We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, unique option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a king room in the 5300 building and then one night in the 'mansion'.
Pros- 5300 room had sofabed (which wasn't included in online description) made it perfect for our family of 6, with our air mattress.
Front desk staff was very helpful
The mansion room was pretty neat
Both rooms were clean, first one smelled a little musty.
Con- breakfast is pretty minimal
Overall, I'm pretty picky and I'd stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Michelle K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. As a large property with several building we are able to provide guests with many different rooming options.

I am always looking for ways to improve our services and I wanted to let you know that we do provide a full breakfast menu for those that want more than our Continental.

I personally love staying in the Willows Mansion.

Again that you for staying with us!

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Atlantic Oceanside Hotel was nice. It's a great location and very centrally located. It was close to DT, Acadia State Park and well as other sightseeing locations. I thought the breakfast option was really good. A ton of food, the room could be bigger but the great part about breakfast was the older gentleman that works the breakfast room. Here is someone that really enjoys his job. A friendly face each morning, always smiling and worked the room like no other. This guy is a gem, give this guy a raise!!!!!!! Our room had a great view of the ocean. Great sunrise and sunsets. We stayed in one of the 2 buildings in back, I believe bldg 4? It was nothing fancy and we weren't expecting fancy. For the most part it was a nice room however it did need some TLC. The screen door was off the track and actually broken. The microwave was unplugged (no big deal) but where it was located, there was nowhere to plug it in. We had to move that around to make it work. The carpet was quite dirty, there was wall paper peeling off the walls, and a few other minor cosmetic items that would help spruce the place up. The pools were nice but 2 times our kids went swimming, no towels. We asked the front desk on both occasions that there were no towels but they never brought any down. We asked a 2nd time and the guy at the front desk (not very friendly) said he called maintenance and that's their issue. To me, that's horrible service. It was a bit of a walk back to the room without a towel. All in all, a nice place to stay for a family. It has all the amenities you need, great location. Just needs to be cleaned up a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snydes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suit. Everything was clean and comfortable. Room service was great. Nice, quiet location at a reasonable distance from bar harbor. The view was spectacular and there are boats that offer tours at their dock. Brittany, at the front desk, provided us with excellent information. We'd go a second time for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Brent,

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and you kind review on TA. I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our family suites. When i moved here at the beginning of this season I had the pleasure of staying in one of these suites for 2 weeks and I too enjoyed watching the boats go in and out from our pier.

I hope you return to Bar Harbor and stay with us again.

All my best,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked a room with a king bed and two queens for our large family. When we got to our room it was only a double queen room. After discussing options with the front desk, we accepted their offer of two rooms (without additional charges) in their Willow Mansion (there are several different buildings and room types) They let us view the rooms before we decided but I have to say they made it right. It is not far from town, there is a shuttle that comes every 20 minutes but a cab into town (to avoid trying to find two parking spots) was $5 each way. Complimentary breakfast included fresh fruit (whole apples, oranges, bananas and plums) sliced honey dew, cantaloupe, watermelon and pineapple, vanilla, strawberry and blueberry yogurts. There were hard boiled eggs, hot oatmeal with several toppings, house made blueberry muffins and coffee cakes, and various breads, bagels, and English muffins. For those who are gluten free there was an entirely separate table with JUST gluten free items including a gluten free toaster with a sign indicating it is just for gluten free. That's awesome in my book, since my mother is gluten free!! They have a private pebble beach, a complimentary DVD lending library (DVD player in every room) As far as the Willow Mansion, both rooms had a king size bed and a balcony that spreads out the entire floor (so we could meet each other there and be together) One room had a pull out sofa (tv in both rooms) There was an indoor, heated salt water pool as well as a hot tub. Both were awesome!! My only "issues" were both times we went to the pools (there's an outdoor pool and hot tub too) there were no towels as we were told there would be. There was a place for them, but the racks were empty. If that's my only issue, you can say we had a super awesome time at this wonderful place. Also, their wifi is not good. Even a staff member said an I.T. guy was there that day. People use it for Netflix, etc. so they just can't keep up. The only time I could connect was 7am. Very minor issues (for us) We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I think the Willow Mansion rooms are romantic. It's an older building with beautiful furniture a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear TammyJoL,

Thanks for writing this nice review on TA. I wanted to let you know that both the internet and pool towel issues have been resolved, we upgraded our internet capabilities last week and received a large order of pool towels that were on back order.

Also thank you for pointing out our gluten free breakfast options, as this seems to be something that many guests have been very happy with.

If your travels bring you back to Bar Harbor I hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting Acadia National Park. The hotel is comprised of several different buildings, and we were in the main building with the front office/lobby. The room was great except the Wi-Fi connection was slow at times and the AC unit was a little loud. Continental breakfast was solid with several different cold options as well as hot food you can order for a price. Location is great with a beautiful view of the bay. There are free shuttles through Acadia in the summer that stop right in front of the hotel. Bar Harbor is about a mile away. I would stay here i I visited Acadia again.

The patio dining area outside the main building makes for a great way to enjoy the view!

Room Tip: There are several different buildings. The ones closer to the water are newer and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Greetings Cat L,

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. I really appreciate your feedback especially with regards to the WiFi issues that you experienced. We had been planning a major upgrade to the WiFi for the entire property for quite some time and I am happy to say that it was completed yesterday.

I hope you will come back once again to experience our beautiful views of Frenchman's Bay and our improved WiFi.

All my best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We decided on 4 stars because the location was so perfect. Right on the ocean plus the convenience of proximity to Acadia and pet friendly-ness. Our room was ground level so pet issues were minimal. The room could use a refresh, since pet owners would appreciate updated decor. Other rooms were newer. The shuttle to downtown worked just as billed and we had a good and easy trip into town for dinner. We were able to scoot up to Cadillac mountain after check-in and caught some gorgeous views. All in all, this is a 3 1/2 star hotel whose location and pet welcome attitude tipped us to 4 stars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelwithpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Greetings Ramsey,

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to wright a review on TA and wanted you to know that we are looking at adding a few amenities for our guests that travel with their pets. I hope you will come back and stay with us again and enjoy our wonderful views.

All my best,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at Atlantic Oceanside 4 nights in mid-July 2014. We had no reservation at check-in and were seeking an ocean view balcony room. We got room 821 in the Willows, an older building closest to the ocean. The view and balcony were superb. The room was average with one significant problem being the roll up blinds which worked but only just barely. The room rate was less than half of what we were quoted at the Bar Harbor Inn. This was in our view an extraordinary value.

Room Tip: An ocean view room in the Willows has a great view of the water. There is no elevator so lugging bag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Greetings Juddray,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed the beautiful views from our balconies. I do apologize for the inconvenience with the blinds and wanted you to know that I have asked our team to make sure that they are working properly.

I hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

All my best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 42 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 42 in Bar Harbor
729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £100 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing