We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, adequate, clean, would stay again”
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice, adequate, clean, would stay again”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband was on a business trip and we tagged along on vacation. We are repeat visitors to Bar Harbor so we weren't doing the "tourist" trip...we were fine with a regular hotel experience. The staff at Wonder View were all extremely helpful and friendly whenever we needed something. Many of them were young Europeans enjoying an experience working and traveling in America, and we enjoyed talking to them about their different countries. The restaurant on the top of the property is lovely and has delicious food, but we didn't feel the prices were merited, as the rest of the property is a bit dated...e.g., they actually use real keys, not key cards. However, it is very clean and well kept. Even though our bathroom had fixtures/windows from the 1970s, the carpets and bedding were all new. We were fortunate to have a room in one of the higher buildings with a perfect view of the harbor, but lower buildings on the property have no view at all...be aware when booking (not that the view matters when the fog rolls in...make sure you have other goals than scenic vistas when visiting Maine). We loved that the Wonder View is a stop on the Eden Street free shuttle route...very conveniently stops at the lobby, although Wonder View is actually close enough to walk to town. The pool was perfectly warm and clean, although the depth is marked as 3 feet instead of 6 feet in one place, oddly. Maybe it's one of those historic secrets. No microwave in the room, but fridge was pretty large. Beds were big and comfy, and plenty of extra pillows/blankets. For the price, considering the place is a bit dated, we would have appreciated more than just coffee in the lobby, e.g. a small breakfast spread or 4 p.m. wine and cheese as some other places do. Overall, we would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbor, make sure to ask for it. Not all rooms have a view now that the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn. The fact that you would stay again is the true "bottom line". I really appreciate the comments regarding our young staff and the food at the restaurant and will certainly pass these along. The hotel is dated but we are in a continuous upgrade and renovation phase as you pointed out with the new carpeting in almost all the rooms. The location near the complimentary bus line, the proximity to downtown and Acadia National Park as you discussed are all positive attributes of the property. When your future plans bring you back to the area, we do hope you stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    137
    85
    56
    22
See reviews for
109
182
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The desk clerk admitted this was their 2nd tier of lodging. The outside doesn't look like much. Large picture window in room overlooking their courtyard. Nothing special but clean. Overpriced. Courtesy bus service to downtown was nice. Breakfast was not included.
staff was helpful with recommendations for food & drink in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn. I will certainly pass along your comment regarding the staff helping with recommendations. The complimentary bus service as you pointed out is a great asset for the property. Our housekeeping department was also very pleased that you alluded to the fact the rooms were very clean. We do hope when your travel plans bring you back to the area you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, ME
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for three nights with our two daughters, 15 & 20 yrs old, had two rooms and were all comfortable. Close to downtown, friendly staff, clean rooms. We were able to use the amenities at the Bluenose...beautiful indoor/outdoor pools, hot tub and exercise room. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn. The proximity to the town and the amenities of the Bluenose are certainly of extreme value to the property. I will certainly pass along your comment about the clean rooms and friendly staff. Hopefully when you travel to this area again from Manchester,Maine you will stay with us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is not an upscale hotel/inn by any means, but the views and location are great. Felt like it was kind of far in away in the country -- and is definitely more of a hotel than a bed & breakfast. Yes, the rooms are a little dated... but who cares.. you're in Bar Harbor next to one of the world class National parks!! This was a random trip we took and were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russianme917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Wonder View Inn. You are correct that it is not an upscale hotel but one that is clean and comfortable and very close to town, Acadia National Park and adjacent to the Looking Glass restaurant and Bluenose Inn. The rooms are indeed dated but offer great value in a superior location. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This place allows dogs which is awesome. And the room was big, friendly service and private. The views were amazing! And very close to the main part of the town. My friend and I truly enjoyed our experience and my dog loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeoffire33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding your recent visit to the Wonder View Inn. Glad to hear that your dog loved it as well. We pride ourselves in being pet friendly and our restaurant, the Looking Glass, offers pet dining for breakfast and dinner on the deck.
The setting is, as you pointed out,comfortable and very close to the town and Acadia National Park. When your travels bring you back to the area, we sincerely hope that you will be staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Yes, the view was nice. Yes, the check-in ladies were helpful. However, although we paid top dollar for a room with a view, the room itself was very dated in furnishings and decor. The balcony needed painting badly and the plastic chairs outside were very cheap. We stayed in several hotels and inns during our vacation in our Maine, and the Wonder View was our most disappointing - although we paid just as much (if not more) for our room there. Plus, it's a good walk to downtown Bar Harbor. However, on a positive, if you are traveling with your family, the room was very large.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Wonder View Inn. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the midst of renovating the rooms. In fact most of the rooms have new carpeting, the roof is new and we will continue the program in subsequent seasons. Regarding the painting issues, unfortunately we had planned on a major exterior paint program in the spring but as I am sure you heard that it rained almost the entire month of June this season. No excuses, simply an explanation. We will embark on the program however when the weather permits. I do hope that when your future plans include the Bar Harbor area that you will give us another try.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Grantham, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

if you need a clean,safe, friendly place to stay where it feels more like home than a hotel, this is the place..........Clarice, Courtney, Mimi and the staff work hard to make you comfortable. This has been our family's for nine consecutive years and have been known to visit several times a season ALWAYS at the Wonderview. LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Oh and did I mention how easily accessible downtown Bar Harbor is from wonderview??? walking distance or if you prefer, take the bus that stops at the front office every 20 minutes or so in July and August....

We have stayed in other places in Bar Harbor, both hotel and B&B and for us WonderView is our favorite..................

Room Tip: The Wonderview has beuatiful views from most if not all rooms (hence the name) ask when making reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I will certainly pass them along to Clarice, Courtney, Mimi and the rest of the staff. We are indeed quite honored by the fact that this has been the venue for 9 years for your family gathering. As pointed out, our location to the town and Acadia National Park are one of the top features of the property and we do offer complimentary bus service right in front of the hotel lobby to the entire island. We truly appreciate your continued support and look forward to seeing you again next year. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Property: Wonder View Inn
Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing