We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged rate not equalling delivered service”
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Motel style inn, we had a mostly clean room (bedsheet had a small stain, nothing dramatic but...). Room size ok but insulation bad - heater was well adjustable, room cooled out quickly after heating. Soundproofing very bad, we were kept awake by snoring guy in adjacent room and could hear other guests talking in their rooms. Interior rather dated but did the job. No coffee maker, ironing board, hair dryer or wifi in room let quite a few things to be desired. Front desk told us free coffee would be served throughout the day in the unmanned lobby, which was true for one occasion. Every other time we felt an itch for a coffee, the dispensers were empty so we had to walk over to the Bluenose hotel. Internet console in lobby didn't work two days out of four we stayed with the Wonder View.
The views out of the room are very nice but the room and services left quite something to be desired - compared to what we've paid. One more thing to the Looking Glass restaurant also belonging to the Wonder View Inn: stunning views, absolutely magnificent! If only their service (unattentive and slow) and quality of dishes (were there for breakfast) would be up to par with views and prices asked. If you want great service and great food go to Jeannies in downtown Bar Harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTH_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife and I just got back from our first anniversary spent in bar harbor. It was the first time I had been there and I thought the town was great. The worst part of the whole trip was staying at the Wonder View Inn. I have never written a review before, I consider myself an easy going guy, but this warrants a comment. The room was tiny and outdated, the bathroom small...for $130. We could hear the next rooms TV through the wall and even heard snoring. There was hot water but to get it hot in the shower the knob had to go so far to the left the water came out as a trickle. We asked the staff to look into it, the water didn't get fixed nor did we get a message that they had even looked at it. The first night we wanted a romanic dinner so we ate at "The Looking Glass" the restaurant there. We don't mind paying good money for a good meal and ambiance but we got neither. The food was average at best, we were seated in the lounge and to top it off my wife got sick later that night. Finally, there was wedding on Saturday night with loud music and people just outside our room. If they told us there was going to be a wedding at the "motel" we probably would have found other arrangements. They are dog friendly (as is most of Bar Harbor) and the linens were clean. Unfortunately The Wonder View put a damper on our Bar Harbor weekend. We will be back to Bar Harbor but staying far away from The Wonder View.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lagenomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We had two rooms for myself, my wife and two 13-year-olds. The room was clean, but desperately needs a fresh coat of paint. One room had a great view of a bunch of trees right in front of the hotel. The bay was on the other side of the trees, out of view. The other room had a view of a meadow -- no view of the bay. There was a wedding at the restaurant that was EXTREMELY loud. Even when the wedding was over, we could hear every little noise outside -- the cars, people walking, etc.

We checked in with our service dog (who is clearly tagged) and the clerk tried to charge us a pet fee. When we pointed out that it is a service dog, she had no idea what to do. Check out time is 11am, and we were all packed up and loading the car at 11:15. Someone (not the maid, some other employee) chastised my daughter that she was supposed to be out of the room 15 minutes ago. In my mind, that's not an appropriate way to talk to a 13-year-old -- or to any guest!

On the plus side, the Island Explorer does stop right at the hotel, and the pool was clean. But no life guard. Given how many hotels there are within five minutes of Bar Harbor, I would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCWWPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for 5 days with our 2 teenage children. The staff was very freindlyand very helpful. The view from our room was spectactular. The room was clean and comfortable; it included a small fridge and coffemaker. The free shuttle bus took us from the lobby to the town square, so we did not have to look for parking... perfect! I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrippers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We were greeted by friendly and cheerful staff at the front desk who promptly got us checked in and gave us our keys. Our Hillcrest room was clean and neat, the bathroom likewise. True, the decor is from an older era. For example, the bed mattresses are "normal", that is, they're not the more modern foam, form-fitting mattresses that we find difficult to sleep on. And there are "regular" tube TVs, not flat screens. However, when you have such great views such as out the windows of Hillcrest, you do not need television. The room also has a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. They have wi-fi available in the main office along with coffee and chairs, so you can catch up on your email with your laptop. They also have a free computer terminal available as well. We have not been to the adjacent parent hotel so cannot comment, nor have we been in their swimming pool. The grounds of the compound are pretty. The free bus picks up just outside the main office and drops folks off at the main plaza in town using a regular schedule. Some of the things we like about Wonderview is their restaurant for breakfasts. We are early-risers and like the scenic view out the windows in the mornings with the sun rising. We also like the location: we can walk into town, good exercise going and coming back home, or we can take the free bus. If we do drive, then it's a good idea to get into town early to find parking. We especially like the location because we like to jog and walk, so all we have to do is jog out the back of Hillcrest and jog toward the nearby Arcadia National Park with all its roads and carriage trails to walk and jog along. We really love the views of Frenchman's Bay from Wonderview; the views are worth the premium rate. We're going back this summer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This hotel was awful. It reminded me of every motel scene I've ever seen in a horror movie. It hasn't been updated in 50 years. The view is not that great. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms even smaller. Our floor was covered in leaves & pine needles. The moulding on the window was cracked to the point it was completely open for bugs to enter. The bedspread was stained. After being in the room for 10 minutes, my husband and I went and found another hotel and ate the funds we had already paid out for this one. It was awful!! Don't stay here!! Wwe typically stay in 3 star hotels and are quite happy. This hotel will haunt me!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbgerman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

If you're visiting Acadia/Bar Harbor, this is the place to stay. We stayed in Rm 71, an end room, in the Hillcrest building and couldn't believe the sweeping view of Bar Harbor. It's almost as good as any we saw in nearby Acadia Natilnal Park. The room was very spacious for motel type room and had all the amenities we could ask for, including chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. The staff was very accommodating and friendly too.

The Inn is located on a hill outside of Bar Harbor, but it's only an easy 5 minute ride into town where there are plenty of restaurants. There's a restaurant, The Looking Glass, right there at the Inn with great views similar to the ones from our room. The food was good and not outrageous considering the setting.

The only negative was the loud TV from the couple below us. There isn't much noise insulation between the two levels. We couldn't dial the room directly (a strange deficiency at this place), so had to have the front desk call them.

Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Address: 50 Eden St, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1446
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £110 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing