We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed on the top floor of the Maine building. Gorgeous views. Staff was pleasant and helpful. I had a phone charger die on me so I threw it away. The maid pulled it out and left me an "are you sure" note. I was impressed by that. Restaurant was good with good views. Only problem was the thin walls. We could hear our neighbor's TV. Would go back in aheartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a upper floor room. Views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Glenn F,

Thank you for staying with us and the nice review on TA. I see that you are from Ohio, I just moved from Ohio so I hope when you come back we get a chance to chat. Go Bucks!

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    413
    109
    52
    24
See reviews for
381
481
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has a beautiful location, with ocean front rooms.

We stayed in their new building, which was very spacious . The rooms have large balconies with a fantastic view.

The breakfast room is a bit tattered , but clean. Pools are fantastic, offering an indoor and outdoor. This is especially helpful if you have kids as it provides an activity for rainy or cooler days.
Our only issue they staff and owners have a difficult time enforcing a no smoking policy . We had rude neighbors who smoked on the balcony non stop. We couldn't use ours when they were present, or leave our sliding doors opened. They should enforce a penalty
Other than that an excellent choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbriody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Vbriody,

I am so glad that you enjoyed staying with us this past week and for your nice comments on our hotel amenities. I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you because of another guest smoking on their balcony, especially when we clearly have a no smoking policy. We will be doing an upgrade to our breakfast room very soon.

I hope that you will choose to return to Bar Harbor in the future and stay with us again.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to stop in Bar Harbor on our way home from a two week vacation farther north. We were very limited on where we could stay due to having our dog with us, as well as the fact that we called the day before to make the reservation.

The room was $219 with a $35 pet fee. We arrived at 1:30 and were told our room was not ready and we couldn't check in until 3. We decided to change our whale watch tour to the 4:30 trip because we had nowhere to leave our dog.

We returned at 3 and the room was ready. The lobby, room, and breakfast area were very outdated. The complimentary breakfast and the area it is served in needs to be updated and expanded upon. I wouldn't have a problem paying for a breakfast had I any idea.

In looking at the other reviews, I would venture to say that the room we had, which was pet-friendly, is much different than the rest of the hotel. We felt punished for being in a pet friendly room.

Check out time was inflexible as well, 11 or bust. The good news is that Bar Harbor is very dog friendly so you can take them into all the stores and outdoor eating areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear James N,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, we sincerely appreciate all the feedback both positive and negative as that is how we know where we can improve.

Unfortunately we only have 6 pet friendly rooms that are all located in our Oceanside building. The Oceanside building is a bit older however it is right next to the water and these rooms tend to be our best vales especially during the peak season. We do charge a pet fee because of the extra cleaning required. Unfortunately many days we are not able to accommodate late check out requests because we really try hard to have all of our rooms ready for arrivals by 3pm which is earlier that most hotels these days.

if you have any other comments or suggestions please feel free to contact me directly.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hospitality, location ,service, all superb. Our stay there was made spectacular by the service and view from our room. Staff was attentive to all our needs and very informative about the area. Can't say enough about how great it was.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony water side, high up.
See more room tips
Green Features: Water conservation. Maintenance of the shore area. Green area around the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear John P,

I cant tell you how much I appreciate your wonderful review of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. I am the new GM here and I love working and living in this beautiful town. My staff works very hard and I am trying to make sure that everyone here understands that guest service is our number one priority. again thank you for staying with us!

I hope you return again to Bar Harbor and choose to stay with us.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

While I loved the ocean view from our room-- the property is tired and needing some TLC. The rooms are clean and comfortable-- but the tiny bathroom was annoying for 4 people to share over our 3 night stay. Breakfast was convenient-- basic and pleased my kids. Pool was clean and nice-- but had to hunt for towels. Great location near park entrance and clise to town. Did not realize the set up was more motel than hotel with doors opening directly to outside. Don't look for high service- but functional for family travel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kzc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kzc27,

Thanks for taking the time to wright a review on TA. I started here about 6 weeks ago and wanted to let you know that I have been working very hard with the staff to make guest service our number one priority and i'm sorry if that was not visible to you.

Both of our pools and hot tubs are very popular and occasionally we have run out of towels and i am sorry that this has happened. We did just receive a new shipment and I have asked all of our staff to make sure to keep them stocked.

I'm glad that you liked our location and views and hope you will return again.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Check-in was effortless. Staff was friendly. Rooms were very nice, updated bathrooms, clean room tastefully decorated. View was awesome looking out onto the harbor. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello LegalCarol,

What can I say other that thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review. I hope you come back to stay at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and please say hi as my office is right in the lobby.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to extend our trip an extra day. Got this one at a decent price. Was expecting more given the reviews. The room was large but the walls were paper thin. The smoke detector kept chirping around 11 pm. Just a few times. We called down to have someone come up and check it out. Nobody showed and someone called back after about 5 minutes to check on it explaining that the maintenance people had gone home. Thank goodness it had stopped!

The air conditioner was very loud and the room felt clammy. Breakfast is the standard continental fare but very busy with people everywhere.

The staff was very friendly. Don't think we would return given the other options available.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing