We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay while in Bar Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Atlantic Oceanside in in the beginning of October. It was a getaway for my husband and myself. After almost a ten hour ride, I was praying that our choice of where to stay would make it worthwile. We were not dissapointed. We stayed in the newest building and had a wonderful ocean view. The rooms were very current, very well kept, and amazingly clean. Great shower, hated to get out of it every day! My husband got up every day to go into town to capture the sunrise, and every evening to capture the sunset. It was a very quick 5 minute drive to the center of town, and I like the peacefulness of where we were located as compared to staying in town. The Bistro was wonderful for breakfast...lots to choose from. With the package we chose, we got two free breakfasts that were very generous, so the continental breakfast would have been just fine. We also had a dinner included at the Bar Harbor Hotel which was amazing. Also had dinner at Poorboy's on Main Street which was wonderful too.
The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk was so accommodating with giving us directions and maps to drive along the coast, and pointed out areas of interest to us. Since Arcadia National Park was closed, we just drove along the coast through to Camden which was lovely. We were sorry to leave, and will be returning to this lovely place. Scenery is just beautiful. If you've ever thought about visiting Maine, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building, 4th floor. Amazing ocean views, can see the cruise ships when they come i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceancity58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside for a week in October, 2013. Both the bathroom and the room itself were very big. We had a balcony overlooking the bay and it was so enjoyable. Coffee on the balcony with the beautiful view was great. We booked one of their package deals and it was a bargain. It included a dinner at the beautiful Reading Room Restaurant with an ocean front view. This restaurant was voted one of the top 500 restaurants in the world back in 2007-8. The food was fantastic. The package deal included a free bus tour of the park and a ride on the Schooner Margaret Todd. Even though the schooner ride was recommended to us, we didn't go, because the weather was rainy, cold, and very windy. The hotel is about an hour away from Bangor, Maine,. Go there and take the Stephen King tour. Very informative and enjoyable. Visit the LL Bean outlet in Ellsworth and in Bangor. The Chart restaurant a short distance from the hotel is another great seafood place. Our package deal included two full breakfasts and both were delicious. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate too. Only problem was that the bathtub was very slippery, but we solved that by buying a bath mat at the hardware store in town.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, ask for a room in the 6000's. Although this is an older building, our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Atlantic Oceanside in the middle of October, 2013. Unfortunately while we were there Arcadia National Park was closed. We found the hotel to be clean, well-kept, and reasonably priced. Our room was very nice and had a wonderful view of the harbor and cruise ships. The room was clean, comfortable, and roomy and we had our own private deck. This hotel is about a mile from downtown Bar Harbor, but we found it very easy getting back and forth. The young men in the hotel's Bistro were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating and the rest of the staff were very friendly and always spoke to you. We found the breakfast to be quite good, except a better job could be done getting fresh, good tasting pastries. This is a nice place to stay and we definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Willows for three nights and found our stay very nice and relaxing. We especially enjoyed the view of the harbor from our own personal deck. Close drive to downtown Bar Harbor shopping and restaurants and Acadia National Park. Breakfast was well done and had quality ingredients. TV in our room was a small converted computer monitor and regular TV in sofa area was quite ancient and not really up to par for the cost of the room. Otherwise the stay was great,

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the harbor are roomier and a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwood8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice, comfortable, roomy and great views from the deck. Usually get a room. Much nicer having more space. Felt homey and more relaxing than a hotel room. The gas fireplace was nice to have and cozy on chillier nights. Good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beamazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were very pleased with all the facilities. The view was fantastic. The food was enjoyable and the staff was great. We found Cape Rosier and we stopped in Freeport. A great trip.and good base for seeing a lot of the area. We took the 2 hour boat trip and saw a lot of sea animals..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were very pleased with the room in the Willows which includes a full breakfast served by very attentive staff. The room was huge and the deck overlooking the water was large. We went on the front porch of the Willows every evening to drink some wine and watch the sunset. It felt like our own private retreat. I will request room 811 on our next visit. They also reserved us a great table at the Reading Room in Bar Harbor Inn on a Saturday night. Great staff and great value!!!

Room Tip: Stay at the Willows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing