We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must go down to the sea again........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Family of four stayed two nights in July in the newest part of the complex. Room was average with spacious bathroom and small balcony. The best thing about this property is the fantastic view onto Frenchmans Bay and access to the small stony beach. Outdoor swimming pool and hot tub were great. Free continental breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit,cereal,toast, bagels etc sitting outside on the terrace with that great view again! I could mention the queue for check in due to there being only one member of staff on duty and the subsequent discussion that ensued between staff members when someone else showed up, or the annoying rustling noise whenever you moved in bed, but this would be nit-picking and you can forgive a lot when you have that view!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MargeatLarge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a nice vacation location with a typical Maine beach all its own. Most of the rooms have an excellent ocean view, and the swimming pool seems popular. If you are a vacationing family, this is a pretty good hotel to stay at, a short (though very slow and crowded) ride from town. A restaurant, the Jack Russell, is just across the road and will not disappoint. Should you seek other pleasures, hie thee to the main drag into town, turn left on Cottage, park anywhere you can, and saunter down until you reach the Cottage Pub on your right. Enjoy a Corpse Reviver or perhaps a glass of excellent Pinotage, then saunter across the road to the Finback and prepare to be amazed by their scallop and pork belly appetizer, a stunning dialog of tastes on a bed of greens and corn.

Rooms are spacious and well-maintained, bathrooms likewise, with stone counters. (Not things that count stones, but counters made of stone.) In-room coffee is humdrum but recognizably coffee. The clock radio, which I don't always use, but when I use it, I leave it tuned to PBS, has the audio quality of a child's walkie-talkie.

Walls are thin. Floors are thin. I tried to get a top floor room by calling ahead but was told they were not available. (How is it that hotels don't understand that if someone calls in a room preference like that, they do so for a good reason, and things will not go well for anyone if their preference is ignored?) The first night I was there, I got all of three hours of sleep because the rampaging heffalumps above me were continuously active. The next morning, I informed the manager that I would be forced to check out and find another hotel unless I could be relocated to a top floor room. He was very helpful; I left my bag packed in my room and it was transferred to a suitable room later that day, after which noise was no longer an issue. You might not find such noises troubling, so this might not apply to you.

Breakfast is of the marginally augmented continental persuasion, a series of refined carb foibles and heavily processed fats or carbs to smear them with, better coffee than in the rooms, sliced melons starring as sliced fruit (what, no real fruit like blueberries and strawberries? OK, those aren't fruit, but you get the picture). Some whole apples (though remarkably tasteless and thick skinned ones) plus bananas made it more bearable. You want something more interesting, you pay.

All this is adequate and might merit four stars, mostly for the view, if I were paying, oh, $100 or $150. Maybe $170 at a pinch. But no, the room rates are over $250 a night. Ouch. Overall, the experience (thin ceilings, blah breakfast, etc.) didn't measure up to the cost, so minus a star, though I do understand it was peak season and I suppose that's what the market will bear. Perhaps I am jaundiced because I was not on holiday. Hence my low tolerance for sleep loss and holiday pricing.

I am writing this paragraph in the lobby on my trusty iPad while waiting for an airline check-in page to load. In fact, it started loading a minute before I started writing. It is still loading. This is symptomatic of the wifi here; it is free, so it has that going for it, which is nice, but it is almost unusably s l o o o o o w. That page still hasn't loaded. Finally it has! And I was writing slowly.

This means that for most business users, the wifi might as well not exist. Even vacationers need wifi. Coupled with very poor coverage from major cell carriers in the Bar Harbor area, and thus spotty to nonexistent ability to generate a local hotspot, this is a major, major setback and cost them a star. Upgrading to a more professional system should be a no-brainer. It would be among the upgrades that might bring the overall experience into a closer match with the pricing. I raise them from two to three stars in recognition of this potential, which I counsel them to explore.

Room Tip: Unless you are deaf or immune to noise pollution from heavy hyperactive upper neighbors, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Very well maintained resort with rooms for every taste. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Close to everything. I highly recommend room 813 in Willows building. Old world charm and beauty with modern comfort. Can not wait to go back. Hotel has complimentary breakfast and wi fi. Close to the Acadia park entrance.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laserza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Greetings Laserza,

Thank you for the review on TA and for the nice comments on our beautiful Willows Mansion.
I also love room 813 and I sincerely hope that you will return soon.

All my best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Overall, enjoyed our stay. Very clean, comfortable, modern amenities. Our room in bldg. 4 faced the water and had a great view. Saw a gorgeous sunrise. Pool was a short walk from our room but we did not stay in it for long due to the clumps of hair we saw in it. Breakfast was included in the price, and was a very nice spread. The gentleman server, was a super friendly guy and we appreciated our conversation with him on our last day.

Room Tip: Building 4 close to the pool. Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lovedmyvacation2xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Greetings Lovedmyvacation,

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. I have not seen any complaints on the pool lately but I have asked them to make sure it is checked several time per day.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and conversation with Wade, he is our number one guest service ambassador.

I hope you will chose to return again.

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had high expectations, not only because of all the great reviews but also because of what we spent on the reservation. We were greatly disappointed. The office staff was just so-so and not very welcoming or informative. The room was clean with no major maintenance issues we could see. We paid extra to be on the top floor with a view, but our view was obstructed by a huge tree. Our room was noisy - it was at the top of the stairs and our neighbors were very loud. The bed was extremely uncomfortable - again, I would have expected better for the price. All in all, not worth the money and the hype. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank overpay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Raymond,

I am so sorry that our front desk staff did not make you feel that you were a valued guest. Since I started here 2 months ago I have been working with all of our staff to make sure that they understand how important it is to provide excellent service.

I have spent many hours at the front desk working with our team to help guests make restaurant reservations and provide information on how best to enjoy the park.

Again i'm sorry that we disappointed you.

Sincerely,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Atlantic Oceanside provides a beautiful view of Frenchman's Bay that can be seen from the privacy of your own veranda, or the deck from the main building. Onsite transportation to and from Bar Harbor is a wonderful convenience. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful. The beds were not very comfortable. Breakfast on the deck was a treat with a good variety of food choices, but anything beyond a typical 'continental breakfast' is an additional cost. An added bonus is that the Atlantic Oceanside is home to the Acadian Nature cruise, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Tammy L.

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. I am so sorry that you felt that your bed was uncomfortable. This comment concerns me as we have new beds in most of our property.

I am glad that you enjoyed a cruse on one of Captain Gary's boats and our great views of Frenchman's bay.

I hope that you will return to Bar Harbor and choose to stay at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel.

Regards,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. Loved the room, the view, the chipmunks outside, the breakfast and the bar. It's a good location and I wish I'd been staying a little longer just to sit out on the verandah and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear 0021Kat,

Thank you for this very nice review, as the new GM I really appreciate hearing from our guests.

All my best,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £106 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing