We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I wanted to go camping but my husband did not. I hate hotel rooms and wanted to cook outdoors. This was the perfect compromise.The price was right (better that others near by) plus each cottage has a grill and picnic table. The cottage (#8) is really a cabin and it is very small. There is not an inch to spare, but that is what we expected. It had most every thing we needed. It was clean, comfortable and very quiet (not too close to the road). However, on the first night I went to grill and the grill collapsed as the legs had rusted off. It was replaced the next day. The front burner of the stove did not work. I reported it and was told that it would be fixed right away, which is was not. If you plan to cook you might want to bring your own pans. The frying pan was small and crappy. The eggs I tried to cook stuck right to it. I had to buy a frying pan while we were there. The coffee machine is a Keurig and they only leave enough for three cups. Our last day was very cold and rainy so we had a wonderful fire in the fireplace. They sell hard wood right there and it was very nice. Despite the few problems, it is what we expected and wanted and we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    180
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
191
215
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our room at Eden Village. The room was very clean and the grounds were very peaceful and attractive. We happened to reserve a room in the motel (verses a cottage) and enjoyed the walk-out deck off the rear of our room. The spacious grounds would be great for anyone traveling with a dog or children and charcoal grills are available for families interested in a home cooked meal. The location is only a few minutes drive from the Acadia National Park Entrance and avoids the congestion of downtown Bar Harbor - we appreciated the peace and quiet in the evening.
As another reviewer mentioned, the wi-fi connection was definitely a disappointment. As far as I'm concerned, it’s not enough to say you “have wi-fi”, you must also have the “bandwidth”, the capacity and speed to handle the data volume required by your guests. Neither myself, nor our friends who were traveling with us were able to use our tablets while we were at Eden Village. It wasn’t a serious issue for us, though it was disappointing. If I were travelling on business though, it would be a really big deal. While I don’t know what the internet connection options are in the part of the country, I think it's an issue they really need to work on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcm5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

was a last minute booking. very quite and peaceful. easy to locate, but little far from the main attractions like Acadia national park entrance (~5miles) and town of bar harbor (~8 miles) (for people who wants to explore the island in two days :)). I stayed in motel room#27 and #30 and both were very roomy and clean. owner was very friendly. wi-fi signal level was too weak so they should improve it! no Tmobile service around!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdirisaglik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is particularly difficult to find places that allow you to bring your dogs and don’t smell vaguely sour and don’t make you feel skeeved about touching anything. Eden Village had us pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the motel rooms, and while at first as we drove past the cottages, we felt a little sad that we hadn’t chosen a cottage, our disappointment evaporated quickly. The motel has a shared deck on the back with picnic tables, and a set of plastic Adirondack chairs for each room. The deck overlooks a well-manicured field with woods just behind the field with a little trail. Our dog loved it. As dog owners, this was really the perfect set up.

The room itself was very clean (it's not super fancy, mind you, it's just nice, quaint, and rustic), and had a microwave, Keurig, mini-fridge, flat screen tv [with cable], and an AC unit-- 4/5 of looked very new. Probably a testament to how clean the folks who run the place keep things! The beds in our room were doubles, with very soft mattresses. There was a shelf/bar-style place to sit with bar stools in one corner, and there’s a place to hang clothes—they provided 10 wooden hangars. The carpets, while patterned, look really clean and well taken care of.

There are 2 small grills in the back [each cottage has its own] if you want to save some money and get yourself some steaks for dinner. The only thing is, get there early if you’re staying on the weekend because everybody else seems to have the same idea. Also, great value all around! This is a very inexpensive stay!

The only minor issue, which is certainly not the fault of the owners, was our neighbors-- who slammed their doors as loud as they could. If you stay in a cottage, obviously not a problem, but they woke me up out of a sound sleep at weird hours. On the plus side, we couldn't hear anything else through the walls, so the motel rooms are nice and sound proofed!

We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: With a dog, rooms in the motel are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meepbeepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After 8 years of traveling to MDI for an annual business function and staying in various good and not-so places close to or in the town of Bar Harbor, Eden Village was a serene oasis away from all the craziness! Cottage #3 was SO clean, well kept and inviting that I felt immediately at home. Even though it is located on the driveway to the motel and other cottages, I was undisturbed by any noise after the sun went down. Being able to cook my own GF food (pots, pans, dishes & silver provided) while on the road was a huge attraction and the little kitchenette was a perfect size to do this. Comfortable bed, hardwood floors, screened in porch and a fireplace completed the cottage atmosphere. What's not to love here? Eden folks, you do a great job at a reasonable price, many thanks!

Room Tip: The cottages have a private feel even though there are others around. Grounds are beautifully kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked very last minute and were only able to stay here one night. I wished we had spent all three nights we were in the area here. We ended up with Cottage 1 which is right next to the road. We were pleased that it was so quiet! Great access to Acadia. Perfect romping grounds for our lab. Very clean and reasonably priced. Eden cottages are perfect for families.The kitchenette was just enough and well equipped. I liked that each cottage had a grill, though we did not use ours. It has a playground, but the wifi was the hit with the teenager.We wanted the Maine cottage experience and we got it. We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We needed a pet friendly and this was the last available. Obviously,the further back the quieter the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelerat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and two children (31 years and 23 years) stayed here last week and we had a wonderful time. Our motel room was roomy, and had a kitchenette with all the essentials. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. It is an older place but they do a great job of keeping things in good working order (painting, cleaning, etc.) and the grounds are beautiful and quiet. The housekeeping staff work hard to service the rooms nicely each day. Would definitely stay here again if in the area!

Room Tip: The property is very quiet and all cottages and rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
5.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
2.6 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.8 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Village Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Village Motel and Cottages

Property: Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Address: 986 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eden Village Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Village, a vacation resort situated on 25 beautifully landscaped acres offers vacationers clean comfortable motel and cottages (cabins) accommodations only minutes from Bar Harbor Center, Acadia National Park and the shore. All cottages are housekeeping units with kitchenettes. Motel rooms have a/c in season and some with kitchenettes. Fish or pedal boat at no charge in our private pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Eden Village Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Eden Village Hotel
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing