10% of those we have stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmh1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Couldn't wait to tell our friends how lucky we were to find the Atlantean. They know how much I research vacations and this inn greatly exceeded our expectations.

We came downstairs every morning to a unique breakfast. My husband isn't a vegetarian but even he couldn't wait for the delicious meals.

My only complaint (other than not staying long enough) was that it rained a lot during our 4 day stay. Fortunately, Heidi and Gary, the innkeepers, had some clever ideas about what to do on those days. Their local knowledge introduced us to a place called “Reel Pizza” ( a 5 minute walk), the farmer's market (also 5 minutes) and McKay's restaurant (3 minutes – Heidi made a reservation for us). They told us how to get to the cave along the ocean which isn't even mentioned in the Park information. They recommended renting bikes and using the free Park buses to get to the carriage trails easily with the bikes. We loved the Jordan Pond restaurant overlooking the lake.

We already decided to come back next year to the Atlantean Inn because we loved the modern conveniences in this beautiful historic home – plush linens, cool bathroom. I loved the butler's pantry always stocked with fresh homemade cookies, coffee, etc. My husband loved the large living room and huge selection of books including those of local significance. (So nice to have a great house and garden, too, to wait in while the wife gets ready for dinner!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyNDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Our 2-night stay at the Atlantean was pure bliss. The inn is gorgeous from top to bottom (including the gardens and patio area). We stayed in the Rosserne suite and peeked into many rooms, each one more beautiful than the next. The location of the Atlantean was great -- just around the corner from the heart of downtown, but quiet and peaceful. There was plenty of parking behind the inn, so we were able to park our car and not have to worry about moving it around town. The breakfasts were very nice; we are not vegetarians but the meat-free dishes were creative, delicious, and satisfying. Heidi and Gary are warm and charming hosts. We were thrilled with our choice of the Atlantean on every level.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrappy_Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed in 3 different rooms on our honeymoon last week..the innkeepers were so friendly and helpful. They moved our things into our new rooms each day. The rooms were so clean and beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JuliaC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We stayed one night at the Atlantean Inn while we were in Bar Harbor visiting friends. We arrived later in the evening and they were ready for us upon arrival and escorted us directly to our room.

It was a brief stay but there were many things that would make me consider staying there again:

The butler's pantry was stocked with bottled water, microwave popcorn, a mini-fridge for guests' use, and other snacky snacks. Very nice amenity - especially the bottled water!

The innkeepers - Gary & Heidi - were very sweet and helpful.

The room was fantastic for the rate we paid - we were in the Baymeath. The fireplace - such a perk - was so nice on a cool night. The whole inn was decorated and maintained very historically. I really felt like we had drifted back in time.

The location in Bar Harbor can't be beat. It's off the main drag - so it's quieter. But it's such a quick walk to all the fabulous shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was great!

Compared with other hotels in the Bar Harbor area, this place is a MAJOR bargain and easily just as nice. Plus you get a quieter space, away from the crowds. Great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpatKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Atlantean. The location was great - on a quiet street right near the center of Bar Harbor. Our room was romantic - with wood floors, a fire place and queen estate bed with wooden headboard. Heidi and Gary were very friendly and made us feel at home. They served yummy cookies in the late afternoon. The breakfast was delicious. The next time we go to Bar Harbor we are going to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shemoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
0.4 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#11 of 30 in Bar Harbor
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Address: 11 Atlantic Ave, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1703
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £96 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing