We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights this past week with some family for an anual trip, this was our first time here.
The hotel is very close to Acadia National Park and several restaurants and just a few minutes to downtown Bar Harbor.
We were in the newer building, right on the water and there is a little rock beach just out from the building, great for an evening drink and cigar! The room was nice and modern with everything you would need. 2 little bad things were that the A/C seemed oddly loud for such a new building, too loud for us to use at night. There was also some mold on the ceiling in the shower, not horrible but out of place as the rest of the room was so clean.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast was fine and if no to your liking, hot items were available to order. Outdoor and indoor pool and hot tubs were both fine.
All in all a nice place, we would stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: The newer building is right on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeE546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Attended an evening event in the conference center and was impressed. Good place for any event of 50-250 or so people. Well managed and caterering team was great! Flexible space that can be adjusted easily to fit the specific event.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabletopjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had one night in Bar Harbor and stayed here. Our suite was gorgeous and included a hot breakfast. It was the B&B booking. Our deck was very large and had a table and chairs with a most beautiful view. We ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent but the service left a lot to be desired. Our hot breakfast the next morning was very good and the service was great. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: The B&B deal is most elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a room in the "new building". Our friends had a room in the main building. Our room was fine, theirs was not. Small bathroom, uncomfortable bed with a too-soft mattress. Our room had a great bed, and nice bathroom. Good location near Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. They say they have a "pebble beach", but that is a stretch. The beach is rocky, and while they have cleared a small area of the largest boulder, even that "beach" is pretty rocky. Leave your beach towels at home. This area is not known for great beaches anyway, so don't come here expecting a great beach scene. The view from our room, on the uppermost fourth floor of the new building, was great. Try to get into this building, and at least onto the third, if not the fourth, floor. The place was packed with families with young kids, who all seemed to be having a good time. Not a place for couples, or anyone looking for a quiet and secluded piece of beautiful Maine. One big gripe: the free breakfast is a huge joke, and a great insult to the environment. Poor selection of breakfast items. All on disposable ware, paper plates, plastic cups and utensils, and paper napkins, even the butter in disposable containers. All we had was juice and toast with butter (about the best you can expect here), and made quite a pile of trash. A surprisingly impactful small breakfast for Green-conscious Maine.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a floor on the third or fourth floors of the new building. Lots of families here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review about our property. The views are amazing from all our rooms and we appreciate the comments. The Maine building rooms are being renovated this winter and hopefully that will make your friends happier if they stay in those rooms again. We are a family friendly hotel, but offer our 100 year old Willows Bed & Breakfast for couples looking for a more romantic setting.

I wanted to share with you that our breakfast has 32 items on it. 8 of which are gluten free, 8 which are fresh fruit, which we buy from local Maine farms. We are also proud to use Maple Hill Creamery Yogurt which uses organic milk and the cows are 100% grass fed. All of our Plates, Glasses, and Plastic Silverware are made from Corn Starch and Vegetable product and 100% compostable.

I am sorry that you found our breakfast not to be to your liking but wanted to share some facts about it.

We are the only Green hotel in Maine certified by the Audubon Society, and are Platinum Award Winner on Trip Advisor.

Again thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The room was clean and the staff was helpful with all questions. They offered the choice of a hot breakfast if you wanted to upgrade from the free continental breakfast. The free breakfast had plenty of fresh items available. We had a package that included the hot breakfast and it was great. We also included a nature cruise in our package and it to was great! We would go back to this hotel if we were to come back to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A beautiful hotel right on the ocean in lovely surroundings, with Acadia National Park only a mile away. Service was excellent, welcoming, friendly, extremely efficient and helpful. Room very clean, well-appointed, with balcony overlooking the ocean. Town itself charming and people very friendly. Free shuttle service from hotel into town and throughout the Park. Definitely worth a return stay.
A hotel to remember and re-visit!

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the newest building: The Atlantic View Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in the older building which was beautifully furnished. I felt like we were staying in a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel room. It had a refrigerator which was nice to keep our beverages cold that we bought in town. The view from the balcony was exceptional! The cleaning lady was super friendly and left us a pair of swans made from towels on our bed one day. My only concern was that it was on the second floor with no stairs. Luckily, my husband and I are healthy enough to make the trek up and down stairs, but we were not warned when we checked in that there would not be an elevator in that building. The pool was great and the free breakfast was awesome - way more than your average continental breakfast - and service people clearing tables and pouring more coffee was also a big plus!

Room Tip: Ask for the older building (if you are okay with stairs) - it has the better view and is a more quai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing