We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Bedroom Suite worked great with a family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 Bedroom Suite worked great with a family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We just got back from this beautiful hotel where our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect. The location could not have been better for dining, shopping and walking to the sand bar. I was impressed with how clean the hotel was in general and how beautifully it was decorated. Best of all, the front desk provided free detergent to use in the washers and dryers which were also free. Ideal for a family. Only downside was the pool was located at a different property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    128
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
162
374
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Overall, this was a great hotel. The room was beautiful and roomy, and the staff was very courteous. It's central to everything, and shops and restaurants were all within walking distance. We used room service for breakfast twice and the service was efficient and the food very tasty. They had a Guest Pantry on our floor that had a Keurig machine with various coffee, tea and hot chocolate items. A basket of fruit was available each day as was bottled water, ice, and in the evenings they had a plate of small desserts. We've never seen this in a hotel before. They didn't always restock the pantry as often as they could have, but it was great nonetheless. They also had a guest laundry on the 3rd floor if you needed it. We had a room with a harbor view and balcony which was nice, but if you like to sleep in this could be a problem. Trucks arrive early each morning to unload supplies to businesses across the street. But we're early rises so it wasn't a big issue. Parking was free and they have a nice lot directly behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms without a harbor view will be a little more quiet in the morning. Handicap accessible rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location of West Street Hotel cannot be beat. Being new, it is in good shape. The staff is very professional and helpful. I loved the pantries on each floor. The room was large and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodLoverYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We originally booked a room at the Holiday Inn - Oceanview July 24-27, 2013. We arrived to find they had overbooked the hotel. What could have been a calamity turned into a pleasant surprise! They first said they would protect us in the same view at the Harborside Resort, and then ended up sending us to the West Street Hotel. I had wanted to stay there to check it out (having spent the last 25 summers in BH, I had never stayed oceanfront so I was open to trying something new) but it was a bit out of my price range which is why the Holiday Inn won. Our view was magnificent! The hotel was sparkling and full of smiling faces. The bathroom was beautiful, and the shower was enourmous! My three year old niece was camping on island and stopped by for a shower. I was nervous it wouldn't work very well without a tub, but the shower had a handheld showerhead option as well as the large overhead, and I was able to get in the shower with her and help her wash her hair without getting wet myself. I was then able to leave her to shower to use the handheld because it could move up and down on the bar - perfect height for any age!

My parents went up the week after us and stayed at both the West Street Hotel for one night, and the Bar Harbor Inn (their favorite). They mentioned that it was quite noisey at the West Street Hotel, and said that it's the difference between buying a house on a lake, and buying a house across from the lake. It's true, the street noise when on the balcony could be heavy at times, but in the later hours of the evening and early morning hours it was rather quiet. Being across the street from the ocean didn't damage the view, in my opinion.

The guest pantries were a nice touch, allowing us a bottle of water for the road each time we left. I'm not a coffee drinker, so the lack of in room coffee didn't bother me, but I could see how it might be a bother to have to walk down the hall for those that like to stay in their PJ's to have their cup. They do not have traditional ice machines which is great to cut out noise, but the drawers where the individual bags of ice are kept were empty 9/10 times, and I had to literally throw the individual bag I was able to find one day on the floor to try and break it up enough to get in a cup. These were VERY minor gripes and really just observations, and didn't change my opinion of hotel one bit. I would definitely stay here again!

The rooftop pool is open until dusk, and though we didn't want to use the pool in the evening, we found that we couldn't even get up there to see it when we returned to the hotel in the evenings. If you'd like to just check it out, make sure to do it in the morning before you leave to explore! The pool is for adults only, which was appealing to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Front desk is an unclear automatic avalanche of information. Make sure you can follow the 1 minute concised info... Location is superb - room was bad smelling tough, that was a pity. Nice bathroom and modern room. If you can afford it, a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake charles louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel the week after. july 4th for 3nights. Beautiful property. Would have preferred coffee in the room versus having to walk down the hall to enjoy a cup of Keurig. Lovely view of the harbor . Make sure you request a higher floor for best view.

Room Tip: Be specific about wanting a higher floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graciegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I couldn't agree more with the previous reviews. This is a brand-new boutique hotel, which opened only this year, and everything is beautifully decorated and brand-new. No old plumbing or worn-out decor, and their pantry concept is great: there is a little pantry on every floor so you can help yourself at anytime to water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit and dishes (like wine glasses or plates for your snack on the balcony). Yes, it is pricey. And its central location has the drawback of street noise and people sitting downstairs in the restaurant being a bit loud. But the windows close remarkably well. It is affiliated with the Harbourside Hotel, which also has a great location across the street right on the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing