We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid pick, but kinks to work out”
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solid pick, but kinks to work out”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Brand new hotel in Bar Harbor with absolutely wonderful location right at the bottom of Cottage and Main streets. Very genial service staff that were ever available to help. Pricy, but clearly comptetitive given location and season. Downsides have to do with the newness of the hotel that comes with glitches. Air conditioning, for example, was spotty throughout the hotel and service staff had some difficulties getting our bill properly sorted out on departure. These issues should work themselves out over time. Overall a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markmor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    142
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
182
388
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Bar Harbor was our final destination on our vacation and we had planned on staying just a couple of nights. We ended up loving our stay at the West Street hotel so much that we extended our stay to 4 nights! To say that this hotel is wonderful and that the management and staff went above and beyond, is an understatement. Guests are first welcomed at the door with cold bottles of Acqua Panna water and upon entering this brand new, modern hotel you feel the warmth of an ongoing cozy and inviting fireplace. Front desk staff were friendly and prompt. Every floor has a 24 hour pantry station with full service Keurig brewing system stocked with a variety of flavors of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There is also a small refrigerator that is constantly stocked with Acqua Panna water. During the day they will have fruit out and at night a plate of fresh cookies. The rooftop pool has an amazing view of the harbor - great picture taking opportunity. The location is simply the best! You are literally just steps away from all the shops, restaurants and tours, (whale watching, fishing, lighthouse, nature, etc). I would also like to commend the General Manager, Matthew Brestle, for making it all happen. Matt, I can't thank you enough for accommodating my health needs. I found myself in need of a good eye doctor and Matt gave me a great referral. Thank you for making my vacation a perfect one with wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Overlooking beautiful Bay Harbor, 3rd or 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Due to a last-minute addition to our group we needed to find a hotel with availability on short notice. We were lucky that West Street was just opening and had space. We actually watched the ironwork going up last year and were amazed that it was open already. First impression was amazingly positive, especially for a property in "beta" mode. Beautiful decor (a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby!), friendly staff and parking included. Rooms were perfect... great view, very "green", fridge, complimentary Keurig coffee and spring water, fantastic shower and maybe the best hotel bed we've ever slept in. The in-house Irish restaurant was fine from breakfast to late night drinks and dessert. The roof-top pool was fabulous, a great adult place to kick back and relax.

Sure there were a few minor glitches as one would expect during the first few weeks of operation but nothing that wasn't corrected when pointed out. Despite some reviewer complaints, we saw families with chidren and they seemed to be having a great time. As for the "inconvenience" of going to the Bar Harbor Club... it was a distinct pleasure to have the opportunity to use this wonderful facility that I had only read about up to now. A beautiful experience to lay about the pool and enjoy the view and drinks. If I had to make a suggestion, it would be to add a privacy screen, shade or lattice between the balconies. It's a little uncomfortable when everyone is out on the deck.

All in all, a great addition to the downtown Bar Harbor scene. It has infused a new energy to the harbor side. Kudos to management.

Room Tip: As long as you select a room with a view (harbor or ocean) you're good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and when I booked this hotel, I was skeptical because it was new ( the website wasn't even complete at the time of booking) which is often associated with glitches and poor service. However, upon check-in, I was immediately pleased with the decor and the warm reception that awaited us. The hotel was also right in the heart of the downtown area! For the more than reasonable rate, this hotel offered us a complimentary upgrade to ocean view. The room was spacious and nicely decorated in a nautical motif. The balcony overlooking Bar Island was huge!! The bath was also large with tiled shower. Most impressive was the complimentary guest pantry outside our room that offered bottled water, fresh fruit, cookies as
well as wine glasses, bottle openers, silverware, etc. They even had dog biscuits!! The Infiniti pool on the rooftop was amazing, furnished with Frontgate lounges. This resort was unparalleled in my opinion for both value and luxury. Hopefully, this will remain the case when we head back again next August!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Despite offering adjoining rooms this not a family hotel. The onsite pool is for 18 +, so you'll be walking to the Bar Harbor Club (which is beautiful, but why not stay at the Harborside where you'll have a choice of pools?) By the way, the Harborside is where you'll be parking your car, as the West Street lot is too small. The hotel staff is like a bunch of puppies, eager to please but with not competence. Prior to arrival was told due to 'unforeseen circumstances' my reservation was altered, only have it 'fixed' upon arrival. Concierge made dinner reservations at restaurant that turned us away when we arrived (because we had children and she never mentioned that.)

Beautiful room, beautiful balcony, great location. Don't bring kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rwp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Perfect location. Rooms appointed perfectly. Complimentary Keurig Coffee, apples, bottled Acua Panna Water (not the cheap stuff) and the Absolutle NICEST most PROFESSIONAL Staff Ever. The Check in Desk Staff were impecable, the bell hops cordial, the Irish Restaurant were Irish and extremely accommodating and the Inn Keeper was approchable with his office right in the lobby with his door alway open and he was always there. Sent us to some great tourist spots and awesome restaurants! I cant even think of one negative! They all were amazing and this place is so different than the other dated hotels in Bar Harbor, you get the feel like you are in a hotel designed by Ralph Lauren, nautical and flawless!

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the hotel, I think on the West Street Side, beautiful views of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed in Bar Harbor earlier this week and found The West Street Hotel when looking for a nice place to stay close to downtown, and this hotel fit both of these requirements with stunning excellence. I searched several other area hotels and even made a reservation at the Holiday Inn but couldn't bring myself to pay $260+ for a Holiday Inn. Found this hotel and decided to pay the extra money and give this place a try, was the best decision of the whole trip.

This place was impressive from the drive up, you can't beat the location and the appearance of the hotel was very nice. The experience was a treat right from the beginning with a very helpful and friendly staff starting with the bell hop who took my bags and then with the friendly helpful front desk staff. I had reserved an oceanfront premium king room but was advised on check in that was being upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. On the way up to the room the bell hop advised that room 238 was the best room on the property. I assumed this was hype but upon entering the room was convinced, this was a large 2 king bedroom corner suite with a large nicely furnished living room and 2 large tiled bathrooms, one with a claw foot bath tub. The best part was still to come when I walked out through one of the 3 sliders in this suite to a large wrap around deck with great views of the ocean/harbor and the park across the street. The room itself was very comfortable with top notch furnishings and very comfortable bedding.

We also checked out the infinity roof top pool which was impressive with a great view, we had to go up in shifts since kids under the age of 18 aren't allowed to the 5th floor pool. We didn't use the rooftop pool but did use the Harbor Club pool across the street 2 times with the kids, a slight inconvenience but a very nice facility.

We also ate at Paddy's the restaurant in the lobby which was a very nice restaurant with great food and atmosphere and a great location with sidewalk dining right on the water along West Street.

Since the hotel has only been open for a month they were still working out some bugs and putting the finishing touches on the place, but these inconveniences were minor compared to the amenities at this hotel.

We will stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend the slightly higher rates for this great location and experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the incremental cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing