We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the West Street Hotel. They offered us a complimentary upgrade (harborview to ocean front) and were able to have our room ready way before the 4pm check in time.
The room was amazing - large, clean and opened up to a balcony with a lovely view of the ocean and harborfront. We loved the roof top infinity pool. It was very relaxing and the bar service was second to none.
There was a pantry on each floor that offered cold bottles of water, fruit (in the morning), cookies (in the evening), coffee, and board games. It was great!
We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_b09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jessica_bo9

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us for others! We look forward to welcoming you back to the West Street Hotel soon!!!


Warm regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    129
    34
    9
    12
See reviews for
163
375
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a wonderful newer property on the dockside in Bar Harbor. Location couldn't be better. Steps to anything in town. The water view rooms are a must. Each floor has a refreshment station with water, warm beverages, and fruit and snacks. Our schedule didn't allow time for use of the hea;th club or pool but it would be a plus for longer stays. Super clean with the staff keeping the place like new.

Room Tip: Water sideis a must! Views of sunrise at 4:30 am right from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmhurstEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear ElmhurstEBS,

I am grateful to hear about your wonderful experience while at the West Street Hotel, we strive to maintain our building and all guest rooms to provide a new, fresh experience for all of our guests. Our staff works very hard to ensure that all guests experience a wonderful vacation. We hope that you will be able to return and use all of the amenities that we offer.

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the West Street Hotel on a recent trip to see Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The room was luxurious and the view was exquisite. We had a harbor view room and the view was beyond description. The bed linens were soft, yet crisp, the mattress comfy and there were many pillow choices. The bath had a multi-head shower and was beautifully done. The hotel is right on the waterfront, close to all the stores and restaurants and we walked everywhere in Bar Harbor. Despite this, there was no street noise in our room at all. Our check-in was not as smooth as it could have been, but the staff made up for it in spades, and overall our experience was excellent!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a water view. There are parking lot rooms and basement rooms avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Patricia F,

I am happy to hear that despite the check-in not being as smooth as possible that you were able to enjoy your stay! I assure you we will be addressing the check-in process with all of our staff to ensure everyone has a positive first impression of our hotel. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious accommodations with impressive views.

We would be pleased to welcome you back the West Street Hotel if your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor Area.

Warm Regards

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful room! Awesome staff! everyone was friendly, kind, courteous, helpful and one lady, wish I knew her name, even went out of her way to show me where things were that I might be interested in! Jake did an awesome job as our room service server! The only negative was we could not enter the rooftop to watch the sunrise! Love Love Love this hotel!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jane F,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Our team is always ready to serve and we hope to see you back here on your next visit to Acadia!

Warm regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Booked reservation via hotel website and received a early booking 25% discount for two day stay. At this price this hotel is a complete steal as it is thoroughly a luxury resort at discount pricing.

Staff was flexible allowing us to add a third day then cancel when a family emergency arose.

Rooftop pool/bar is spectacular with amazing views of the harbor and surrounding islands. Also, the complimentary guest pantries offering fruit, water and cookies are a nice touch.

Make sure to check out the bar harbor club for swimming, hot tub and fitness. All of these features more than justify the $25 amenities fee.

I've read about folks being irritated with air conditioning limits, noise, and the $25 fee. Bar harbor is inherently a busy summer place, so noise is found everywhere. It is cool in bar harbor, so the air conditioning limitation makes perfect sense for a 'green' hotel. I've already referenced the amenities fee. If you can't afford $25 for your stay, pay $100 more at competition hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Patrick L,

I am thrilled to read your great review. Your review helps our potential guests make the choice to stay at the West Street Hotel. In our green initiative we have set limits to the air conditioners to help conserve the amount of energy used- as demonstrated by our lighting system. The Bar Harbor Club provides a wonderful area with great amenities that I am so happy you have highlighted.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your wonderful experience, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you're looking for a hotel with accommodating customer service, you've come to the wrong place.

My wife and I were trying to book a room at the West Street hotel for this weekend to celebrate our anniversary and ran in to some extremely frustrating road blocks. I'll admit, it's pretty short notice, but that certainly doesn't warrant the inflexible attitude that we encountered while trying to book our stay.

Our first attempt, Orbitz, said the room we were looking for was available, a basic king bed room. Sweet. We filled out all of the necessary forms, braced ourselves to embark on a delightful trip to Bar Harbor, and then we were greeted with an error page. After a couple of attempts it became apparent that the room was no longer available (a visit to the West Street Hotel website confirmed that suspicion). Frustration #1

With hopes of having rooms available that were not listed on their website, I made a call to the hotel itself, which apparently outsources it's reservation calls. The young girl on the other end of the line who mumbled her name just enough so it was unintelligible, informed me that there were no longer any king beds available, unless we wanted to book a "Double room" (which is apparently just 2 rooms next to each other, and just shy of double the cost). Also, there was NO WAY they would move us to a king room if there happened to be a cancellation between now and our trip. No thanks. Frustration #2

The next step was to reserve a room with two queen beds, far from ideal, but at least it's in the same hotel, the location is pretty important to us. We found a promotion on the hotel's website that would get us in to that room for not too much more than what we were planning to pay for the king room. Repeat frustration #1 all over again. By the time we entered all our information, put in our credit card and clicked submit, we got another error message - "room unavailable". If the call center had suggested this option, I would have booked it directly through her. Frustration #3

We tried another call to the reservation folks, who said they could do nothing for us except have us pay more money for a much more expensive room, even though the hotel website clearly isn't robust enough to handle the reservations. Frustration #4

So now we're essentially paying twice as much money for a room that's half of what our expectations were. Definitely not pleased, and this is far from the relaxing start to a vacation we were hoping for. We will have to wait and see if the West Street Hotel itself lives up to the rest of the reviews here and elsewhere, but as it stands, our hopes aren't very high.

Room Tip: "Don't call for reservations, use a booking site"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FattMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear FattMaria

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with the West Street Hotel front desk department & reservations. I apologize that your interactions with us lead to your frustrations.


I will personally follow up with our managers to provide feedback regarding your experience. While we cannot tell from your review the specific person with whom you spoke, it will be a good reminder of the importance of first impressions with our potential guests and how the guest’s experience begins before even arriving at the property.


I would love the opportunity to discuss with you, however I am not sure the name of the reservation. With that, would ask if you could please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with myself or a manager, all of which are aware of this situation.

Sure this can be quickly resolved and allow you to relax and enjoy your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the West Street Hotel and sharing our hospitality with you.


Best Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

3 years old but feels brand new, lovely rooms with a cool roof top pool (adults only). You also have access to the Harbour club across the road which has another pool, kids pool tennis. The gym is ok and the one in the harbour club is great. Staff are very good. I only had breakfast in the Irish bar that forms part of the hotel once and it was nice. If I can pick one hole in is place it's the parking, we had to run the risk of a ticket but it was ok. The hotel is painted in several colours and looks very nice. Free water and coffee on every floor. Bar Harbour is stunning in general.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing