We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Seacroft Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seacroft Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2007

The Seacroft Inn is a great place to stay. Any one going to Bar Harbor should stay hear.If I ever go back will only stay at the Seacroft Inn.Dave&Bunny Brown very nice people make you want to stay forever.Charlotte Leach of Eudora Kansas

Stayed: August 2007
Thank kansaschar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Seacroft Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2006

We were in Bar Harbor for one night and stayed at the Seacroft Inn. The innkeepers were very hospitable and accommodating to our needs. My husband turned in a rental car in Bangor and Dave even gave him a ride back to Bar Harbor because he was there on business. And he also gave us a ride at 7 am to the ferry terminal on the morning we left. The room was very spacious and the continental breakfast that was provided was perfect for our stay. It was nice to be able to have breakfast at our leisure in our room. The refrigerator and microwave were nice amenities to have in the room. The location could not have been better - you don't need a car. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank royaldd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

The location of the Seacroft Inn is excellent. It's between the sea and the village. You won't have to drive anywhere while in BH. The exterior of the house is beautiful. It is on a very quiet street with plenty of parking.
Please note the photos of the rooms. They show exactly what you will get. The furniture is a hodgepodge and the bed very uncomfortable. The bathroom needed updating.
The fireplace was a plus. The owners are very nice.
The room was worth paying the off season rate but not if we paid summer rates.
I would recommend this B & B for the location and the setting.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cindyandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2006

We didn't even know the Seacroft was there for the first few years we visited Bar Harbor! It is tucked away on a quiet side street, yet right in the middle of downtown. I found it doing a search on the internet when our favorite B&B closed in Bar Harbor.

Bunny and Dave (and Tucker) have a lot of personality and are great to spend time with. They keep their home in perfect shape. The rooms are beautiful and simply decorated, with lots of scenic paintings by Bunny. Each room has a refrigerator. Our favorite room - room 3 also has a gas fireplace.

We love that we can skip breakfast and get a savings on the room so we can walk over to the Cottage Street Bakery - where we always feel like a local even if we only visit one week a year.

I cannot say enough about the location. It is between downtown and the Shore Path. The off-street parking is great and there are Adirondack chairs to sit and relax in outdoors.

The value is unbelievable. The rooms are much cheaper than equivalent B&B's in town.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2005

My wife, daughter and I spent two wonderful days in Bar Harbor this August. Although the perfect, almost early Autumn-like weather was a positive factor, our stay at Bunny and Dave's inn rounded out the 10 on a scale of 10 for this trip. The only downside was the fact that we couldn't stay longer (something we will remedy next visit). We've stayed in several Bed and Breakfast style inns before and we've stayed in many hotels of various comfort and price levels. Some B&Bs get almost too homey for us, kind of like you're staying with your Aunt May. On the other hand, hotels can offer you more privacy, but many lack any sort of charm. The Seacroft had that perfect balance of maintaining a guests privacy while at the same time adding the atmosphere of being at home. Dave and Bunny were both extremely friendly and engaging hosts, but at the same time never overbearing, respecting the privacy of their guests.

Some of the rooms in the inn had interior entrances while others, like ours, had its own private exterior entrance. Our room was tastefully decorated, but was not lavish. We had all the amenities necessary to make our stay comfortable, from a queen bed (albeit a bit too soft for me), a small refrigerator (may not be in all rooms) and a clean and well-maintained bathroom. I can't emphasize clean. This inn was spotless. I found it amazing that just the two of them can keep a large old house like that in such good shape and everything was clean, clean, clean. Did I say clean? Yeah, I did. Well, I meant it.

The breakfast was not a full spread, but instead a simply prepared basket of warm muffins, yogurt and fruit delivered to our door each morning. I thought it was a nice touch and just enough for us. They also serve coffee in the front parlor in the morning until 10am. If you still need more to fill the morning growl monster, the bustling dowtown Bar Harbor is just a block up the street.

Location, location, location. Isn't that what your realtor alays told you? Well, Dave and Bunny must've listened when they bought this place. The inn is down a quiet side street towards the ocean just off main street in Bar Harbor. Walk out their front drive, turn right, walk about a block and you're right in the middle of Bar Harbor's main shopping and restaurant district. Turn left out of their drive and you're a short walk from the water. We were especially lucky to have a nearly full moon both nights we were there, and we spent our late evenings just sitting on the rocks down by the water in the moonlight.

Finally, I felt that the price was very reasonable for what we were getting. I think the proprietors work hard to make your stay pleasurable, while also keeping their rates relatively low. For the money, you get location, friendly innkeepers, lots of charm and good basic comfort. If you want pampering or state of the art surround sound television-DVD combos (13 inch tv with standard cable at the Seacroft worked just fine) , there are many other locations in Bar Harbor that can accomodate for a much higher price. It's all about what you want. And what we wanted was exactly what the Seacroft's owners delivered. Bravo, Bunny and Dave. We will see you on our next trip to Bar Harbor

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank marstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2005

I've stayed at many places in Bar Harbor over the past 10 years and found the Sea Croft Inn, while not advertised much, one of the best places to stay.

Queen Bunny (owner) can be seen always cleaning the place while her husband Dave treat all of the gurst like family.

7  Thank BERRYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wrwpinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#19 of 30 in Bar Harbor
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hearthside B&B
Hearthside B&B
#2 of 30 in Bar Harbor
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#11 of 30 in Bar Harbor
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacroft Inn

Address: 18 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1702
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £59 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Seacroft Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing