We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel for the Mount Desert Island Marathon. The room was excellent and tastefully decorated, the view of the Frenchman's Bay beautiful. We found all the staff to be wonderful.

On the day of the marathon several participants showed up for breakfast before the official opening at 6:30 a.m.. Staff welcomed and fed us, even as they tried to finish readying the restaurant for opening (I highly recommend their homemade jams and peanut butter.).

We will definitely stay here again, if we make it back to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Our room was in a building approximately 50 feet from the waters edge. The room was gorgeous and the view of Frenchman's Bay was beautiful. We sat on the patio and watched the lobster boats. You can have a free continental breakfast or order from the menu. The hotel is close to town and Acadia National Park. The Nature Cruise docks at the pier by the hotel, and as a guest of the hotel, you get a percentage off the ticket price. Loved our stay at here and intend to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had to cancel our trip, due to an illness. Although the hotel was notified by their specified 7 days in advance; they kept $20.00 for a processing fee? My grandchild was taken to hospital and we had to return from our 14 day vacation earlier than expected. We sent an e-mail to the Atlantic 7 days ahead of time. They answered our e-mail at 7:23 am the following day and said we were too late, and they were keeping our paid in advance room rate. I told them we sent the e-mail the day before they read it. Then they refunded my credit card, but kept $20.00 for processing. Who does this; not any other hotel that I've used throughout the world. Also note, there are a multitude of good hotels in Bar Harbor.
BEWARE!

Beware!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank DiannaWatchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in a cottage for a week. We were two families so it worked out very well. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were clean. The property is minutes away from Acadia national park and downtown shopping. Kids had fun in their outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Loved our stay there. My daughter wants to go back there again. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sri1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My mother and I travelled to Maine at the beginning of October. Being our first visit to the state, we wanted a beautiful room. We got it. We booked a two bedroom suite on a top floor of the new building. It was so clean and pristine, we actually wondered if we were the first to stay in it. The room had two queen beds in the main room and a king bed in a separate bedroom. There was a decent size bathroom in between. The bathroom was lovely. It did not, however, have a bathtub. It only had a large shower.

The breakfast was lovely as well. They had oatmeal, fresh fruit, cold cereal, toast, pastries, donuts and scones. They even had homemade blueberry jam and peanut butter. We were stuffed each morning when we left.

There is a nature cruise that leaves from the dock right behind the hotel. We took it. It was very misty the day we went, so many things were obscured. Also, the seas were rough and we were thrown around quite a bit on parts of the cruise. It was borderline frightening. The information presented was very interesting.

We would absolutely stay here again. Everyone was very nice and the room and breakfast were fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizneylvr1971_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is located on the coastal with the rooms facing the water. The staff was friendly and the rooms were immaculate and reasonably priced! Located just minutes from the national park, delicious dining and downtown-ish shipping. We enjoyed the location so much, they accommodated us for a second night - even with a wedding party coming in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl_811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I just happen to stay at this beautiful ocean side hotel. It was more like a luxurious resort. The room was very clean and comfortable with modern updates on decor. We could not believe the price of only $160.00 in the Fall season. I have stayed in many hotels over the years in several states , but this one is one of the finest ! Wished we could have stayed longer !

Room Tip: We stayed on ground level with a balony that led to the water . So nice and quiet as well.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyfromnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing