We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we were expecting”
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Quebec
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

First time in Bar Harbor, we based ourselves at this location. If you plan to arrive late, the front desk closes at 9:00pm
We were kind of lucky, as we got there just a few mins before closure, otherwise, you need to checkin at another hotel close by. Being unfamiliar with the area and being dark, it would have been very inconvenient.
The walls of the room are in cardboard, so I hope your neighbors are quiet as you are.
Being on the top of a hill, you feel a bit apart of the actual Bar Harbor.
Rest is pretty much what you would expect, no big surprises.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammifere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding check in. I do hope that you found the check in process to be satisfactory however.
While we are a little away from town and I certainly understand your feelings, many of our guests have considered this a benefit as we are close yet away from the noise and crowds.
I do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will once again consider staying with us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    128
    80
    53
    22
See reviews for
100
167
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, NH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed two nights in the Hillcrest Building which is located at the very top of the property next to the Looking Glass Restaurant. These rooms must have been recently revamped as they were very clean, spacious (actually huge) with fabulous views of Bar Harbor and Frenchmen's Bay. Another member of the party stayed in another building further down the hill and had no view whatsoever. My heat worked fine and always had plenty of tea and coffee in room. Don't know about the pool situation stated by previous reviewers as my stay here late Sept. was quite cool and cloudy. The main problem with the Hillcrest Building is that it is two stories without an elevator. This was no concern to me being on the second floor but might present difficulty for people who cannot climb stairs. It is also located pretty far up from the main building so you either have to walk down and up the hill again or drive down to catch the free Island Explorer shuttle that leaves from the front of the main building. My package included a full hot breakfast at the Looking Glass restaurant that was right next door thankfully. The restaurant has the same excellent views. The breakfast choices and quality was great but the service was somewhat on the slow side. The restaurant opens at 7 am and there were many people coming at that time.. My guess is the room and the views greatly depends on which building you choose.

Room Tip: White Hillcrest Building (next to Looking Glass Restaurant) Second level 67-71 if you don't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. You are correct that the views do vary sharply from building to building as of course do the rates. I am glad you enjoyed the views from your room as well as the restaurant. I apologize for the somewhat slow service for breakfast but happy you enjoyed the meal.
I hope that when your travel plans bring you back to the area from New Hampshire you will once again consider us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great views and great service, the hotel/Inn just needs a re vamp.. everything is a bit old and tired.
Positive points - good location, can walk to Bar Harbor (20 mins), car parking.
Negative - closed pool, cold rooms, dated rooms, poor restocking of the tea/coffee in room

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. As you pointed out the location of the property where one can walk to town and be so close to the national park is certainly beneficial to our guests. Plus we have a free shuttle bus that takes our guests all over the island. As you pointed out the property is quite old and we are in the throes of a major multi year renovation program. We have replaced the carpeting in most of the units, added WIFI though out, replaced several roofs but clearly realize we have quite a bit more to do.
Regarding the pool, we follow the traditional American summer season of Memorial Day in May to the first Monday in September, Labor Day to operate the pool. You should have been told that the Bluenose pool adjacent to the property was available for your use. I sincerely apologize for this miscommunication as well as the poor restocking of the coffee/tea in your room. We do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Maine, you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Set in the hills of Bar Harbor with scenic views over Frenchmans Bay.

Dated, prefab rooms with thin walls - I mean thin in the sense you can hear neighbour using the loo and hear other noises very clearly! Needs a good update and a lick of paint.

Minimal security of the doors - one lock, with no secondary dead lock.

There is an attached restaurant which is open to the public, reservations are required although menu seems expensive.

Big comfy beds and staff on front desk was friendly.

Pool was drained and dirty.

Brown water came from hot tap for a good 10 mins when used.

Over all, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I am extremely disappointed in your findings. We are in the midst of a major renovation program and have replaced carpet in almost all the units, installed WIFI, replaced roofs but realize much more still needs to be done including as you pointed out, more painting which is planned for next spring. We hope that when you return to Maine, you will at least consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

There is no view, the room is so dated, bathroom so small and grubby. The small decking is in some need of care and the trees are so overgrown the is no view from the room. The so call pool was drained down so overall this is over priced and disappointing. Free shuttle service was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. The pool closes traditionally the first Monday of September (Labor Day) but you should have told you would have access to the pool of the adjacent property, the Bluenose Inn. The decking indeed is in need of some work. We started the program this past spring and will continue to do so in the future. Some of the units have indeed lost their view to the trees but they are not on our property so unfortunately nothing can be done. We are glad that you enjoyed the free shuttle. We do hope that when your travel brings you back to New England, you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Despite the name, not all of the rooms have a wonderful view. Our room was just a few doors down from the office and our view was of the grassy couryard bordered by tree tops. Not a bad view but certainly not wonderful. The room was clean and spacious but dated. For the price it was a good value. The Island bus stops right in the parking lot, so that was extremely convenient. The view from the restraunt was fantastic, so we were content with that since they are open early for breakfast and late for drinks. It's a pet friendly hotel, which is why we chose it. Convenient location to Bar Harbor (you can walk if you REALLY want to) and Cadillac Mountain. There are rooms with a view of the Harbor, but you need to request that when you make your reservation. All in all, it was a good place to stay and if we find ourselves on the island again we we'll stay at the Wonder View Inn.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper levels have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcm2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I am glad to hear that you found the value to be there. The location is superior and access to points on the island are provided by a free shuttle bus. We are in the midst of a major multi year renovation program and have just recently installed new carpet in most all the rooms, WIFI is now available throughout, roofs have been replaced, landscaping enhanced, etc. We do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Maine, you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Found this by chance.
Room was large, and clean, but dated. It had old paneling up that had been painted over, and new (but poorly installed) panels in the bathroom tub area.
There are small, individual, balconies outside of each room, and at least the room we had, with a great view of the bay.
While the room was dated, I would stay there again, it's only about a mile to town, and close to the park entrance.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a better view, but only the lower rooms are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooddog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. Your statement that you would stay here again is very rewarding. As pointed out despite the fact that is an older property, it is very close to town and Acadia National Park and the view of many of the rooms are indeed great.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#36 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Property: Wonder View Inn
Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing