We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful respite.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful respite.....”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Nice hotel......Good location, friendly staff
Not over the top....Nice, clean, great views of the ocean.....
Recommended..Especialy the pool and hot tub.
The location is not right in Bar Harbor but the shuttle bus system that rings the island made it easy to get into downtown Bar Harbor and explore the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    420
    114
    52
    24
See reviews for
390
496
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My boyfriend and I have been going to Bar harbor for three years now and always stay here. This was the first year we've stayed in the new building and was even more happy afterwards than normal! Very clean, very nice new building with great views. The balcony is spacious and has a lovely view, it's wonderful in the morning especially. The beds could have been more comfortable, they were hard and bouncy, so that takes some getting used to, but overall the decor was great, the bathrooms were so clean and the breakfast in the morning in the main building was very yummy with lots of options if you choose continental. We will continue to come here year after year, it's a great place. (only negative, actually, is that the outdoor pool closed at 8pm.. it was quite early considering we were out all day and didn't usually get back til then. Front desk offered to keep it open a little longer for us but we wish it was opened til at least 9 like the indoor one!)

Room Tip: The new building is awesome, but the other buildings on the water, top floor corner rooms are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Sring
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel was nice, a little far from downtown, but they had a free bus shuttle to take you there. Parking and the main street are crazy to drive. Beautiful views, nice pools. They have free internet, but was too far to get.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in the newly remodeled building for 2 nights (Sun/Mon). This property considers kids over age 10 to be adults; so for 3 people total, with AAA discount, the nightly rate with tax was $250. We stayed due to the indoor pool, which we didn't use anyway because it was rather small and full of kids. We preferred the outdoor pool (with no people) in a light rain. Room seemed to be brand new; comfortable beds, large bath, nice balcony, good breakfast everything you could possibly want (fruit, cereal, breads, muffins, yogurt, oatmeal) but no eggs or meat. (I don't like either) Parking spaces are narrow for a fullsize SUV. Island Explorer shuttles stop at the hotel, and run on schedule (huge convenience). Front desk directed us to Chart House for dinner, which was very good and had early dinner specials. I regret not asking whether there were any packages (for stays beyond 2 nights); I didn't ask and the front desk didn't volunteer if there were any. There's no reason not to stay here; the price seemed a little high, but the neighboring property (same view, no indoor pool) was $50/night more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNY42667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We (family of four older adults) reserved the Penthouse Suite in the Willows building. I asked for a suite and wanted a spectacular view. The gentleman I spoke with was very clear about this being an old building which was updated with the idea of keeping it true to its past. Our stay was beautiful! The room was quiet and we enjoyed our view from the living area and the balcony. The comlimentary breakfast was adequate and you have a choice to pay extra to get a hot meal. We did that one morning and the hot choices were all very good.

We felt we got exactly what we wanted for the price. There is a new building on the property but we didn't go inside to see the difference.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a top floor room and be specific about the type of view you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel was beautiful and well kept however we were mislead as soon as we walked through the door. My husband and I were there for out 1st kid-free nights in years. We arrived early (at 2pm) and told that our room would be ready at 3pm, then 3:30, then 3:40 and finally "they didn't know when the room would be ready". We lost 2 hours of valuable vacation time waiting for our room. As I stood in tears in the lobby we finally had our room just after 4pm. No apologies, just excuses about them having a lot of people checking out that day. Not even a complimentary hot breakfast. Although the hotel was beautiful we definitely will not take a chance of losing such precious time again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is really a complex with many different buildings all situated right on the ocean a short distance from the center of Bar harbor. There are some brand new rooms, but we stayed in the older section as the pet friendly rooms are limited. Some reviewers have described these rooms as shabby, but that was not our experience. Our room was not fancy, but was newly renovated, spacious, spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, there was a frig and coffee maker, an extra granite topped sink area separate from the bathroom, and an amazing view. Every member of the staff we encountered was extra friendly and accomodating. There is a very nice complimentary breakfast buffet with the option of ordering hot food for an additional fee. The buffet is immaculately maintained with nice homemade touches to the expected fare such as blueberry coffee cake and jam, flavored cream cheeses etc. Anyone looking for a really well run place in a beautiful setting will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullieMama623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing