We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay here was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
York Beach, ME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay here was great!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We celebrated our 20th anniversary here. Room was VERY clean, large with nice sitting area. Staff was very accommodating and covered all the details - right down to making our dinner reservation for us. They have a pool and hot tub, too. GREAT view from our room! Had a wine & dine package (at Mama DiMatteo's) which was delicious. Wine & chocolates delivered to the room. Great value for the cost - would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: 4th floor has a direct view on the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    416
    111
    52
    24
See reviews for
386
484
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a wonderful experience here! We had purchased a deal that included a bottle of wine and delicious chocolates delivered to the room. Our room was clean and pretty and we had a gorgeous ocean view. I liked the quality and scent of the shampoo, conditioner and lotion in the room :) The gift shop had a great selection of books and treats and we were walking distance to Jack Russell's Steakhouse where we had a delicious valentine's dinner and more wine :) Would absolutely recommend this and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

While not in the throws of Bar Harbor, you're just a mile or two away -- and away from the cruises! Atlantic Oceanside is clean, quiet, and scenic. It seems like a big complex but in reality is really very quaint. Time to Bar Harbor by car is measured in single minutes. Front desk personnel are amazingly friendly and helpful, defining hospitality.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarathonFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
627 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The edges are a little frayed in a few places, the free breakfast is ordinary and fairly mediocre, the feeling overall is just a little bit dated. But the furnishings in the room are wonderful, the service is excellent, and the view is just beautiful. And it is the only hotel on the ocean in Bar Harbor that is open year round. All in all it is a good bet.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view--some are closer to the water than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
680 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

totally decent. There are two parts; "old" and "new" building. The lobby is a little dated but the room was beautiful, clean, WiFi, spacious, with a wide open view of the Bay. Everything was terrific. Only points off are the breakfast. Forget about it....cereals and feeble bagels. But I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: about 1 mile walk into downtown Bar Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We knew when we walked into our room that we would have a comfortable stay. It has become very important to us to have space, a fridge and microwave, and a comfortable bed. Now I move on to the balcony overlooking the water, the bathroom with a spacious modern shower, and being able to have our well behaved dog with us. Even though the date was November 10, we were fortunate to have beautiful weather and could listen to the ocean sounds. Our reason for coming to Bar Harbor was for the annual pajama sale and the bed race. We absolutely enjoyed both and have already planned to return next year. We were able to do plenty of hiking and ate in a number of local restaurants that were still open. I must also add that my wonderful hubby returned to our room in the AM with a tray of fresh fruit and yogurt, two doughnuts and juice. I had already made coffee in the room. We enjoyed our three nights very much and will return. Atlantic Oceanside made a positive impression. We were a few minutes drive from town and parking is not an issue at this time of year.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room overlooking the ocean. We were on the 4th floor in the lower left buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GatorFan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South China, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here for a conference at the end of October and have to say I was pleasantly surprised with how nice this hotel is. The rooms are clean and quiet and offered us a nice patio (limited privacy) with a view of the ocean. The conference rooms are quite nice and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Dining was included in our weekend here and the food was above average. Great choices for breakfast in the morning, and the evening bartender was a real treat! Great girl who really knows how to make drinks! The location is just a few minutes drive from the busy downtown area where there is lots of shopping and beautiful sites so make sure you check it out!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level is noise bothers you. Sometimes you can hear the people above you...w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollieK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing