We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful, Charming, And Perfect”
Review of Seacroft Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seacroft Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We just came back from seacroft Inn this week. I did not want to come home. The stay was peaceful and quite. Perfect for adults. Bunny is one fantastic lady. She respects peoples privacy and makes some excellent muffins that are available in a breakfast basket. She does an excellent job. Blueberry, raspberry,eggnog, and other flavors.
We went there on vacation with another couple and we already made our reservations for next year.

Priscilla ---Dayville, Ct.

Priscilla Lehoux

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lehoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

Seacroft Inn, built in 1890, is in the perfect location to see Bar Harbor and even Acadia National Park on foot. The Inn is centrally located between the shore trail which runs along the west side of the island and town and downtown/village green (one block away from each). We were even able to walk to the grocery store a few blocks away. One can catch the bus into the park and never have to drive anywhere while visiting. The Inn has the quirks of an old house but each room has a separate bath as well as microwave and fridge. The hostess provides air conditioners in the the bedrooms as well as flyers and booklets on the local attractions. The front porch and lawn is available for guests to sit and relax. Our hostess even let us park our car in the overflow parking area after we had checked out so that we could explore more of the park via bus for another half of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PullmanCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Went back to Bar Harbor again this year stayed at the Seacroft Inn.Bunny is a great lady ,a very clean place to stay.And her breakfast basket is good every day always somthing different.I will go back and this is the only place I will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kansaschar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This is a very pretty place on a quiet street literally steps from the center of Bar Harbor. As some have said it doesn't really fit the B&B mold. Breakfast in a basket and daily maid service are extra. This is not a problem because you can walk to so many fine eateries. But the location is unbeatable and the hosts nice. It's clean and comfy.

I would say, if you really want a fancy traditional B&B go elsewhere but for $139 a night you can't beat this place. If you want a nice place close to everything where you can open the windows and smell the ocean this is it. Great place to make love.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the SeaCroft Inn and had an excellent stay. The best thing about the inn is the location. It is literally steps from the main town area and steps from the ocean path. It doesn’t get more convenient than this. The inn keeper was very helpful and accommodating. My husband fell on a trail in Acadia and she made sure his cut was cleaned and well bandaged while we were there. Thank you!

The room was very large and had a private entrance. It also had a small kitchen. The fridge was great for storing cold drinks and snacks in. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very large. Everything was very clean. The furniture and décor was a little dated, but well kept.

Once again, this is the best location in town and the best value. You will pay twice as much to stay somewhere else in town. With that in mind, this is a no frills B&B, which was fine with us. There is a fee if you want your bed made and room spruced up every day. There is also a fee if you want a breakfast basket in the morning. We cleaned up ourselves and walked into town for a delicious breakfast every morning. Well worth the value!

This inn is seriously the best location and best value in town. The inn keeper takes great pride in making sure everything is clean and comfortable for your stay. She is very knowledgeable on the area as well. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirkdawg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We recently traveled along the Maine coast from York to Bar Habor. We selected B&B's based upon travel books and Tripadvisor ratings. The Seacroft Inn is an Inn, not a B&B. There is an extra charge for a breakfast basket, there is an extra charge for room service and there is no attempt at luxury which I usually see at B&B's. However, we had unit 5B which included 2 bedrooms and a bath for $150 for 4 people which is a very reasonable price. It's a good value, it's just misrepresented.

It is 2 blocks from one of the main streets in Bar Harbor and 2 blocks in the other direction to the water. It is safe, has plenty of parking and is quiet. The owner is very nice. The rooms and furniture are clean but worn. It is a good place to sleep after spending days in Acadia National Park but there is no reason to spend time at the inn.

Acadia is about 10 minutes away and is spectacular. The trail along the ocean from Otter Cliffs to Otter Point has terrific rocky views. The Park Rangers have a shuttle which takes bikers from the center of town to Eagle Lake where they can catch the Carriage Trails. It is a super ride. It is about 5 min. from the Inn to Acadia Bike Rentals and then a block ride to catch the shuttle. A great place for dinner is the Jordan Pond House in the park. We had reservations and they had a table with a great view ready for us. People without reservations had a 45 minute wait. Jordan's Restaurant in Bar Harbor has great blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StingRayBoston_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Location, location, location! Seacroft is not a typical B&B with lavish appointments and breakfast; however it is simply the best location to stay in Bar Harbor and gives you a lot of value for your money. My family of four stayed in a 20x20 room with kitchenette and bath and it was one of the most spacious rooms we had on a two week trip. Clean, comfortable, coffee in the morning, 2 mins walking to the shore or downtown...the Seacroft made for a very pleasant stay. Unless you hit some odd heatwave, open up the windows, let the fresh air in and skip the a/c - the inn is located on a quiet street and we slept very well with the windows open in the end of July. You won't be dissappointed if you choose the Seacroft for your stay...skip the basket breakfast here too and walk 5 mins up to Cafe this Way -- excellent, excellent restaurant. One of the best breakfasts ever eaten!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hearthside B&B
Hearthside B&B
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 30 in Bar Harbor
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#11 of 30 in Bar Harbor
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacroft Inn

Address: 18 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1702
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Seacroft Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing