We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly, highly recommend!”

At Your Service Private Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Bar Harbor's largest and oldest private van touring company. Locally owned, we specialize in a customized experience of Acadia National Park. Our experienced drivers narrate the tours with history and facts about the area, spiced up with local tales you won’t hear anywhere else.Tours last from 3 to 6 hours. Specialty tours include: sunset tours; hiking tours; Junior Ranger tours; garden tours; and wedding tours with advanced reservations.
kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly, highly recommend!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My two neighbors and I were in Bar Harbor on July 11 and took the three hour van tour. We have been to numerous National Parks and Acadia was on our list, although we didn't know quite what to expect. Needless to say, it far exceeded our expectations and we plan to return for a longer stay. We arrived via Holland America Veendam after starting in Quebec. Although our private tours prior to this port were quite good (PEI, Halifax), Mary Purvis was by far the best guide we had on the cruise. Just delightful! She had great sense of humor, great knowledge of area, and she loved her island, which showed. She took us to all the best photo spots (which we had told them we wanted to do). She never rushed us. It was obvious that she got as much enjoyment from us enjoying her home as we did experiencing it. We walked around town after the tour and she even tracked us down in her van to give us the National Park pass we had left in her van! Just a gem, who helped us fall in love with this place. Can't say enough about this company's service. Highly, highly recommend. And I also greatly recommend doing all excursion arrangements independently of the ships. Much more personal and smaller groups.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pearltabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    6
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
308 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took this taxi for a short ride from our hotel to the town pier after we learned that parking there, if you can find it, is for three hours. We were taking a personal boat tour and didn't know how long we'd be gone. The cost was $5 for the two of us. The driver arrived about 2 minutes after our call. When we returned from our boat tour I saw a taxi from the same service dropping someone off at the pier. We took it back to our room. It worked out well for us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADISON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Acadia National Park At Your Service Taxi and Tours”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We hired this tour for the 4 of us. Mary P was our tour guide. It was great.l. She did a wonderful job of telling us about the park and showing us the highlights in our limited time frame. The smaller vehicle and few people made it a fantastic experience. We arrived via a cruise ship, but chose this tour rather than one offered by the ship as we felt it would be more personal and it was. We were met at the dock and all went exceedingly well.Highly recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1110tahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our Best Travel Experiences!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband & I used "At Your Service Taxi Co." on May 8, 2014 to have a personal tour of Acadia Park. We requested that we have a guide named Mary - we had Mary Purvis - we learned later that there are actually two Marys - Mary M and Mary P - they call themselves the Hail Marys - such a cute name for two darling individuals.

Mary Purvis is such a delightful person - so down to earth, great sense of humor - we got along so well during our 3 hour tour. Of course, she is very knowledgeable too. She's been doing this job for 13 years, the longest of the company's employees.

Mary came to our time-share in Southwest Harbor to pick us up. They most often meet the cruise ships that come into the Bar Harbor harbor. Mary has met people from all around the world by escorting the passengers of the cruise ships.

Due to the iffy weather in May, I asked the company if I could set up a tentative date of May 8th, and then if that day's weather was poor, could I change it to another day, and the representative said that would be ok. As it turned out, May 8 was picture perfect - Mary said to date, that was the best day of Spring that they had experienced.

I strongly recommend the tour offered by "At Your Service Taxi Co. of the park. If you use them, and request Mary P., please tell them that Connie & Chuck sent you their way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank apetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We happened to find this taxi mini-van available just as we needed an island tour for 4 people on our port visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia national park. The minivan was very comfortable and clean. The driver was very knowledgable and showed us a very nice comprehensive tour of the area . Our weather that day was very clear, so we had great views from Cadillac Mtn. We found this to be an excellent tour, much better than an organized large bus tour from the cruise line .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed At Your Service Private Tours also viewed

 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to At Your Service Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing