We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here in fall while here for MDI marathon. There are several buildings that make up the hotel and we stayed in one on the ocean. The room was dated but clean and had ample space. The staff was very friendly and the homemade spreads at breakfast were wonderful. A good resting place while out exploring the island and town. Bar Harbor was beautiful as was Acadia NP. This hotel was a great launching point for both of these destinations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer38N90W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We are so thrilled that your stay was good for you during the MDI marathon. We are truly happy that you choose our hotel and want you to know that we listen to our guest. We are currently renovating all the Maine building guest rooms, and they will be brand new for the 2014 season.. Also, thank you for mentioning our breakfast, we pride ourselves in having the best complimentary breakfast in Bar Harbor. Thanks so much for you sharing on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    436
    122
    52
    24
See reviews for
413
516
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside in December 2013. Though it wasn't the time of year for tourists, I was there on business and it enticed me to come back for a vacation during the warmer months.

The room and especially the bed were very comfortable, and I had a balcony that overlooked the harbor - see pics. The rooms are nicely updated and have digital thermostats.

The service was over the top excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even called me when I got to my room to make sure everything was in order.

I ate at the Bistro one evening, and felt it was a little overpriced, but still very delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesserenee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for the great review! We have worked hard this year to do our best to have happy guests! I agree completely about the rooms and beds. I am excited to announce that we are re-doing all of our Maine building guest rooms this winter. They will rival the Atlantic View guest rooms in there comfort and beauty. We thank you for staying with us! Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hensley, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here the first week of Nov. 2013. The room we stayed in was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Large, uncluttered room with a bathroom that rivaled my home! As a shower person, I loved the "real" shower with doors instead of a clingy shower curtain! It's nice to take a shower without standing in water from a poor draining tub also. The view was beautiful, staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast each morning. We had a reservation for one night but ended up staying five nights. The hotel location ended up being very convenient for our daily "road trips". I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for the great review! We have worked hard this year to do our best to have happy guests! I agree completely about the rooms and bathrooms. I am glad you also enjoyed the breakfast. I am excited to announce that we are re-doing all of our Maine building guest rooms this winter. They will rival the Atlantic View guest rooms in there comfort and beauty. We thank you for staying with us! Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in the late fall season 2013 and negotiated a great rate. Our no view room with 1 queen bed was adorable! Cozy, clean and quiet. Comfortable bed, quilted bedspread, antique furniture and even a refridgerator. The building we stayed in had parlor rooms with fireplaces, reading rooms and lots of space to gather with family and friends. The ocean views from the back lawn area were amazing. The complimentary morning breakfast room was incredible! Tables full of fresh fruit, home-made pastries, waffles, eggs, cereal, oatmeal, juices and coffee. Wait staff even poured coffee refills for us at our table. It was close to Acadia National Park and a short drive to downtown Bar Harbor. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We appreciated the dog-friendly accomodations. While simple, the room and beds were clean and cmofortable. A better-controlled heat system would be an improvement. We could not determine how high we had set the heat & woke up dehydrated in the night. great view! enjoyed the hot tub and pool. great price/value.

Room Tip: 6106 in small satellite building had great view and privacy
See more room tips
Green Features: Thank you for doing a good job in this respect. This is important to me.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

family of 3 stayed overnight in late Oct. We stayed in the main building to be close to the indoor pool and hot tub. The staff was very accommodating and professional. Loved having an ocean view, the deck was very sturdy, the room was clean and comfortable. The temperature in the room was perfect without us having to adjust anything, We enjoyed the indoor saltwater pool. The free breakfast was very good. Minutes to Acadia or Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: all rooms have an ocean view. I had read in other reviews that the rooms in the main building were d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed off season and enjoyed a clean room, nice breakfast and courteous staff. The restaurant is quite expensive for the very small quantities they serve. Try arriving before 8pm so you can grab a bite in town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing