We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently enjoyed a few days here as part of an old car tour. We had used this facility before and it has changed hands and been extensively redone since 2004. We stayed in the new building and the room was great! It was very large and had a nice water view from the balcony. I especially enjoyed that someone finally put the shower head at 7' or so, no more limbo dance in the shower!

The staff was great and the room was very well kept every day. With fifty antique cars the parking was important and worked well. If there is a complaint it is that they split our group up among the buildings rather than have us all together- a minor complaint at best.

Room Tip: The new Atlantic building is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    414
    109
    52
    24
See reviews for
382
483
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

First, the property is beautiful and set on the water. I had a wonderful view and it was nice letting the breeze in at night. I was there for business and my colleagues are wonderful so we made it partly pleasure, going into the downtown area in the evenings. We also made it one morning to Sand Beach and it set a great tone for the rest of the day.

The best part was having the other front desk person, Leonard? Lionel? Cook personally drive me to the county airport. The shuttle driver I paid in advance from Cadillac Joe's (separate company, separate review) didn't show up due to a driver error. This man Mr. Cook at the front desk saved the day!! He was very pleasant and we had great conversation about Maine and traveling. I have to say, he gets 5 gold stars....

When I had checked out, the young lady behind the desk was very gracious and pleasant. I wish I could remember her name. I checked out Thursday, June 12 around 9:30 am. She tried to call Cadillac Joe's for me and they weren't answering....That's how Mr. Cook got involved, overhearing the conversation. What a hero! I made my plane right on time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventuresintravel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at the Atlantic building and the room was great. Everything looks new and clean. All rooms have a balcony that faces the water. We witnessed a wedding ceremony right outside the balcony and it was really beautiful. If you are planning to do the nature cruise, the boat is docked right on the hotel.

Breakfast is included and it was ok. Typical continental breakfast. But the outside sitting area is great and have a view of the water as well. If you go during the off season, you can tried your luck and just walk in with the coupon book (can be picked up at any rest stop) and that would give you a much lower rate.

The location is really nice. It is not in the center of bar harbor, but it is a close drive. It is also about a mile to Cadillac Mountain, which made it easier for those who wants to get up early to watch the sunrise!

Room Tip: Choose the atlantic building or the ocean building. They are right by the water. The main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lazygirl2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guymon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in The Willows building of the resort, an early 20th century guest house and loved it. Period styling, furnishings, wallpaper. Modern private plumbing. No elevator in that building. Right on the shore with a fantastic view of the ocean. Complementary and much better than usual breakfast in variety and taste served in the main building.

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks the ocean if that is why you are there.
See more room tips
Green Features: We did not look into this so therefor have no comment.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spectacular view from our pet friendly room. Clean, spacious room with all the amenities we needed to make our stay comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to vacationers traveling with dogs. Bar Harbor in general, is quite dog friendly, and a great destination to travel to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singingscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the newer building (which was very nice), and our patio allowed us to walk right out to the pebble beach where there were nice adirondack chairs to relax in and look out on the water. So peaceful! The hotel is about a mile away from the congestion of downtown Bar Harbor which I liked for the quiet, but a little far if you wanted to walk - downtown parking is a bit tricky, and I can imagine that mid-summer is even more challenging. The indoor pool and hot tub was a plus since the temps in late May were a little chilly for this Floridian! They came in very handy and refreshing after our sea kayaking adventure! The price was right, and with breakfast included - it was a plus. Also, the hotel staff was very helpful as they recommended Poor Boys restaurant for our first night - and with lobster as a daily goal for meals, they fit the bill perfectly in every way. Oh, and don't forget Poor Boy's special blueberry daiquiri (w/o alcohol for me) was AWESOME! Loved Bar Harbor! A great trip to Acadia, shops, food & adventure. Fun, fun, fun!

Room Tip: Loved the patio, but would have preferred a room on the top floor so as to not hear the neighbors ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is located just 1.3 miles from the Hulls Cove Visitor Center to Acadia National Park and just 1 mile from downtown. The room was clean and the view from our balcony was spectacular. The complimentary breakfast was very good, hot food items, fresh fruit and an assortment of pastry. The rooms also have a microwave and mid size fridge.

Room Tip: 3rd floor of the main building offers spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing