We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place from which to enjoy Mt. Desert Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacroft Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seacroft Inn
Ranked #26 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
“A wonderful place from which to enjoy Mt. Desert Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stayed in Rm. # 4 and loved it so much that it was hard to leave. The room was spotless, with a very very comfy bed, and the location simply cannot be beat. Innkeeper Bunny is wonderful and welcoming, and provides great coffee in the morning. A place that I will definitely return to.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andersonrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

We stayed in Room 6 at the Seacroft, a lovely and comfortable private room with its own staircase, deck and entrance. Beautiful house and gardens, a warm and welcoming place to stay. My husband and I were on a four day getaway hoping to relax and enjoy some peace, quiet, and hiking in Acadia. The Seacroft was the perfect place to return to after a day on the trails. The room had everything we needed. As others have said, this is a no frills type of B&B, but if comfort, privacy, peace and quiet are what you're looking for, this is by far the best choice for value and location in Bar Harbor. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable, pleasant, great location, excellent value.
  • Disliked — Liked everything about it.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raymonddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, ga
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We love the Seacroft. I just want to make it clear to all travelers that it is a is very basic b&b--no frills, but the price reflects no frills. The location is GREAT, the coffee each morning in the screened in porch is cozy on a cool morning.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2007

I found the recommendation for Seacroft Inn in my Fodor's guidebook, it listed that there was a 2 bedroom, shared bathroom space (room 5B) and luckily the room was still available when I booked the day before we left. A lot of B&B's are geared towards married couples and only have king or queen beds but this is a perfect set up for a small family or friends traveling together as it was cheaper than booking two separate rooms. You can also combine rooms 5A and 5B to sleep 6.

We spent the same amount here, $129+tax, as we did at the Gazebo Inn in Ogunguit, the Gazebo was far superior with all of it's little touches, homey decor and awesome breakfast but our stay here was comfortable and I really liked that we had separate rooms for the price we paid.

The best part about this B&B is it's location on a small quiet side street, 5 minute walk and you are in town where everything is walkable and 5 minutes in the other direction and you are at the ocean. Parking is free and you won't need to use your car until it's time to leave.

I took the larger of the two rooms, both had queen sized beds and TVs, mine had a couple of rocking chairs and a lounging chair. Both rooms had window unit air conditioners but we did not need them at this time of year.

We did not have an ocean view, there are some accomodations like the Bar Harbor Inn right along the waterfront that do if that's important to you. But I did have a window that faced east, I woke up to see a glorious sunrise over the ocean, grabbed my camera and ran down to the beach to capture it.

Breakfast is a basket with muffins, apples, granola bars and orange juice, if you prefer not to get it they will take $5 off your room charge. Coffee is available in the common area and we had a refrigerator and microwave at our disposal. We had a small table inside our suite to eat breakfast at.

  • Liked — The location was excellent, comfortable room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

The Seacroft Inn is a great place to stay. Any one going to Bar Harbor should stay hear.If I ever go back will only stay at the Seacroft Inn.Dave&Bunny Brown very nice people make you want to stay forever.Charlotte Leach of Eudora Kansas

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank kansaschar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2006

We were in Bar Harbor for one night and stayed at the Seacroft Inn. The innkeepers were very hospitable and accommodating to our needs. My husband turned in a rental car in Bangor and Dave even gave him a ride back to Bar Harbor because he was there on business. And he also gave us a ride at 7 am to the ferry terminal on the morning we left. The room was very spacious and the continental breakfast that was provided was perfect for our stay. It was nice to be able to have breakfast at our leisure in our room. The refrigerator and microwave were nice amenities to have in the room. The location could not have been better - you don't need a car. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royaldd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2006

The location of the Seacroft Inn is excellent. It's between the sea and the village. You won't have to drive anywhere while in BH. The exterior of the house is beautiful. It is on a very quiet street with plenty of parking.
Please note the photos of the rooms. They show exactly what you will get. The furniture is a hodgepodge and the bed very uncomfortable. The bathroom needed updating.
The fireplace was a plus. The owners are very nice.
The room was worth paying the off season rate but not if we paid summer rates.
I would recommend this B & B for the location and the setting.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cindyandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#18 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#21 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Desert Street Motel
Mount Desert Street Motel
#24 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacroft Inn

Property: Seacroft Inn
Address: 18 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1702
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Seacroft Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing