We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“moderate value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
“moderate value”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

the owners have made a solid effort in maintaining this old facility. everything from restaurant to pool to conference center to bathrooms to linens were exceptionally clean. furniture was dated and scuffed a bit, yet spotless and fully functional. coffee and mini fridge in rooms were a plus. bathrooms small yet recently remodeled. poor insulation allowed for toilet and shower usage to be heard in rooms underneath the activity. complimentary breakfast fit for a king. located too far north of Bar Harbor to walk on busy Rte 3, yet during summer an occasional shuttle bus will do the trick.

Room Tip: all have ocean views. choose upper floors for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weathergenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    417
    112
    52
    24
See reviews for
390
485
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great view from our balcony! Room was clean with plenty of space to move around. There is a small pier on the property which was great for viewing the sunrise since we couldn't go up to Cadillac Mt. Staff was very helpful giving us tips on what to do and places we could go since Acadia was officially closed. We will definitely stay here again if we decide to visit Acadia again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDawgTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The staff was accommodating and helpful and the room with the Oceanside balcony view was wonderful! Will definitely stay again next time we visit Bar Harbor. We enjoyed the nature cruise from the dock right at the hotel. Sunrise was spectacular and we were just a hop, skip, and jump away from Acadia National Park. The front desk staff provide excellent recommendations for dining choices in addition to the restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside on our recent trip to Bar Harbor (Oct. 7-10, 2013) and were very glad we did. We arrived late via a Cape Air flight from Boston but our luggage did not make it. They young man at the front desk was sympathetic, giving us much needed toiletries AND upgrading us to a fabulous room in the Willows. Our room was spectacular and its spacious private patio was perfect for watching the boats and marveling at the foliage the next day. The continental breakfast with scones, turnovers, cereal, fresh fruit, and coffee was perfect each morning. The restaurant in the hotel had the best shrimp tacos I've ever eaten and the seafood chowder they served should not be missed. Hotel employees from management down to housekeepers were professional and accommodating. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in the Willows, room 813. It is a huge room with a 4 poster bed (very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeTj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Atlantic Oceanside in in the beginning of October. It was a getaway for my husband and myself. After almost a ten hour ride, I was praying that our choice of where to stay would make it worthwile. We were not dissapointed. We stayed in the newest building and had a wonderful ocean view. The rooms were very current, very well kept, and amazingly clean. Great shower, hated to get out of it every day! My husband got up every day to go into town to capture the sunrise, and every evening to capture the sunset. It was a very quick 5 minute drive to the center of town, and I like the peacefulness of where we were located as compared to staying in town. The Bistro was wonderful for breakfast...lots to choose from. With the package we chose, we got two free breakfasts that were very generous, so the continental breakfast would have been just fine. We also had a dinner included at the Bar Harbor Hotel which was amazing. Also had dinner at Poorboy's on Main Street which was wonderful too.
The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk was so accommodating with giving us directions and maps to drive along the coast, and pointed out areas of interest to us. Since Arcadia National Park was closed, we just drove along the coast through to Camden which was lovely. We were sorry to leave, and will be returning to this lovely place. Scenery is just beautiful. If you've ever thought about visiting Maine, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building, 4th floor. Amazing ocean views, can see the cruise ships when they come i...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is very "green", and I appreciated how proactive they were. To save these beautiful places, being environmentally friendly has to be a part.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceancity58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside for a week in October, 2013. Both the bathroom and the room itself were very big. We had a balcony overlooking the bay and it was so enjoyable. Coffee on the balcony with the beautiful view was great. We booked one of their package deals and it was a bargain. It included a dinner at the beautiful Reading Room Restaurant with an ocean front view. This restaurant was voted one of the top 500 restaurants in the world back in 2007-8. The food was fantastic. The package deal included a free bus tour of the park and a ride on the Schooner Margaret Todd. Even though the schooner ride was recommended to us, we didn't go, because the weather was rainy, cold, and very windy. The hotel is about an hour away from Bangor, Maine,. Go there and take the Stephen King tour. Very informative and enjoyable. Visit the LL Bean outlet in Ellsworth and in Bangor. The Chart restaurant a short distance from the hotel is another great seafood place. Our package deal included two full breakfasts and both were delicious. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate too. Only problem was that the bathtub was very slippery, but we solved that by buying a bath mat at the hardware store in town.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, ask for a room in the 6000's. Although this is an older building, our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Atlantic Oceanside in the middle of October, 2013. Unfortunately while we were there Arcadia National Park was closed. We found the hotel to be clean, well-kept, and reasonably priced. Our room was very nice and had a wonderful view of the harbor and cruise ships. The room was clean, comfortable, and roomy and we had our own private deck. This hotel is about a mile from downtown Bar Harbor, but we found it very easy getting back and forth. The young men in the hotel's Bistro were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating and the rest of the staff were very friendly and always spoke to you. We found the breakfast to be quite good, except a better job could be done getting fresh, good tasting pastries. This is a nice place to stay and we definitely would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing