We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Street Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. We arrived early and the front desk upgraded our room at no additional cost to a harbor view. We liked the hotel so much that we decided to stay an extra night and the hotel accommodated us at our original reservation price. The decor of the hotel was absolutely beautiful and the entire hotel was exceptionally clean. There was a pantry that was stocked with coffee, hot chocolate, fruit, water, cookies and games for the kids. There was a Kid's Club offered at no additional cost as well. The location is also perfect. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend the West Street Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Cristina P,

Thank you for the great review of your stay! We are pleased that we were able to both upgrade and extend your stay. We are also happy that you enjoyed both the décor and the cleanliness of the hotel. We take pride in providing clean, comfortable rooms for all of our guests- this comment will most certainly be shared with all of our hardworking housekeeping staff. We look forward to providing an excellent lodging experience in the future, upon your return.

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    128
    34
    8
    12
See reviews for
162
374
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A beautiful modern hotel, the most beautiful views and rooftop pool, definitely do not need a car for this location since all restaurants and bars at walking distance. An amazing service and very clean. If you are heading to Bar Harbor this is the spot to be in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear mirit s,

Thank you for the great short but sweet review of your stay. We are happy to hear that you were able to see the view from our rooftop infinity pool, it really does provide a spectacular view of the downtown area. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great location- close to many great restaurants in the area. Thank you for commenting on the great staff (we are very happy all the hard work shows).

We are in hopes that if your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area the West Street Hotel will be the hotel of choice!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A great place to take the family. Perfect location. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The location was perfect to walk around town. Great place for families. Great experience. Beautiful view from the room we stayed in. Will definitely return. I highly recommend this hotel and town for a family vacation. A lot to do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mike G,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you experienced great service, the great location, and the great views from our hotel. We take pride in providing great service to all of our guests and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything that we work very hard to provide.

We look forward to your return and providing all of the same great services.

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a beautiful and well kept hotel. Walking into the lobby you certainly feel like what you've imagined a hotel in Maine should look like. Every detail in this hotel whispers Maine. The rooms were impeccable and the decor was done very tastefully. Cookies and coffee on every floor were my sons favorite. Complimentary laundry a plus. Location was perfect, right in heart of everything. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetiredmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear thetiredmom,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the nautical décor, the location and the different amenities that our hotel has to offer. We are happy to provide a great “Maine” hospitality experience and lived up to all expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Don't miss the roof top pool and be sure to walk across the street and take advantage of the harborside hot tub ,skip the hotel's Irish bar there's plenty of places to get more bang for your buck on cottage street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John K,

I am thrilled that you took the time to write a review regarding your stay in September of 2013- we take pride in providing these lasting memories for all of our guests. I am also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that all guests have access to at the West Street Hotel. There are so many great restaurants in Bar Harbor and I am thrilled to hear you experienced a great Bar Harbor vacation.

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

When all factors are considered, this may be the best hotel in which I've ever stayed.

Location - in the heart of Bar Harbor and has a great view overlooking the water

Amenities - We loved the adult only pool on the rooftop. The pool was cold the first day but was heated the following days. Often, we were the only two at the pool. Having free laundry and supplies was outstanding. We washed all our clothes before continuing our trip to Boston. The cold water, apples and cookies was appreciated. I often get dehydrated on trips because of lack of easy access to water so it's great that West Street provides it. My husband and I exercise regularly so it was good that we had access to the Bar Harbor Club for a full fitness center. There's a small refrigerator in the room so you can purchase food and drinks for your stay.

Room - The bathroom is spacious. The shower is big with glass doors. No gross shower curtain touching my body! The bedroom is big enough with a small balcony. Free Internet is provided.

Staff - They were very friendly and helpful. We arrived before check in so they called my cell phone when the room was ready. They gave us directions with a smile. One guy at the desk joked around with us when we were coming and going so often one day. The bar guy recommended a restaurant (Havana) that we tried and was delicious (but pricey).

Parking - I read in other reviews that people not staying in the hotel park in the lot so it's hard to find a space. We parked, checked in then went back to the car to put the pass on the dashboard. A worker had already put a warning paper on my windshield and was writing down my license plate number. I saw the warning papers on cars throughout our stay there. We never had trouble finding a space.

Only negative - We could hear the people in the rooms next to us.

We went from this hotel to the Westin in Boston where President Obama stays and where we ran into the MLB Network team (so it's not shabby). I think West Street was much more impressive and I found it hard to go to the Westin where every little thing is charged, the rooms are smaller, the fitness center was smaller and it cost so much more.

I don't think you'll be disappointed if you book your stay with West Street Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_916_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lisa_916_CA,

The title of your review says it all, we are so happy that you think very highly of The West Street Hotel. I think that you have highlighted all of the great amenities and services offered by the hotel and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed a great Maine hospitality experience.
We hope that if your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area that The West Street Hotel will be the hotel of choice!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We absolutely LOVED this hotel. We stayed in the Two Bedrooms Harbor view which was a "king to two queens connecting harbor view room." And it was GREAT. It was the perfect set up for 5 adults- having two bathrooms was great. The view was fantastic as it overlooked the harbor and the street below. The beds were so comfortable; I got great sleep while we were there. Also the pantries on the floor were such a great bonus. Being able to get bottled water whenever we needed was such a blessing. It was great to grab a couple bottles of water and head out to Acadia Park. The coffee and cookies at the end of the day were a nice bonus as well.

The other amenities are awesome as well. The rooftop infinity pool space is fantastic. Although the pool was not heated while we were there (due to a piece that broke in the heater) it was a great spot to overlook the harbor and to watch the sunset. During the day it was a great spot to sit, soak up some sun, and order food and cocktails. The other amazing amenity is being able to use the Bar Harbor Club down the road. The BHC has a beautiful facility with a poolhouse situated right alongside the oceanfront. It was a great spot to spend the afternoon, soak up some sun and again be served food and drinks at our leisure. This came in SOO conveniently when we had to check out from the West Street, and they allowed us to continue taking advantage of the club. We were able to use the locker rooms to rinse off before having to hop in the car and head to our next spot in Maine.

The staff was great. So helpful and knowledgeable about the area, hotel, and amenities. The location was perfect. Walking distance to just about everything! And only a short drive to Acadia National Park.

We highly recommend this spot and would Absolutely stay here again in the future. The price was much better than anything else I could find to accommodate 5 adults. So worth it. LOVED it.

Room Tip: Harbor View was great. We were on the 2nd floor and still had a view. Two Bedrooms Harbor View- co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindykaySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear MindyKay SL,

I am very pleased to see that you love this property, there are so many great things that our guests have access to and I am thrilled that you were able to experience all of these amenities. We are also happy to hear that our staff were able to provide assistance with their knowledge of the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you to the West Street Hotel!

Warm Regards,

Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Property: West Street Hotel
Address: 50 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1858
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing