We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

First, I'd like to say that looking for accomodations in Bar Harbor is a frustrating experience. You see hotels that are grossly overpriced or so rock bottom that it scares you away. Then, looking at consumer reviews make you even more nervous when you read some of the horrible experiences others have had. When there are mutiple complaints about the same poor services, cleanliness, caters to wedding parties only, etc. at some of the premier locations it makes you want to rethink a visit to Bar Harbor all together.

That said, after looking at what was available for the time period we planned to be there, I closed my eyes, crossed my fingers, and pushed the "send" button on my reservation for the Atlantic Oceanside and immediately started apologying to my spouse about expectations. I've got to say, we would more than surprised upon arrival. No glitches at check in, helpful staff, the place was very clean and organized, the room was absolutely as promised - top floor of the new building facing out to the water. Although furnishings were slightly weary, everything was very neat and clean, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. WiFi and coffee in room and a breakfast room in the main building that would fix a hot breakfast if you wanted. The property is a bit outside of town - which was a good thing because it was extremely quiet and away from the crowds of tourists but most people would need a car to get in town or to the park. Plenty of free parking in the lot. Easy access to the Park without having to go through town.

Here's another great bonus - Bar Harbor is a stop for major cruise lines and those ships are HUGE and dwarf the entire harbor. I had seen photos of Bar Harbor online with one of them moored at the downtown dock and the last thing I would have wanted was to look out my waterfront hotel window/deck, that I've paid big bucks for, to see this horrible cruise ship blocking my view! There were two cruise ships in harbor while we were there and thankfully, not blocking my view!

We came away from Bar Harbor with no regrets about our choice of accomodations and would heartedly recommend the Atlantic Oceanside to anyone that would ask for a recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    420
    114
    52
    24
See reviews for
390
496
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here for one night and the room was dated.. got up to leave the next morning and realized someone had backed into my brand new car of less than 2 weeks. Was very upset and not one person at the front desk even said they were sorry it happened. One of them gave my husband the # for the police instead of calling for us and of course there were no cameras so we could find out who did it.... wasn't very happy, to say the least.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our room was great. The view was awesome. Will definitely visit again. The staff there was extremely helpful. We checked many hotel rates and found this one very competitive. We were pleasantly surprised for the rate we paid. Reservation was last minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanrotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Penna.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

We chose Atlantic Oceanside after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We. stayed in the 5100 area rooms, not the main building. Rooms were immaculate, roomy, and had every convenience. We had a small balcony with spectacular views. Breakfast was included, and you could order more from a menu with additional charge..we didn't.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenY_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed the week after labor day. Rooms are a bit dated, but clean. Air conditioner was noisy, but after a day, figured out we really didn't need it. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It was really nice to go on our balcony and enjoy the water scenes. Very convenient for going to Acadia Park.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mcgladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

If your dog goes everywhere with you, this hotel is a natural choice. We first came here before the rebuilding and it was OK. Now its much better. The pet friendly rooms are in the older building but that's ok because its right on the water. The bad: the rooms could be cleaner (our linoleum floors were sticky) and the location is on the outskirts of town. Its is probably considered "walkable" to most people. But, nearby food choices are slim. Bottom line: we keep coming back here. Lastly, look out when you leave the parking area - the traffic is often moving pretty quick here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weare, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We just had a wedding at Atlantic Oceanside and everything from the hotel stand point was terrific,Sue Kropff did an excellent job, helping us with all of the details and keeping us organized and on track, we can't thank her enough, and Chef Matt was amazing with his delicious food, my guests all raved about how wonderful the food was! The Mansion was also very special, it is so beautiful and added so much to the occaision, especially for pictures,Thanks again everyone! The Petersen Family

Room Tip: The top of the Mansion was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing