We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Natural Resource - Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Land Bridge to Bar Island

Land Bridge to Bar Island
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Natural Resource - Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The land bridge to Bar Island is a quick walk right in town, and one not be missed. Check the tide chart to see when the tide is out and you can walk to Bar Island, spotting tons of sea life all around you, left behind by the outgoing tide. But don't play it too close to the tide, it comes in quick and you don't want to get stranded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    257
    53
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique and Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were so busy on our trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park that we almost didn't get a chance to walk the land bridge over to Bar Island. Fortunately, though, we timed it right on our last day in Bar Harbor and walked out there. A lot of fun and interesting to see Bar Harbor from a different vantage point. We weren't prepared, but next time, we will pack a picnic lunch and hike the trails on the island itself. Don't miss this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do, but not a scenic highlight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Walking to Bar Island is unquestionably popular--it drew the biggest crowds anywhere on my visit. It's an easy, level, 20 minute walk, with views of the harbor all the way (the walk is over flat stones, not sand). It is broad enough to accommodate the crowds, But of course, the view is pretty much the same all the way, and pretty much the same view you get anywhere in Bar Harbor--and to my taste, not as strikingly beautiful as any of the high spots in Acadia. My own experience was not heightened at all by a group of motorcyclists who came through--not that they were in any way obnoxious, but you can get brushed to the side by motor traffic anywhere. Good place for an easy stroll, and maybe a sunset if the time is right, but many other spots on the island are much more beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hillretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

When the tide is low, you can walk to this island in ten minutes, take a twenty minute walk on the island and get great views back to Bar Harbor. Just pay attention to the water level and don't get caught on the island as you will have a six hour wait to get back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were amazed at the size of the bridge and that car could drive on it! We were glad we took the time to stop before we headed for home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDawgTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Land Bridge to Bar Island also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Land Bridge to Bar Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing