We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome cottage stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome cottage stay!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We (a group of 6), visited Maine during the last long weekend & stayed at this cottage near Bar Harbour. It was an amazing experience as our cottage was just adjacent to a pond with an amazing backdrop of greenery. The cottage was sufficient for the 6 of us, beds neatly made (2 bedrooms), one bathroom (no bathtub, but only a shower since the area is small), kitchen with fridge, burner, and necessary utensils. Also there were 2 TVs, one in the hall and another in a bedroom. We enjoyed the misty morning walks around the pond, seeing the ducks & enjoyed the cool breeze. Also the location is very accessible to all the major attractions like Acadia National Park, Bar Harbour, Acadia Air Tours airport, etc. Overall this place is a wonderful choice for a vacation in Maine! Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sdj512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We enjoyed having you all here with us! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Our largest cottage is certainly one of the popular ones due to its size. We hope you will visit us again soon and we truly appreciate your review! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    184
    50
    8
    9
See reviews for
200
221
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We rented a cottage for a week here and had a fantastic experience. The cottages were comfortable and relaxing. The screened in porch area was perfect for breakfast and sitting out in the evening.

However, what really makes this place outstanding is how friendly the owner and staff were, and how helpful. They really made our stay in Bar Harbor great, thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulFree2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We love what we do and love where we live and are happy we could share that with you! Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We rented two of the cute Sears cottages on the right side of the property. The outside of the cottages have a lot of character and are a nice departure from a hotel or motel room at the same price. The property is a nice distance out of downtown Bar Harbor, but easy to miss the driveway especially at night. It is certainly not a luxury cottage, but overall clean and looks like the owners keep on making updates. Our cottage had a new bathroom sink and and updated bathroom, but the porch and kitchen area was very old. Towels were a nice thickness and quality which I appreciated. The second cottage we rented had a really nice porch where we ate breakfast. I think this is a good place to stay if you want a step up from camping and it is certainly a good value for those on a budget. Each cottage has a picnic table and grill which we didn't get to use but is nice to have. Most cottages have a bed in the front room and it would be more convenient to keep the beds in the back room and have the couch and futons in the front room. I didn't like opening the front door and having the bed right in front of me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for the review! We are trying to make updates each year with help from folks like you. We take all of the feedback we get into consideration which in turn helps us make the needed updates. We truly appreciate the reviews we receive and glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here with my 8 year old daughter and we both loved it. My daughter loved the paddle boats and the ducks and the playground! The bed was very comfortable and the cottage was extremely clean as were the grounds. The owner made some great recommendations for things to do in Bar Harbor. We had an issue with the shower and it was fixed within 10 minutes. Overall this was a great experience and we will definitely stay there again next year. Absolutely phenomenal value for the price and location. Thanks for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 2 and 3 and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We loved having you both here and look forward to your stay next year. So glad that you had a good time here in Bar Harbor and we could be helpful in things to do! We appreciate the business! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here because of the good reviews we read on Trip Advisor, and because of the reasonable rates. I will start with the good things- it is well located to the sights of Bar Harbor and Acadia, the grounds are pretty, and the cottage was very clean at the outset. I was disappointed because I feel that the owners and housekeeping were indifferent. The website advertises housekeeping, but I'm not actually sure what the housekeeper did. The trash was sometimes taken out (I actually had to pile it by the door one day), the floor wasn't swept, the bed not made, the bathroom not cleaned. I had to ask for more toilet paper when we ran out. I was only told about the housekeeping limitations upon checking in- very annoying because who wants to clean when on vacation? I could have stayed home to sweep the floor and do dishes, not travel to Bar Harbor. Had I known about this I would have stayed elsewhere. I was also disappointed because when reserving the cottage, I told the proprietor that we were traveling with a baby, but the cottage lacked a few things that would have been helpful- like an actual bathtub to bath her in, and a freezer so we could have ice packs to keep her food/bottles cold while seeing the sites. Another caveat was the super small shower stall. My husband is six feet tall, and actually had to stand partway outside the stall to shower. We tried to make the best of our stay, and we did enjoy Bar Harbor and Acadia, but I won't say that the annoyances of the cottage didn't put a damper on our trip. They did, and we won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about each cottage before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have heard folks complaints about our policy of not making the beds in the cottages and have recently changed that policy - although this does nothing for your stay, - We do apologize (dishes are still the guests' responsibility). As for the no tub part, on our website descriptions of each individual cottage is clearly listed out with a 32" shower unit and you were explained when making the reservation which cottage you were in so that you could read about it. As for the items that were missing or did not get done that were supposed to, we can only apologize and let you know that housekeeping has recently changed hopefully rectifying the situation - again does nothing for your stay and we can only apologize. We do take all of our reviews to heart and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for a week and my boyfriend and I absolutely loved it. The lady that check us in was so helpful letting us know what restaurants to eat at and where to park when in bar harbor which was great. Just far away from town to get away from the bustle of town but still close. We stayed in cottage 2 which was great for the two of us. It had a porch which we sat on at night and watched the cars go by. The ducks at the pond were absolutely adorable also. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us! So glad we could be helpful when it came to finding some good places to eat and the secrets to parking in downtown. We hope to see you all again very soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown,PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our experience was OK. The owner's did not make us feel very welcome because, it seemed to us, that our questions were some what of an annoyance. House keeping was fair at best. Bed not made, linen not changed as they said it would be and floor not vacuumed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevef205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
I do apologize to you if we came across to you as being annoyed with your questions. We both love where we live and the business we run that we can never remember a time that we have ever been annoyed with any questions. We truly apologize if we came across that way.
As far as cleaning goes in the cottages, folks are told when they check-in that we do not wash dishes, make the beds or clean the floors during the stay. We do change the sheets every 4 nights - however we do believe the do not disturb sign was hung the day you were due for a change - our fault for not scheduling it the next day - we do apologize for that. Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding with the cleaning and for any negative impression we gave. We truly appreciate all of our customers and we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Village Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Village Motel and Cottages

Property: Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Address: 986 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eden Village Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Village, a vacation resort situated on 25 beautifully landscaped acres offers vacationers clean comfortable motel and cottages (cabins) accommodations only minutes from Bar Harbor Center, Acadia National Park and the shore. All cottages are housekeeping units with kitchenettes. Motel rooms have a/c in season and some with kitchenettes. Fish or pedal boat at no charge in our private pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eden Village Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Eden Village Hotel
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing