We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. Loved the room, the view, the chipmunks outside, the breakfast and the bar. It's a good location and I wish I'd been staying a little longer just to sit out on the verandah and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 0021Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear 0021Kat,

Thank you for this very nice review, as the new GM I really appreciate hearing from our guests.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    417
    112
    52
    24
See reviews for
390
485
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

the view,staff, and rooms were great, i already recommended you to two families already,,, thank you for everything! rode my bicycle down to the harbor and then to the national park beautiful, a well needed R&R

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjn211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear gjn211,

Thank you so much for this very nice review, I truly appreciate you taking time to post this on TA.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Atlantic Oceanside has a gorgeous view of Frenchman's Bay. The rooms are immaculate. Breakfast had lots of selections and seating on the porch. Within walking distance to Bar Harbor and has a bus stop on the property. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Janda S,

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to wright this nice review and for being our guest at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel.

Warm regards,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The location is great, but that is all. For more than $250 a night we had expected (much) more. The walls are made of only wallpaper, breakfast is very poor, the most luxury items are the hard boiled eggs (you can order scrambled eggs etc. billed separately). Althought we were here in the summer, each tv channel showed a lot of snow. During the nights every 30 mins or so we heard a deep tone like a V12 engine was running idle for a few mins. The room was outdated, very old stuff, like the bed wobbled heavily when one turns over. The staff at the desk was not friendly, but I do not blame them, if I worked here, I would also.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Al W,

I am so sorry that you experienced some problems during your stay with us. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests leave happy, refreshed and relaxed and hopefully want to come back again.

I do apologize for not being able address any of your issues before you checked out.

Sincerely,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed on the top floor of the Maine building. Gorgeous views. Staff was pleasant and helpful. I had a phone charger die on me so I threw it away. The maid pulled it out and left me an "are you sure" note. I was impressed by that. Restaurant was good with good views. Only problem was the thin walls. We could hear our neighbor's TV. Would go back in aheartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a upper floor room. Views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Glenn F,

Thank you for staying with us and the nice review on TA. I see that you are from Ohio, I just moved from Ohio so I hope when you come back we get a chance to chat. Go Bucks!

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has a beautiful location, with ocean front rooms.

We stayed in their new building, which was very spacious . The rooms have large balconies with a fantastic view.

The breakfast room is a bit tattered , but clean. Pools are fantastic, offering an indoor and outdoor. This is especially helpful if you have kids as it provides an activity for rainy or cooler days.
Our only issue they staff and owners have a difficult time enforcing a no smoking policy . We had rude neighbors who smoked on the balcony non stop. We couldn't use ours when they were present, or leave our sliding doors opened. They should enforce a penalty
Other than that an excellent choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbriody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Vbriody,

I am so glad that you enjoyed staying with us this past week and for your nice comments on our hotel amenities. I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you because of another guest smoking on their balcony, especially when we clearly have a no smoking policy. We will be doing an upgrade to our breakfast room very soon.

I hope that you will choose to return to Bar Harbor in the future and stay with us again.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to stop in Bar Harbor on our way home from a two week vacation farther north. We were very limited on where we could stay due to having our dog with us, as well as the fact that we called the day before to make the reservation.

The room was $219 with a $35 pet fee. We arrived at 1:30 and were told our room was not ready and we couldn't check in until 3. We decided to change our whale watch tour to the 4:30 trip because we had nowhere to leave our dog.

We returned at 3 and the room was ready. The lobby, room, and breakfast area were very outdated. The complimentary breakfast and the area it is served in needs to be updated and expanded upon. I wouldn't have a problem paying for a breakfast had I any idea.

In looking at the other reviews, I would venture to say that the room we had, which was pet-friendly, is much different than the rest of the hotel. We felt punished for being in a pet friendly room.

Check out time was inflexible as well, 11 or bust. The good news is that Bar Harbor is very dog friendly so you can take them into all the stores and outdoor eating areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear James N,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, we sincerely appreciate all the feedback both positive and negative as that is how we know where we can improve.

Unfortunately we only have 6 pet friendly rooms that are all located in our Oceanside building. The Oceanside building is a bit older however it is right next to the water and these rooms tend to be our best vales especially during the peak season. We do charge a pet fee because of the extra cleaning required. Unfortunately many days we are not able to accommodate late check out requests because we really try hard to have all of our rooms ready for arrivals by 3pm which is earlier that most hotels these days.

if you have any other comments or suggestions please feel free to contact me directly.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing