We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Village Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
bronx ny
Level Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very quiet, very clean, so much room inside the cottage, plenty of towels. Bathroom a bit small but clean. No closet space but plenty of draws. Kitchen was very clean and had everything we need it to cook. The city was not that far 14 minute drive, same for Arcadia park. The lady at the front was nice and check out was a was very easy. Ah the internet was VERY BAD!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wearetheones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    180
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
190
214
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Nyack, Ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Knowing we would be arriving late to Mt. Desert Island we wanted someplace to stay overnight before setting up camp in the park the next day. We stayed in the motel which was lovely and spacious. The decor isn't the ritz, but perfect for our stay. The room had a kitchenette, two beds, a small bathroom and some extra room to spare. Both sides of the room had a porch with chairs to sit out on. Our children (ages 10+11) loved the property though we weren't there long enough to take advantage. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I would recommend the motel or the cottages. You might want to note that the location is close to Hulls Cove Visitor Center yet far from Bar Harbor & a lot of the sites in Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doesnotravelwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We just left Eden Village where we stayed for about a week. It's a simple but clean and comfortable motel located close to the Hulls Cove entrance to Acadia and to Bar Harbor. The motel and cottages are set back from the road, so it's completely quiet at night. The grounds are lovely, and our kids were allowed to fish (catch and release only) in the pretty pond on site. The staff were available and responsive, and the price - compared to everything else in the area - very reasonable. The best part was watching the stars from the back deck of the motel - the best view of the Milky Way we ever had!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaExmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived at Eden Village on Friday evening a bit later than anticipated. We emailed the hosts on the way there to inform them about our late arrival and this was no problem.
In contrast to many other cottage parks in the area, this "village" is setup in a spacious way so that you have a nice view from your window and do not look directly into each others house. There's a nice pond which offers a great view in the morning, and you can even go peddel boating in it for free. Also, there's a basket and a ball, if you're into playing basket ball.
The house we stayed in was relatively small, but just perfect for the weekend. It had a big living room table, 2 proper queen sized beds and a couch. Also, both beds were located in different rooms with each there own television.
The kitchen had a stove with two heaters; perfect for making eggs at breakfast, but you wouldn't really want to cook a large meal there. With all the crab shacks in the area it's anyway nicer to go out for dinner.
The service was good: Every day the cottages were cleaned, and we received extra coffee pads for free upon request.
All in all we had a great time at the eden village cottages.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LR_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I wanted to go camping but my husband did not. I hate hotel rooms and wanted to cook outdoors. This was the perfect compromise.The price was right (better that others near by) plus each cottage has a grill and picnic table. The cottage (#8) is really a cabin and it is very small. There is not an inch to spare, but that is what we expected. It had most every thing we needed. It was clean, comfortable and very quiet (not too close to the road). However, on the first night I went to grill and the grill collapsed as the legs had rusted off. It was replaced the next day. The front burner of the stove did not work. I reported it and was told that it would be fixed right away, which is was not. If you plan to cook you might want to bring your own pans. The frying pan was small and crappy. The eggs I tried to cook stuck right to it. I had to buy a frying pan while we were there. The coffee machine is a Keurig and they only leave enough for three cups. Our last day was very cold and rainy so we had a wonderful fire in the fireplace. They sell hard wood right there and it was very nice. Despite the few problems, it is what we expected and wanted and we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DotB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our room at Eden Village. The room was very clean and the grounds were very peaceful and attractive. We happened to reserve a room in the motel (verses a cottage) and enjoyed the walk-out deck off the rear of our room. The spacious grounds would be great for anyone traveling with a dog or children and charcoal grills are available for families interested in a home cooked meal. The location is only a few minutes drive from the Acadia National Park Entrance and avoids the congestion of downtown Bar Harbor - we appreciated the peace and quiet in the evening.
As another reviewer mentioned, the wi-fi connection was definitely a disappointment. As far as I'm concerned, it’s not enough to say you “have wi-fi”, you must also have the “bandwidth”, the capacity and speed to handle the data volume required by your guests. Neither myself, nor our friends who were traveling with us were able to use our tablets while we were at Eden Village. It wasn’t a serious issue for us, though it was disappointing. If I were travelling on business though, it would be a really big deal. While I don’t know what the internet connection options are in the part of the country, I think it's an issue they really need to work on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcm5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

was a last minute booking. very quite and peaceful. easy to locate, but little far from the main attractions like Acadia national park entrance (~5miles) and town of bar harbor (~8 miles) (for people who wants to explore the island in two days :)). I stayed in motel room#27 and #30 and both were very roomy and clean. owner was very friendly. wi-fi signal level was too weak so they should improve it! no Tmobile service around!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdirisaglik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
0.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
3.5 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Isleview Motel and Cottages
2.6 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.6 mi away
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Village Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Village Motel and Cottages

Property: Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Address: 986 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eden Village Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Village, a vacation resort situated on 25 beautifully landscaped acres offers vacationers clean comfortable motel and cottages (cabins) accommodations only minutes from Bar Harbor Center, Acadia National Park and the shore. All cottages are housekeeping units with kitchenettes. Motel rooms have a/c in season and some with kitchenettes. Fish or pedal boat at no charge in our private pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eden Village Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Eden Village Hotel
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing