We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2008

My wife and our 2 golden retrievers went to The Atlantic Oaks for a week. It was exactly as described here on trip advisor we had a really good experience. The place could not have been more perfect for our vacation. It was a great place if you have pets. We stayed in one of the buildings that stands away from the main hotel. We had our own entrance with a great view of the water. The room was quiet and clean. There were many great places on the property to walk your dog. They provided dog waste clean up stations which made things easy. Access to the many awesome things to do on Mt. Desert Island was quick and easy. I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RickParham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2008

After spending a long weekend in Bar Harbor and seeing some of the other hotels and motels, this is out of many, the best for not only the value, but for being cosest to the ocean and having the best uninterrupted views!! This hotel consists of 6 buildings which from the outside look like a cluster of different styles and not that impressive. But on the inside, the rooms are all brand new and very spacious. So much that you could fit an entire family in and still have plenty of room. The property is large and has two pools, one indoor and one outdoor and both salt water and heated! The staff is friendly from check to check out and there is a conference center as well and continental breakfast. If you stay here you will be blown away by te views. Ask to stay in building 5 or 6 because the views are unobstructed and every room has a private deck with chairs. The view is so good and peaceful you forget you are in a hotel. The location is right along route 3, 5 minutes from Acadia main entrance and a short 2 mintue drive to town where there is plenty of parking all the time, or you can take the free shuttles that pick up right in the hotel lot. In all this was worth every penny and you still save money compared to the other nearby hotels that cost over hundred bucks more! Do yourself a favor, well visiting Bar Habor, stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We had a wonderful, peaceful two-night stay at The Willows, Suite 825. Beautifully decorated with gorgeous views of Frenchman Bay. This is a home built in 1913 and you are invited to explore to your heart's content! The provided robes were extremely comfortable, the bathroom was updated. (Caution: Turn on the shower BEFORE you step in, if you don't want to get your hair soaked! Water comes out of shower head instantly!!) The grounds at Atlantic Oakes offer some beautiful scenery, particularly around The Willows property.
The staff was friendly and helpful and although you are "on your own" at The Willows, they sent someone over from the main hotel immediately when we called. It was actually nice to be there with no staff in the house and made it seem that we were just visiting family. We never saw or heard any other guests.
The breakfast passes were a wonderful touch and the food was very good. We would definitely stay at The Willows again. It truly was like staying with family!
Just FYI, we had a bad experience at The Fish House Grill, which overlooks the wharf in Bar Harbor. The waiter was incredibly rude, argued with my mother about what she had ordered after learning he had brought the wrong salad, and just ruined our whole dining experience that night. Then, when the bills came, my parents were still charged for the wrong item (which just happened to cost double what the item ordered cost!). When my husband talked to the manager about it, the charge then showed up on our bill!! We're still waiting to see how they charged it to our credit card and how it will be resolved as the manager told my husband that we "might" have been charged TWICE. Also, we were automatically charged for a 15 % tip when the waiter actually did not deserve half that amount. Anyway, I would certainly never go there again, nor recommend the Fish House Grill to anyone!
We would highly recommend eating at Testa's. I'd love to go there again for the Lobster Fettucine. Service, food, atmosphere, view, all magnificent! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Doretta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

My mom and I stayed here while checking out various places for my May 2008 wedding. We had to get a new room because of mobility issues and they were quite accommodating. The patio off our room looked right onto the water, only 35 yards away! Sunrise was gorgeous every morning. The staff was helpful and our room was clean. Not the most modern, but clean none the less. If you are looking for a modern bathroom, this isn't the place. The bathroom was still functional and clean, but certainly not updated in a while.

I enjoyed it so much, some of my wedding guests are staying there this year. For the price, you can't beat the location and the views. If you're looking for a budget friendly place, but still within a 3 minute drive or 5-20 minute walk(depending on your fitness level) of downtown Bar Harbor, this place is great.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rugby1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Came to Bar Harbor last Memorial Day weekend. Had planned on coming months earlier and had booked a room online.
When we arrived, they offered an oceanfront room--with no cost increase!! Memorial Day is still a bit early for Bar Harbor so the rooms were available, but still a nice upgrade ($90+/-) per night. If your going early or late in season, try to book a cheaper room and look for upgrade. Have or get AAA; it saved us $35.
Hotel complex is like a campus layout. 6 or 7 smaller, 2-3 story buildings sprinkled about the property, with one or two 4 story units. This is not a typical hotel. "Oceanview" is actually "harbor" view, but beautiful nonetheless. Well worth the visit; you can walk down to the shore and walk along the water. Very nice.
Free breakfast was not included with the room (offered for a fee but should be included); but the breakfast cafes in town are much better.
Room we stayed in (building 5 at water's edge) was laid out as typical hotel room but had a nice, seated balcony overlooking the water. It helps when the weather is nice (mid 70's to low 80's).
Location is about 1.5 miles to center of town. Not a bad walk but we drove, which was fine.
Staff was very friendly; maid service is good but our building seamed to be one of the last to get made-up--probably because it is one of the further ones from the main building. It's no big deal considering we were siteseeing most days and rarely used our room for anything but sleeping. Free internet-enabled computers are located in the main hotel lobby; convenient to check mail, etc.
Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and have already booked the same room for this year.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jayrueck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We stayed here one night in October, 2007. We arrived in Bar Harbor w/ no reservation and called several places and prices seemed very high for so late in the season. We called this property directly after driving past it. Got an excellent rate of $81.00 for ocean view. The property has a couple of different kinds of buildings/rooms. There is a main hotel building and then some smaller 2 and 3 story building that are near the water. We had a nice view of the harbor and ferry terminal and were literally a "stones throw" from the water. There is no restaurant on the property but they did offer a breakfast for a fee. We didn't partake so no information on that. They do have 2 computers in the lobby for guest use. The room was a bit on the old side but perfectly suitable for our needs. We were only here for one night and wanted to see Bar Harbor, not a hotel room. Bathroom was dated but clean. There was a mini fridge in the room. We had a balcony. There was also a washer and dryer just down from our room and they sold laundry detergent very cheaply at the front desk. At this time of year, there were not many guests and it was very quiet and peaceful here. Sitting out on the balcony at night and in the morning was great! The walk to town is about one mile. If you are looking for a fancy room w/ lots of amenities or a resort atmosphere, this is not for you. If you are looking for a clean place to stay at a good price while you explore the area, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

I was concerned after reading the reviews here, but it was better than I expected. My room was in one of the buildings along the water (Building 5) and it had been renovated, was very large, and had lovely views out over the bay. I was there for 4 nights and never heard a noise from another guest room (although it is off season). The staff was friendly and helpful. The $8.50 buffet breakfast wasn't
very good. In the offseason the city's shuttle doesn't run, and it is a 1-mile walk to town (i.e. food). There is a very good pub restaurant across the street (open after 4 PM this time of year). Convenient email stations and cocoa&coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mav111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing