We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view upon request”
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Despite the name, not all of the rooms have a wonderful view. Our room was just a few doors down from the office and our view was of the grassy couryard bordered by tree tops. Not a bad view but certainly not wonderful. The room was clean and spacious but dated. For the price it was a good value. The Island bus stops right in the parking lot, so that was extremely convenient. The view from the restraunt was fantastic, so we were content with that since they are open early for breakfast and late for drinks. It's a pet friendly hotel, which is why we chose it. Convenient location to Bar Harbor (you can walk if you REALLY want to) and Cadillac Mountain. There are rooms with a view of the Harbor, but you need to request that when you make your reservation. All in all, it was a good place to stay and if we find ourselves on the island again we we'll stay at the Wonder View Inn.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper levels have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcm2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I am glad to hear that you found the value to be there. The location is superior and access to points on the island are provided by a free shuttle bus. We are in the midst of a major multi year renovation program and have just recently installed new carpet in most all the rooms, WIFI is now available throughout, roofs have been replaced, landscaping enhanced, etc. We do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Maine, you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Found this by chance.
Room was large, and clean, but dated. It had old paneling up that had been painted over, and new (but poorly installed) panels in the bathroom tub area.
There are small, individual, balconies outside of each room, and at least the room we had, with a great view of the bay.
While the room was dated, I would stay there again, it's only about a mile to town, and close to the park entrance.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a better view, but only the lower rooms are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooddog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. Your statement that you would stay here again is very rewarding. As pointed out despite the fact that is an older property, it is very close to town and Acadia National Park and the view of many of the rooms are indeed great.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I felt like I was a child again vacationing with my parents. A little bit quaint but mostly just plain worn down. The location wasn't bad because the free shuttle did pick us up to take us to town. Town is within walking distance if you aren't afraid of getting hit by a car. Overall I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatlocal-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. While the hotel is indeed from the 60's the location of being within walking distance to the town and very close to Acadia National Park and offering complimentary shuttle bus service throughout the island still makes it a logical choice for many. We are in the throes of renovating the rooms and hope that you do come back in the future to see the changes.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed for 2 days August this year on our trip round New England.
The name of the hotel does not quite match the view from the room because of the trees but could understand why it has that name.
The staff were really helpful on all occasions and like all the locals were very polite.
The rooms all have balconies which give a vista of the grounds. The rooms are spacious,clean and well presented.
The only thing was that I am a smoker and if I needed to smoke had to walk a distance but don't let that put you off its a small price to pay to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobski0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We are very pleased that you found the rooms spacious, clean and well presented. I will certainly pass along your remarks about the helpful staff. Sorry you had to walk quite a distance to smoke but we are a non smoking facility.
We hope to see you again in the future and truly appreciate your business.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Older hotel (stayed here 35 years ago) but very well maintained. Most rooms have outside patio's, which were wonderful in the late afternoon. Near the top of a wooded hill, and every evening, deer, rabitts, etc., came down the hill and walked around very close to the building. Pet friendly for those traveling with their own critters. In season pricing is higher than I would have thought, but everything in Bar Harbor is pricy in the summer. Used the offered coupon at the restaurant just up the hill from our room. Really good food, breakfast and diner, and beautiful view. Plan to go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building just down hill from the restaurant offer the best views from the patio's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the property. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the nature with so many animals living near the property and the fact that many of our rooms are pet friendly. I am very pleased you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner at our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again. Your comment of "plan to go back again" is very rewarding.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Unforgettable views of the Bay from your private balcony if you spring for the Hillcrest building. It's worth the extra $30. Size of rooms in this building are huge ($239 in high season). You can do handsprings down the middle of the floor. Other rooms are far smaller ($199 and less).

Rooms are spotless but decor dates back to the late 1980s when flowered wallpaper and mauve were big. That said, if the owners renovate, you'll be looking at $400 per night like their sister property The Bluenose next door so get it while you can.

We skipped the Wonder View's restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and looking at their astronomical prices. ($36 for grilled halibut dinner) You are paying for the view and we had it off the balcony.

A few drawbacks -- construction of a new hotel is going on close by. The 8 a.m. jackhammer and backhoe woke us up. Not the Wonder View's fault but still a drag. Also, we were on the first floor and could hear what seemed like all of the plumbing in the building. We were so tired after a glorious days of hiking and biking at Acadia, we didn't much care.

We enjoyed the location and the lovely 7-minute walk into the heart of Bar Harbor. If you are out of shape and can't take the walk back up the hill, catch the free bus on the Village Green. There is also a chance at some 2-hour free parking in Bar Harbor but don't count on it in high season.

Wonder View staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the Eden Spa at the sister property Bluenose failed to impress. We sought chair massages and were told the massage chair was broken and they hadn't taken the offering off the spa menu yet. Fail.

Heated pool at Wonder View is nice, but a hike down the hill from Hillcrest. Landscape at pool also needed some TLC.

Despite the few drawbacks, Wonder View offers a lovely base to explore the area at an ok price in a notoriously expensive area. Dog friendly rooms available, too.

Room Tip: Spring for the Hillcrest building rooms. Ask for a top floor (second-floor) room to avoid hearing fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reportergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. First of all, I deeply apologize for the construction noise from a nearby hotel. This is not affiliated with our company and the town allows construction to commence at 7 a.m. While the décor of our rooms is old, I am very pleased that you found the size and cleanliness of the room to be excellent.
Sorry to hear that you could not have a chair massage at the spa; this is being corrected but unfortunately has taken way too long. Glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful at the Wonder View.
We are working to correct the deficiencies you pointed out and as stated, the property offers a great location, is pet friendly and offers a price point in keeping with the Bar Harbor region.
We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Kind of expensive for the size, but we were "in season" so I guess that accounts for the cost of the room. Small room but very nicely maintained, very clean, great views from the back-porch veranda of Bar Harbor and the bay below. Staff very nice and helpful. Discount offered for the restaurant just a one-minute walk up the hill behind the inn, which was very good indeed, with a fire pit where we met and talked with fellow travelers until closing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNealsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. Glad to hear that you found the room well maintained, very clean and that it offered great views. I am pleased that you also enjoyed our restaurant and fire pit. Great way to meet other guests and enjoy the spectacular views as you pointed out. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £106 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing