We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant & Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Sprawling resort like oceanside hotel, family of four, 2 days stay, beautiful ocean view spacious suite, comfy beds, free high speed internet, clean, comfy lounge sofas, comfy deck chairs in balcony, sumptuous complimentary breakfast, Nature or Fishing or Seabirds cruises from its own private pier discounted for hotel guests and conducted by New Horizon Cruises. Turned out a very pleasant family destination! Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor is just under five minutes drive. Highly recommended for families with or without accompanying children.

Room Tip: Corner suites with beautiful ocean view. Even other ocean view rooms should do well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBManjeshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Greetings RBManjeshwar,

Thank you for your kind review on TA and i'm glad that you enjoyed one of our spacious Family Suites.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    431
    119
    52
    24
See reviews for
404
510
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I stayed there for three nights this summer. It was just ok. The shower wasn't that clean, the look was outdated and service was just ok. This was our first time in bar harbor, next time I would stay at a different hotel. The location was good, but it was not worth the cost. We were on the bottom floor and could hear everything from the people staying above. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable and I felt sore from the bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Can't say more than okay about this place, it just looks shabby & rather depressing. Although our room did have a lovely view the furniture was gouged, a dark green carpet didn't appear really clean and there wasn't a hint of color or decoration in the room. It was convenient for our stay but we wouldn't go back.
Breakfast looked pretty unappealing so we went down the road to Udder Heaven and some great blueberry pancakes!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTravelor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Check-in is smooth, the front desk is very helpful with local information. The continental breakfast is one of the best with options.

You can not turn off your door light if you are on the first floor with old building like building 5 or 6. And the door binder can't close so it leave lots of lightning during night time. It is kind of moisture and the dehumidifier is very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at second or high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a king room in the 5300 building and then one night in the 'mansion'.
Pros- 5300 room had sofabed (which wasn't included in online description) made it perfect for our family of 6, with our air mattress.
Front desk staff was very helpful
The mansion room was pretty neat
Both rooms were clean, first one smelled a little musty.
Con- breakfast is pretty minimal
Overall, I'm pretty picky and I'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Michelle K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. As a large property with several building we are able to provide guests with many different rooming options.

I am always looking for ways to improve our services and I wanted to let you know that we do provide a full breakfast menu for those that want more than our Continental.

I personally love staying in the Willows Mansion.

Again that you for staying with us!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, MN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Atlantic Oceanside Hotel was nice. It's a great location and very centrally located. It was close to DT, Acadia State Park and well as other sightseeing locations. I thought the breakfast option was really good. A ton of food, the room could be bigger but the great part about breakfast was the older gentleman that works the breakfast room. Here is someone that really enjoys his job. A friendly face each morning, always smiling and worked the room like no other. This guy is a gem, give this guy a raise!!!!!!! Our room had a great view of the ocean. Great sunrise and sunsets. We stayed in one of the 2 buildings in back, I believe bldg 4? It was nothing fancy and we weren't expecting fancy. For the most part it was a nice room however it did need some TLC. The screen door was off the track and actually broken. The microwave was unplugged (no big deal) but where it was located, there was nowhere to plug it in. We had to move that around to make it work. The carpet was quite dirty, there was wall paper peeling off the walls, and a few other minor cosmetic items that would help spruce the place up. The pools were nice but 2 times our kids went swimming, no towels. We asked the front desk on both occasions that there were no towels but they never brought any down. We asked a 2nd time and the guy at the front desk (not very friendly) said he called maintenance and that's their issue. To me, that's horrible service. It was a bit of a walk back to the room without a towel. All in all, a nice place to stay for a family. It has all the amenities you need, great location. Just needs to be cleaned up a bit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snydes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suit. Everything was clean and comfortable. Room service was great. Nice, quiet location at a reasonable distance from bar harbor. The view was spectacular and there are boats that offer tours at their dock. Brittany, at the front desk, provided us with excellent information. We'd go a second time for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Brent,

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and you kind review on TA. I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our family suites. When i moved here at the beginning of this season I had the pleasure of staying in one of these suites for 2 weeks and I too enjoyed watching the boats go in and out from our pier.

I hope you return to Bar Harbor and stay with us again.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing